Midi in Studio One

Audio Plugin Hosts and other audio software applications discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm one burned by the death of Sonar. The closest DAW to Sonar seems to be Studio One. I'm a fairly new hobbyist, but most of what I do is Midi. I understand that Cubase has the best Midi around, but it is too expensive, and I don't like dongles.

Reaper is just kind of ugly to me, so I was looking at S1. How is midi in S1, compared to Sonar?

Thank you.

It's different but workable. Note effects helps get it closer to Sonar MFX. The one big thing though is the lack of slip dragging loop clips. In Studio One you have to duplicate clips like Cubase. It has step input, snap to scale, controller automaton and the control setup is miles ahead of ACT in my opinion.

It was a lot easier for me to get up and running in Studio One than Sonar but demo it and find out for yourself to see if it will work for ya.

CTStump wrote:The one big thing though is the lack of slip dragging loop clips. In Studio One you have to duplicate clips like Cubase.
If this is what I think it is, Cubase does have that.

To the thread starter: Sonar isn't going to run away, so you can save money for as long as you like. If you do heavy MIDI/virtual instrument work then you wont regret getting Cubase. Studio One is primarily an audio DAW, but Cubase also handles audio excellently on top of being much better at MIDI.

Depending on your country, you may be able to receive a big crossgrade discount. If the Steinberg store doesn't show a crossgrade option, try calling the local Yamaha/Steinberg office. They might help you with that.

Romantique Tp wrote:
CTStump wrote:The one big thing though is the lack of slip dragging loop clips. In Studio One you have to duplicate clips like Cubase.
If this is what I think it is, Cubase does have that.