Instrumentation for electronic / synthesized sounds (noob)

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Dear all,

I am yet another newbie trying to express himself with music. In particular, video game-style music mostly created from synthesizers and synthesized sounds. Think Disasterpeace, C418, and simple but nice tunes from people like Flybyno. Also, old tunes from Genesis / SNES video games.

I have been studying various subjects (from music theory to melodic composition, from synthesizers to DAW's & co), and I plan to keep trying, little by little, as a lifelong goal. Still, there is one particular topic where I found very little information in the net: instrumentation for electronic / synthesized sounds.

Ok, I will explain what I mean as I am an utter noob. There is a lot of literature related to instrumentation and orchestration for the traditional orchestra. How the instrument groups (Or individual instruments) combine with each other. There are plenty of interesting books, and I have read some of them.

Still, as my goal is to make synthesized music, I get lost on this particular area. Whenever I try to have a simple sonic landscape with several instruments, the result is a mess similar to a cat meowing like there is not tomorrow.

Of course, the next logical step is to keep on walking, keep on trying, and (in this particular area) listen to whatever music I like - and then "reverse engineer" it, feel the sounds, how they combine together.

Still, as I found very little info on this subject, I am a bit curious :-).

Thanks!

Ps: I didn't find any info using the forum search, sorry if it is duplicated somewhere.

My cat meowed last night like there was no tomorrow. For video game sounds, there's that Plogue one, I think it's Chiptune, has a lot of video game engines in it. Not sure what this has to do with cats.