Please suggest a DAW for my system

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi guys, I'm just getting started with music production. I was thinking of downloading a demo version of one of the popular software's. But I thought I should get some advice from the members over here.

System Details:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz
RAM: 4GB DDR2
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Enough Free Space

I'm sure that I'll pass the minimum requirements for some DAW's but I'd like to know if I'll be able to make any real music using an adequate number of instruments and other other resources.

Thanks!

Depends really what you will use and how you will go about it, but freezing is your friend and getting less hungry plugins.

If you are interested shoot me PM, I could compile you list of low CPU plugins, recently I put myself into an challenge, transformed 1ghz, 1gb RAM machine with some OS tweaks and careful selection of plugins into doable music system, nothing fancy, bu it's snappy and with little freezing it can go long way.

Reaper is the king DAW of low spec machines :tu:

What kind of music are you interested in doing?

Also, can't hurt :wink:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/art ... windows-7/
http://www.tim-carter.com/index.php?t=O ... 2&ItemId=9

Passing Bye wrote:Depends really what you will use and how you will go about it, but freezing is your friend and getting less hungry plugins.

If you are interested shoot me PM, I could compile you list of low CPU plugins, recently I put myself into an challenge, transformed 1ghz, 1gb RAM machine with some OS tweaks and careful selection of plugins into doable music system, nothing fancy, bu it's snappy and with little freezing it can go long way.

Reaper is the king DAW of low spec machines :tu:

What kind of music are you interested in doing?

Also, can't hurt :wink: