Starting Completely From Scratch

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

G'day guys n gals

I want to start making Harsh EBM/Aggro music and I'm starting completely from scratch here.

My music background is: hip hop emcee for several years and vocals in a couple of local blackened death and death metal bands.

I have no experience playing live instruments what so ever, but do play around on the keyboard and have a general sense of rythym/BPM thanks to my time in hip hop.

My process is: I know exactly what I want the music to sound like. I want to be able to take it from my head to the speaker with as little f'ing around as possible.
So, hardware or software... Or perhaps both?
What kind of laptop?
Mixers, drum machines, samplers... Need as much info and guidance as possible.

I'm after something like a starter kit. Something that'll get me producing my own music with a halfway decent sound and being able to build on it from there.

Any help would be appreciated. I love this style of music and for someone starting out it's hard to see the woods through the trees (I'm sure you can relate)

Cheers! :)

There is no point in gathering tons of hardware for the beginning, unless you know how to use it. Get one good all-around controller like Push/Machine (integrated with DAW) or generic MIDI keyboard like M-Audio Code. Also, audio interface is needed to plug your stuff to the computer. It depends only on your budget and amount of hardware you want to plug to input and outputs.

Other that that, you will need a DAW. If you want to jam and record live rather than program synths, I recommend Ableton Live. Check if this is what you're after.
Blog ------------- YouTube channel
Tricky-Loops wrote: (...)someone like Armin van Buuren who claims to make a track in half an hour and all his songs sound somewhat boring(...)