Where to start?

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello everyone.

I suppose this question probably is asked a lot around here, but I couldn't find any threads covering my question, so I'll ask here.

I am a complete beginner when it comes to making music in general. I haven't played an instrument or made any electronic music whatsoever, but I feel like getting into it. Thing is, I don't know where I should start. I tried googling for some directions, but most links just recommended software or hardware, which isn't what I'm looking for.

I want to know about how to actually make songs, not about what equipment to use. Like, what should I learn first? Making drum patterns, figure out synths, something else? I plan on focussing on ambient/liquid dnb/chillstep type songs, but basically everything about the software I see is a big mistery to me. I have FL Studio and Audiotool.com (probably gonna use the latter) available. Don't know jack about synths and their waveforms, what all the knobs and switches I can change do, how to get a proper drum pattern going and so on. Most tutorials I've seen don't explain this, it seems that I am required to know about all that before even getting into making music.

So yeah, basically I would be very very grateful for some directions as to how to use DAWs. Or, if I really missed out on something and am too dumb to get into creating own tracks, please let me know.

TL;DR: looking for tutorials about DAWs

Thanks in advance. So long, Phr3nic~

I think you will find solid advise int his topic: http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic ... 4&t=436087

TL:DR:
You can learn to use music software, a DAW and synths but if you don't know how to develop musical ideas you will be stuck, staring at a blank project not knowing what to do.