phonec feedback

Official support for: psychicmodulation.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I just wanted to say, thanks so much for developing Phonec and especially the Melt function. I had been looking for a way to obtain that degraded VHS type sound to process external audio like pads, or simply to add "character" to samples, for a very long time - trying to automate pitch shift plugins, combining vinyl and tape emulation plugins with LFO generators, trying to write jesusonic scripts in reaper, etc but nothing ever got me the sound I wanted. So when I finally came across phonec, dialed up the melt knob, and got exactly the sound I had been looking for all this time, I was floored! Just the right amount of randomness and control. I now use this all the time and couldn't live without it.
The funny thing is that after only using Phonec as an fx for routing external audio through the Melt function for a while, I started playing with the synth a bit more, and I now find myself using it in this capacity more and more. In fact, I even use it in places where I would have traditionally used samples and not dreamt of using a synth VSTi because up to Phonec they simply couldn't match the "character" of samples. So well done, you really have a unique approach to designing synths that are inspiring and don't just follow the mold of what everyone else seems to be doing.

A couple feedback notes on phonec:

1) I placed the phonec fx plugin after the aethereal demo in reaper (to use the Melt function on the aethereal output), and everytime I changed the aethereal preset, the phonec fx would also change preset, so I would lose the Melt settings I had dialed in. I don't know if fx versions of VSTi's are supposed to ignore program changes, and not sure why doing a program change in one VSTi would be transmitted out anyway, but it's something I noticed in case it can be fixed (no big deal though).