Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Allrighty,

I am pretty new to MU.LAB so forgive the questions, i have been reading the
forum and the tutorials. Still a bit confused about putting my own samples
into one set (drums).

If i want drums on channel one (top one), i right clicked the top empty box
on rack 1 in the rack desk, then insert module, then Synths/MU.TOOLS/ROM/Percussion.
select drumset or gm drums and make new sequence. All good, Ready to play.

sounds are good, but not for my style.
went to the MU.LAB website and downloaded the housekit pack by Johnny Pumphandle.
Very good again, but not for my style.

I would love to have my kit in a selectable way like this.

I have all my kit samples that was recorded on our last album, good quality
sounds. Edited in length and volume, all the best hits. everything has a touch of pan aswell, for realism.
eg. ride is a touch to the right, hihat a touch left, Toms roll left to right and cymbals put in there place.
so when i am playing somthing back it sounds like im sitting at my kit.

I want to put my samples into a drumset.

DO I
A, Copy and rename my samples, so the selection is still drumset,gm or housekit. then my bass drum would be renamed as (eg.congo 1) and placed in relevant folder, so when the note is entered in a sequence it is still triggering (eg.congo 1) but the sound is my bass drum.
(Dont feel right to do that, but im guessing it would work).

B, the next thought i had was, copy a ".MUSynth" file to somwhere else on pc and edit it, like a config file for a game or program.
(im only guessing what this does, could be way off), Edit it to point relevant samples to C1,c#1 ETC. then rename it (BT KIT 01.MUSynth), put samples in Mulab/User/Library/MuSynth/samples, and the new .MUSynth file in Mulab/User/Library/MuSynth. Just like installing housekit pack.

Problem with that is i cant open the .MUSynth file, tried a few things like change it to .txt & .Doc etc. no joy.