New MU Labs User question

Official support for: mutools.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello forum,

I am a newbie with Mu Labs.
I downloaded the free version to test out and I really like this DAW.
I am very impressed with the step sequencer especially the MU Drums.
They sound really good and I was able to program a pretty nice (Rosanna shuffle) drum track without any troubles at all. Not that easy to do with a typical drum machine.

I want to buy the complete version but I keep having some crackling issues with the audio.
I'm new to computer recording but I know my way around a traditional studio so maybe someone can help me figure out what I am doing wrong.
If I can solve this noise issue I'm ready to purchase the program.
So here is my problem.
Sometimes when I open MULabs everything runs nice an clean, no noise.
Other times when I open the program I get a crackling noise which is obviously a clocking issue. (not the free version soft noise) It sounds like digital overload but nothing is peaking in my level displays.
Here is my setup:
Dell XPS PC with i7 processor
Yamaha DM1000 digital console with 2 x 16 channel ADAT expansion cards
RME HDSPe RayDat card with 32 ADAT in/out
Various analog pre-amps
I have set the project to 96K, the DM1000 to 96K and the RayDat to 96K.
There is no crackling coming from the DM1000 or the RayDat because I can monitor these devices independent from MULabs and there is no noise.

Also I get the noise even when I just play a demo song in MuLabs. Sometimes when I open the program it plays back clean and sometimes when I open the program I get the noise.
Note this is not the "soft noise" embedded in the free program. That's a different noise.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Drummer_56

As soon as you have a valid license and enter this license in Mulab, the noise is gone.
The free version has limitations (http://www.mutools.com/info/docs/mulab/ ... sions.html).
If you exceed the limitations you get noise.