Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
chrr
KVRer

9 posts since 10 Feb, 2018

Postby chrr; Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:28 am Midi controller, presets, sharing mappings?

Hi,

Newbie here, even though I was quite good with Logic Audio on MacOS 7 and Digidesign HW in the 90s :wink:

Starting over as a hobbyist making ambient-style video soundtracks, I chose Mulab and would like to use a cheap hardware controller. Arturia Minilab MKII seems OK to me, opinions welcome.
Are there any controllers with readymade Mulab presets?
Also, can project/module Midi maps be imported/exported? Is there an online library? I couldn't find anything by searching this forum and Google... A complete map for Minilab-Musynth would be great!
mutools
KVRAF

9496 posts since 24 Jun, 2008, from Europe

Postby mutools; Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:09 am Re: Midi controller, presets, sharing mappings?

chrr wrote:Are there any controllers with readymade Mulab presets?
Also, can project/module Midi maps be imported/exported? Is there an online library? I couldn't find anything by searching this forum and Google... A complete map for Minilab-Musynth would be great!

Unfortunately there are not yet such preset maps atm.
chrr
KVRer

Postby chrr; Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:20 am Re: Midi controller, presets, sharing mappings?

mutools wrote:Unfortunately there are not yet such preset maps atm.

OK, thanks. I've only skimmed the manual so far, but it seems MIDI maps are saved with module presets, which can be exported, so I guess they can be shared, right?

The Minilab MKII has 8 banks x 14 pots, and these can follow the keyboard MIDI channel, so in theory that means controlling 1792 parameters. And then there's templates which can be dragged and dropped with the Arturian MIDI Control Center. All this info only from the manuals: maybe I'm dreaming. I'd appreciate any "will work/won't" comments before I buy the controller along with Mulab. Like I said, I've been out of the game for quite a while...