Piano chord voicing

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Its been about 3 years since I have done anything in Cubase so I set myself up a small project to get back in to the swing of it.

I just recorded a short chord sequence on guitar then set up a midi piano track and step recorded/mouse edited the chords so they were identical to my recorded guitar.

I have done a screen dump of the chord voicings I used, my question is -

[remember I am a guitarist not a pianist]

I assume the chords have to be played 2 handed on piano, how do you decide which hand plays which notes, is it a style thing, or is there some formality behind the choice, or would you vary it depending on what comes next -

On guitar these voicings are relatively easy to play, but on piano they are [or so it would seem to me] rather a stretch.

[NOTE : Bb13 has no 5th]

Left hand for lowest note, or two lowest notes, right hand for the rest.

^^ What he said, but more specifically, play the bass note, which is often the root note, but not always. Experiment with it! Of course it's the lowest note because that's the way the piano is setup, but if you're trying to decide which one to do (since the topic is "voicings" and not "which way is up on the piano?", haha, jk) then I assume that I just answered your question.

Btw, I didn't look at the sheet music because I'm lazy... and it's not necessary. There are really no rules in modern music, other than it should sound good to you. :)

I've seen a lot of topics about Piano/Guitar chords and have to admit that when I'm using a synth Guitar sound, I prefer to use the voicing of the instrument, I'm trying to recreate.....So if I was playing a guitar voice of E m the notes would be E B E G B E, if I was using the piano chord it would be E G B with the right hand and with the left hand I would use a E or maybe a E octave, to make the sound more fuller.