chords and double harmonic scales

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Is there any chords that tend to go well with or bad with them?

Just try some... :shrug:
We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. Image
My MusicCalc is served over https!!

I've tried many, apparently, since it's almost exactly like the Bhairav raga which I've been using a lot (but I think the western version has quarter tones on the first and last note). Though most of the ones I tried other than major/minor chords was stuff like separating the two notes by a tone and a half, two tones ect

From what I've tried in most cases a minor or major chord doesn't usually work that well but my understanding of chords is somewhat lacking hence the question. I've yet to find something that works well generally for it, since it tends to be up to how the rest of the melody falls if it works or not.

I'm no expert, but I would try removing the third. Try using quartal chords (e.g., sus2, sus4) and not equal tempered tuning. This will force you into writing in specific keys though (non-transposable). Good luck!

-u
"I guess one person can make a difference, but most of the time they probably shouldn't." -M. Simpson

Lots of Balkan, Arabic and Turkish pop/dance songs use normal major and minor chords... Using sus chords will give you too "jazzy" vibe.

When I hear the "exotic" scales based on the 12 tone system they are usually motif based with some constant behind them like a one chord vamp that hangs around a very long time until it's resolved usually via a V chord. That's the way I've heard it in a jazz "fusion" context.

As for sus4 chords against double harmonic scales sounding "jazzy" that's a new one on me. I freely admit that I don't know everything nor have heard everything.