How long does it take to learn basic music theory?

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I am talking about simple things as a complete beginner like learning major/minor scales, and also how long does it take to get familiar with the keyboard notes, and chords? Chords always seem easy in concept but the black keys are still mixing me up. Also, how does one know what key a song is in (is it based off of what the root note in a chord progession/scale is)?? Sorry if the question is a little stupid.

Thank you very very much.

Basic music theory isn't exactly rocket science, so you can learn it pretty quickly. But you will have to gain experience in applying that theory, until it becomes second nature. That can take anything from a year to a whole lifetime. The theory itself will tell you nothing. Learning an instrument (with a real-life teacher) will help a lot, and playing with other (real-life) musicians is invaluable.

You can read dozens of books about swimming, but you still need to jump in and start paddling in order to learn it. There are no short cuts here, sorry. (And god help you if Jancivil gets a whiff of this thread). :lol:

ariston wrote:Basic music theory isn't exactly rocket science, so you can learn it pretty quickly. But you will have to gain experience in applying that theory, until it becomes second nature. That can take anything from a year to a whole lifetime. The theory itself will tell you nothing. Learning an instrument (with a real-life teacher) will help a lot, and playing with other (real-life) musicians is invaluable.

You can read dozens of books about swimming, but you still need to jump in and start paddling in order to learn it. There are no short cuts here, sorry. (And god help you if Jancivil gets a whiff of this thread). :lol:
Jancivil? lol

Also, another super beginner question; in order for my bassline and melody and chorus etc all to sound good together, do they all have to be in the same key?