How to Start intermediate practices? Is there an app?

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi,

I am at a point where I need to advance my keyboard practices from beginner type exercises to more intermediate things. I have been warming up going backwards and forward in multiple minor and major scales with both the left hand and right hand. I do complete exercises where I try to work one finger harder than the others until I feel some burn, and I try to do this to every finger, lol, I have found with strength in my fingers I am starting to be able to actually not have a mindfuck when I play something different with my left hand. (as weird as that sounds, also muscle memory and stuff)

but anyways, I want to find some exercises that help me improve my offhand (left) that aren't stupidly easy but at the same time aren't expert level (I am self taught, so I like to jump in as far as I can go, but I usually swim out to far before I find my true comfort zone)

Is there any app or website that you would recommend for keyboard lessons/training? That would be ideal.
• Logic Pro 10.8.1
• MacBook Pro 2023 - M2 MAX - 96 GB RAM
• Focusrite Red 8Line + UAD Satellite

If you're serious, I strongly recommend finding a teacher, even if it's just for a few lessons.
At this stage, what you do isn't nearly important as how you do it. In other words, adopting a good technique is of paramount importance. Get that right, and things start to flow naturally. Get it wrong, and it becomes much harder to improve - it's very hard to unlearn things once you've got into bad habits (I'm not saying you are, but a teacher will be able to tell - there's all sorts of things relating to posture, fingering and stuff that you might not even have thought much about yet).

A few hours with a good teacher is worth a lot more than anything you will find online.
Unfamiliar words can be looked up in my Glossary of musical terms.