Anyone out there studying Schoenberg's Theory of Harmony ?

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I am studying Arnold Schoenberg's Theory of Harmony. Very slowly. I'm an experienced and musically literate 62 year old. I live in Orlando and have one companion student who lives in Washington state. I'd like to find one or two more who are actually working through the book. I hope to be studying this book and writing 4 part harmony exercises for years to come. I often read a passage thinking "huh?". I go back later and re-read the same passage thinking "aha". But writing the exercises while sitting at the piano is critical to learning, I believe.

Is anyone else here working through this book ?

Greetings,

Ah, my kind of guy ! I read through Schoenberg's Harmonielehre when I was studying in LA in the 80s. I also read through Piston's Harmony, Sessions' book, and Persichetti's 20th Century Harmony. The Piston was assigned work, I read the rest on my own. My piano keyboard skills are non-existent but I'm a good reader, so I sequenced examples to hear what I was studying. I sequenced the whole of Persichetti's book (still have the MIDI files), did all the exercises (and the workbook) from Piston, and read the others for further insight. So IMO you're on the right track.

Good luck finding someone else going through it, and have fun !

Best,

dp

I used that book when I was graduating in Composition (also Structural Functions of Harmony, which Schoenberg wrote later, and was thought as a kind of introduction to Theory of Harmony). Anything you want to discuss/clarify, feel free to post. If I can assist you, I will :-)
Fernando (FMR)

Good studying, very interesting.

I'm reading it too, and really enjoying it.

For more directly practical learning, I'm using Composing Music: A new approach (it's a workbook) and ArtOfComposing.com which is really really awesome.