I want to advance my music knowledge... help!

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey guys, I've been a composer and a producer for 1 years and a half now, and I think I have understand most of the basic theory, but recently I discover there are modals, like Phrygian mode, and counter points, and different harmony theory, it's just overwhelming. Is there a way to organize what I need to learn next so that I can expand my music knowledge. Right now I feel like, I'm just surfing the net to and learn whatever thrown at me, there are no structure to my learning.

Does everyone who self-taught have the same problems or is it just because I'm still not learn enough.

btw, this is my latest track. Tell me what you think :D
https://soundcloud.com/elephantsmakemusic/nohappyending
:hihi: :love:

Get a book, it's free.

http://www.oldschooldaw.com/manuals/Mus ... rMusic.pdf

All in all, music harmony is just a more complicated take on Fourier series :wink:
Blog ------------- YouTube channel
Tricky-Loops wrote: (...)someone like Armin van Buuren who claims to make a track in half an hour and all his songs sound somewhat boring(...)

DJ Warmonger wrote:Get a book, it's free.

http://www.oldschooldaw.com/manuals/Mus ... rMusic.pdf

All in all, music harmony is just a more complicated take on Fourier series :wink:
Thanks man. I will take a look.
:hihi: :love:

You should experiment more with major and harmonic minor, sometime break the rule for creativity.... I just have a few years but i compose very freely with less restrictions.
My new synth1 bank "Star-nam"

available on kvraudio! Grap it!

One thing that can make things difficult is that contemporary popular music is part of a very different culture than the culture that gave birth to counterpoint.