is Isomorphic layout superior to standard piano for a complete newbie?

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, Sorry if this is an ignorant question. I am completely new to music making/playing, my main goal is to be able to make some music on my computer. I've been trying to learn piano after buying a cheap keyboard off of craigslist using some youtube videos. I am a little turned off of by the pure rote memorization of various 'hand positions' ect , I am lost in the land of ridiculous 'every cow eats grass ' mnemonics.

Then I saw a video of 'scales and notes on push 2' that layout seems so much more logical and fun. you put in time to understand the system instead of rote memorization . But now I am wondering if its so much better why do people bother with ubiquitous piano layout anymore .

Also another side question, is there a midi device with highly sensitive pads like push 2. I want to program these layouts in bitwig but I don't want to spend $600 on push2.

I find the Push 2 buttons very hard and painful after playing for a little while. You could try a Launchpad instead.

My opinion is that you should just bite the bullet and lean to play the keyboard. Every instrument requires learning to play, and that means practice, rote memorization, and hard work. Just dig in and get good at it. You'll be glad you did. Especially when you score a great deal on a vintage Jupiter 8 and can actually play the keyboard!
Incomplete list of my gear: 1/8" audio input jack.

Horses for courses, Push 2 has the best pads of any controller I've tried.

There is something enjoyable about having easily transposable intervals/chords on a grid controller.
It's more akin to a stringed instrument where you can slide shapes around the neck without having to learn new fingerings.
IME time dedicated to learning the physical interface of a piano keyboard is time well spent.