|
|||
Loading the demo, a new file is created with the not-so-friendly name CK_LINE_DROP.SEP which causes my antivirus program to sound a Trojan alarm.
Running the file through the online service Virustotal which checks the file with many antivirus programs, it gets flagged by 51.2% of them which is worrying. Can you check it Ugo? |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 15 Dec 2009 Member: #221724 | ||
|
|||
V'ger wrote: Loading the demo, a new file is created with the not-so-friendly name CK_LINE_DROP.SEP
the file is a synthedit module (hence the .SEP ending), and its 'not so friendly' name is the author's initials (Chris Kerry) followed by what it does (drops the line volume periodically, as demo software often does) http://www.chriskerry.f9.co.uk/CK_Pack_4x.html All thats happened is that the virus checker has returned a false positive result. http://www.malwareremoval.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=519 78&start=15 ---- To laymen, software development is something akin to wizardry. Neither time, nor effort are involved. If software is missing features they want, or has bugs, it is solely because someone has been too lazy to wave their magic wand. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 03 Sep 2001 Member: #1041 | ||
|
|||
Maybe you could tell Ugo what's the file's Hash or exact size and date of creation so he can check if that module is as it should be. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 08 May 2008 Member: #180187 Location: ssssskipping ......... I left you there | ||
|
|||
It's not new that some virus scanners give false positive on some Synthedit modules.
Google for "synthedit false virus alert" edit: Check the whole .dll or the suspect file online here: http://www.viruschief.com/ Last edited by WOK on Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:20 am; edited 1 time in total |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Member: #13779 Location: Germany | ||
|
|||
WOK wrote: It's not new that some virus scanners give false positive on some Synthedit modules.
Google for "synthedit false virus alert" Check the whole .dll or the suspect file online here: http://www.virustotal.com/ The Op checked the file there and half of the engines labeled as bad. Some time ago Kaspersky uploaded a clean file to one of those online services and labeled as a virus in their product. One week later half of the antiviruses said it was bad too. It's true that Synthedit modules cause a lot of false positives, it's a little annoying. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 08 May 2008 Member: #180187 Location: ssssskipping ......... I left you there | ||
|
|||
Sorry for the scare...yes, as others have noted this is a false positive. That module has triggered these errors before. I only use that module in demos to cause the volume to periodically drop out, so if the false positive leaves you a bit uneasy, I can at least say that its not included in the full version. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 06 Jan 2003 Member: #5285 Location: Leesburg VA, USA | ||
|
|||
ugo wrote: if the false positive leaves you a bit uneasy, I can at least say that its not included in the full version.
---- Interested in 10% off Fabfilter stuff? (First time customers only.) Feel free to PM me. :p Skymont i7 7850k 24 core, 6 Ghz OC, 128 G DDR4, ASUS Maximus VIII Pro,4 TB SSD RAID... |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 18 Jun 2008 Member: #183082 Location: "nunya".... | ||
|
|||
VSTJuNkiE wrote: ugo wrote: if the false positive leaves you a bit uneasy, I can at least say that its not included in the full version.
you are already a pro musician, in which case the purchase will make your day job even better. Cheers |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 06 Oct 2004 Member: #43573 | ||
|
|||
Ok, I let it 'drop lines' and PC will still boot so I guess it's ok.. Nice sounding synth though, and the sound dropouts is soo much better than beeps. Only trouble is some general delay between hitting a note and sound playing, but that's not for this thread. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 15 Dec 2009 Member: #221724 |
| KVR Forum Index » Ugo | All times are GMT - 8 Hours |
|
Printable version |
Disclaimer: All communications made available as part of this forum and any opinions, advice, statements, views or other information expressed in this forum are solely provided by, and the responsibility of, the person posting such communication and not of kvraudio.com (unless kvraudio.com is specifically identified as the author of the communication).
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group














