|
|||
Sfz-toolbox downloaded from official site!!! (http://www.soundbytes.de)
From this time I don't believe any small vendors. [mod edit: Updated subject line so it's a question, not an accusation, since we don't know yet whether this is real malware or (far more likely) just another in a long line of false positives.] |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 30 Jun 2011 Member: #259813 | ||
|
|||
How sure are you it's not a false positive? Common problem...
Ran it through several other online scanners to rule that out? ---- We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. My MusicCalc is back online!! |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Member: #60794 Location: Utrecht, Holland | ||
|
|||
Neither MS Essentials nor Malwarebytes detect anything. As BertKoor says, false positives happen quite often. Maybe you should be more thorough before you start to imply that small vendors cannot be trusted. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 03 Sep 2001 Member: #1041 | ||
|
|||
whyterabbyt wrote: Neither MS Essentials nor Malwarebytes detect anything. As BertKoor says, false positives happen quite often. Maybe you should be more thorough before you start to imply that small vendors cannot be trusted.
Whoa there big fella! If you've never experienced a false positive then it's an understandable reaction. Let's try to be a bit more practical... @krandr: what antivirus / antimalware program is giving the alarm? If folks here test the file with a variety of security programs and only yours detects malware then it's a false positive - a string of code in the file that resembles a known threat, but isn't dangerous. First thing to do is contact soundbytes (be polite!) Second thing to do (if it is a false positive, which it almost certainly is) is to follow the instructions from your antivirus supplier to send them the file - it'll be in the help document, or on their website. Then they can fix the problem and distribute the fix in a definitions update. Simples! ---- "are we there yet?" |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 24 Dec 2005 Member: #92098 Location: Devon, England | ||
|
|||
jonnyG wrote: @krandr: what antivirus / antimalware program is giving the alarm? If folks here test the file with a variety of security programs and only yours detects malware then it's a false positive - a string of code in the file that resembles a known threat, but isn't dangerous. Was checked on http://virustotal.com |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 30 Jun 2011 Member: #259813 | ||
|
|||
Which antivirus program on virustotal gave the alarm? (you'll also need to tell soundbytes).
Edit: Ah, it's TheHacker antimalware. Anybody heard of them? Have extracted the zip (I'm reckless, me!) and am checking eack file. I'm sure it's fine. One positive out of 43 doesn't ring any bells with me! ---- "are we there yet?" |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 24 Dec 2005 Member: #92098 Location: Devon, England | ||
|
|||
Hmmmmmm... sfz-toolbox.exe gives two positives (with superantispyware and thehacker). Maybe they share heuristics info, but who knows...
I'd shoot an email to soundbytes and the two antimalware companies giving them this information and see what they say. Edit: It's probably a false positive, but the relevant people need to know - if only to stop other potential users from going through the same grief. ---- "are we there yet?" |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 24 Dec 2005 Member: #92098 Location: Devon, England | ||
|
|||
False positives are very common. Google "virus false positive site:kvraudio.com".
SynthEdit-based plugins have a long history of triggering false-positives. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 25 Sep 2010 Member: #240270 |
| KVR Forum Index » Samples, Sampling and Sample Libraries | All times are GMT - 8 Hours |
|
Printable version |
Disclaimer: All communications made available as part of this forum and any opinions, advice, statements, views or other information expressed in this forum are solely provided by, and the responsibility of, the person posting such communication and not of kvraudio.com (unless kvraudio.com is specifically identified as the author of the communication).
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group















