Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

VST License

alex.g
KVRist

59 posts since 22 Feb, 2005, from Italy

Postby alex.g; Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:42 pm VST License

Hi fellows!
I'm going to release some free vst plugins, so I've sent this email to Steinberg to receive some information more about their license, because I couldn't understand well how to send them the signed agreement:

Dear Steinberg staff,
I'm an audio plugins developer using the VST SDK.
I'm going to release some freeware VST plugins on my website and, if
I've well understood, I have to send you a signed copy of the VST
License coming with the SDK.
Do I have to send it to the fax number indicated in the contacts page
(++49 40 210 35-300)?
Could I send instead a scanned copy by e-mail?

Thank you in advance,
Best regards

since I'm a bit in a hurry with the release, and I haven't received an answer yet, I was wondering if any of you had ever done it before... and how!

Thank you for every eventual suggestion!
Alex
ost12666
KVRist

300 posts since 11 Feb, 2003

Postby ost12666; Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:44 am

I didn't sent any signed agreement and don't remember I needed to do it, maybe just to agree online, don't remember... You do need to put something in your about box ,etc. In any case I wouldn't delay the release because of that.
Sometimes, do the wrong thing
haydxn
KVRAF

3367 posts since 16 Feb, 2004, from atop a katamari

Postby haydxn; Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:10 am

when you obtain the VST SDK, you sign a little agreement there, and you can't get the SDK without doing so. that's pretty much as much as you need to do.
Kick, punch, it's all in the mind.
alex.g
KVRist

59 posts since 22 Feb, 2005, from Italy

Postby alex.g; Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:21 am

Thank you all for the replies.
I thought the same as you, until I gave a better look at the VST Licensing Agreement.rtf included with the SDK.

Point 5 of chapter 2 (p.2) says: