10 commercial compressors compared in a dance context

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Effects Discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi!

This is something I wanted to do for a longer time. I couldn't decide which compressor to get for my needs, so I decided to demo many of the available commercial ones.

I have setup a small test on the site below where you can download a drumloop processed by 10 of the big VST compressors (unfortunately I have no UAD). Whereas most of the time those comparisons are done in a rock context, I tried to get a good sound out of the 909ish loop in a soundsculpting way. So the comps are working hard and show what they can do to make a very raw loop sounding more professional in a dance context.

In the examples I have tried to match RMS and peak levels, but also to get a good sound out of every comp. As I'm no mixing expert the whole test may be contaminated with many flaws and therefore useless, but by checking the demos I came to the conclusion that I like Marquis the best, and the 1980 second! So the process has led to distinct final conclusions on my side, which is all I was hoping for! :-)

For the start I won't tell you which loop got processed by what compressor, I'm interested to see what you like without influences coming from price etc. In the next couple of days I will bring light into this.

Link: http://alienleg.al.funpic.de/index.php

The contenders are:
Am-Track
Compadre
GUP-1
Marquis
MixPressor
SV-315
Waves SSL G

cu, Markus

Cool idea, Markus.

I'll certainly watch with interest.

btw what are 1970, 1975 and 1980?
Member 12, Studio One v6.5, VPS Avenger, Kontakt 7, Spitfire, Dune, Arturia, Sonible, Baby Audio, CableGuys, Nektar Panorama P1, Vaporizer 2 to test out

i do not like c03...

1970, 1975 and 1980 are the Urs compressors. Oh and Am-Track is the one from Samplitude, unfortunately not available without its host. Everyone who likes Blockfish would want to get it! :(

Alien Leg wrote:Hi!