Switch to Print All | Page 1 of 2 | 1, 2

Whisper in the background...?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:06 pm
by MacFluffers
I got the free version of MuLab v4 and have been working on it all afternoon. The whole time, whenever I played the audio, I heard a voice in the background that said something along the lines of "Please upgrade MuLab". I didn't mind, because I figured it was just there to bug me. However, I just exported the music to an audio file, and to my despair, the annoying voice was still there in the background.

I tried downloading v3, but apparently it doesn't have forward compatibility.

Is all the work I did this afternoon wasted? Is there a way to get rid of that voice?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:52 am
by mutools
It's because you're crossing a limit of MuLab Free, cfr http://www.mutools.com/mulab/docs/mulab-versions.html

Buying a MuLab XT or UL User License will give you more MuLab power!

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:25 pm
by MacFluffers
I suspected as much, but I didn't see where I did anything like that. I have only 4 tracks, there's only one channel on each rack, there are no audio inputs or outputs, and I'm pretty sure I can say the same for MIDI...

Here's an image of what the composition looks like, if that helps:

http://i.imgur.com/WeStS.jpg

Is there some way for the program to let me know what boundary I've overstepped?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:35 pm
by bpblog
thumbs up for a spooky thread title. :)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:19 pm
by janamdo
mutools wrote:It's because you're crossing a limit of MuLab Free, cfr http://www.mutools.com/mulab/docs/mulab-versions.html

Buying a MuLab XT or UL User License will give you more MuLab power!


Does the Mulab free always have a sound in it ,when you record with 4 tracks..?
So it is not a real free version, but limited?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:30 am
by pljones
It's free of cost and without nagging. It's got all the features of the unlimited version but will nag if you go over the threshold into non-free XT usage. The XT one does the same, AIUI, if you go over the limit into higher-fee UL usage.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:34 am
by mutools
MacFluffers wrote:Is there some way for the program to let me know what boundary I've overstepped?


Not explicitly, but there are only 2 reasons why the voice alert will be there:

1) Or you have more than 4 tracks
2) Or you are using "Per Part" MIDI channels.

To check for reason 2, right click a track -> Choose MIDI Channel.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:37 am
by mutools
janamdo wrote:Does the Mulab free always have a sound in it ,when you record with 4 tracks..? So it is not a real free version, but limited?


MuLab Free is free. Of course it has limits.
If i don't try to manage a humble income, MuLab will die, of course.

If you stay within the limits of MuLab Free, you don't get any alert!

The different MuLab versions are listed here: http://www.mutools.com/mulab/docs/mulab-versions.html

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:08 am
by janamdo
mutools wrote:If i don't try to manage a humble income, MuLab will die, of course.

MULAB is now easy to start with and has nice look for youngsters, so the road is open to a conquer the world
Marketing is the next thing :), go to the big music shows for new products..and so on

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:16 am
by MacFluffers
I would have much preferred a hard limit to this, because now I don't know how to salvage my work.

1) Or you have more than 4 tracks
2) Or you are using "Per Part" MIDI channels.

To check for reason 2, right click a track -> Choose MIDI Channel.


As you can see in the image, there are only 4 tracks and 4 racks.

As for number 2, all the tracks are on channel 1.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:27 am
by mutools
It seems that you have multiple compositions in that session.
Maybe you got more tracks / MIDI channels in the other composition(s)?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:40 am
by pljones
Maybe there needs to be a pop-up dialog at the point you exceed the limit (not an auto-disappearing one). Maybe also a dialog when you open a session that exceeds your licensed limits, saying what violation has been detected (e.g. if the limit of {thing X} is {n} then you'd list all of the {thing X}, with those over {n} in red or something).

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:46 am
by MacFluffers
mutools wrote:It seems that you have multiple compositions in that session.
Maybe you got more tracks / MIDI channels in the other composition(s)?
Oh wow, I didn't notice that. I thought those went away.

I deleted the other tracks, and that seems to have worked, but is there a way to delete compositions as a whole? I don't see where I'd do that.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:37 am
by mutools
Right-click the composer => Composition->Delete.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:02 am
by MacFluffers
Thank you very much!

One last question: if I bought MuLab XT, could I run it on multiple computers, or does it only work for one? I might be switching computers soon...