|
|||
Was looking for synths and stumbled into this right away:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RHYTHM-2-VSTi-for-PC-vintage-synth -VST-version-VST-synthesizer-BRAND-/170842138093?_trksid=p51 97.m185&_trkparms=algo%3DSIC.NPJS%26itu%3DI%252BUA%26otn%3D1 1%26pmod%3D320903184808%26po%3DLWI%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D84479 82175128175950 I'd have posted this in the Syncersoft forum, but, it's completely empty. 20 dollars seems a bit steep for a freeware synth, but worry not - shipping is !!FREE!! Should I report this page? |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 20 Jul 2010 Member: #236000 | ||
|
|||
No, no you should not report this page. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 27 Sep 2010 Member: #240439 | ||
|
|||
That may actually be Dr. Tikov-the one that made the synth. I've noticed he's selling his stuff on ebay. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Member: #10484 | ||
|
|||
JD Gaffe wrote: No, no you should not report this page. +1. If you're a sucker that doesn't do homework and fall for this, then honestly: you deserve it (and probably will be a happy customer ---- We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. My MusicCalc is back online!! |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Member: #60794 Location: Utrecht, Holland | ||
|
|||
A while ago, while zipping around on ebay, I found this very cheesy page with a very cheesy pic of a man claiming to be a 'famous music producer'. He was selling a 'Music Production Bundle' that had everything you needed to make your own music. I think it was like $99.00. It was all listed as very generalized, like compressors, reverbs, but he had a picture, which I enlarged, and saw to my amazement everything was freeware. I think people who bought this and found out it could all be downloaded for free would not be happy. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Member: #10484 | ||
|
|||
osiris wrote: A while ago, while zipping around on ebay, I found this very cheesy page with a very cheesy pic of a man claiming to be a 'famous music producer'. He was selling a 'Music Production Bundle' that had everything you needed to make your own music. I think it was like $99.00. It was all listed as very generalized, like compressors, reverbs, but he had a picture, which I enlarged, and saw to my amazement everything was freeware. I think people who bought this and found out it could all be downloaded for free would not be happy.
There are quite a few like that on ebay. I wonder how many people get caught out by them |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 01 Oct 2006 Member: #122156 Location: Um! Where is this? | ||
|
|||
If a potential buyer is dumb enough to not look the plugin up first, but instead just buys it, then I think he should be taught a lesson and pay the money.
After all, the seller can just declare the money he asks for not as a price for the software itself, "which is obviously free", but as a compensation for the media he ships it on, the time of digging it up from the Internet, downloading and burning it onto CD etc. As long as he doesn't copy and distribute a big sample library like EWQL stuff claiming it's his own, or doesn't sell anything free with a clause in its EULA that prohibits sale or inclusion in commercial software samplers, he has nothing to worry about. It's all legal. Immoral, but legal. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 10 Oct 2007 Member: #162654 Location: Berlin | ||
|
|||
Resonator63 wrote: osiris wrote: A while ago, while zipping around on ebay, I found this very cheesy page with a very cheesy pic of a man claiming to be a 'famous music producer'. He was selling a 'Music Production Bundle' that had everything you needed to make your own music. I think it was like $99.00. It was all listed as very generalized, like compressors, reverbs, but he had a picture, which I enlarged, and saw to my amazement everything was freeware. I think people who bought this and found out it could all be downloaded for free would not be happy.
There are quite a few like that on ebay. I wonder how many people get caught out by them I noticed one a while ago. http://rekkerd.org/vst-platinum-1700-plug-ins-for-just-39/ A quick google on VST Platinum shows it still exists, though I seem to have my scam report as the first result, while the official site is the last link on the page @chokehold: Most developers of freeware plugins do not allow (re)distribution of their work, so both immoral and illegal. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 02 Sep 2005 Member: #79946 Location: city of lights (nl) | ||
|
|||
That's what I was thinking. He can say, well I took all the time to download and compile everything on a CD, so is it any different from when you buy a music magazine that has a bunch of freeware stuff on it? That's a very grey area. Now, if it was one particular thing - say someone was selling copies of Tal-Dub. That's illegal. And I agree, if you're stupid enough to buy something without trying to thoroughly research it, you deserve what you get. I don't know how much you could trust your credit card number to someone who would do this. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Member: #10484 | ||
|
|||
core wrote: Resonator63 wrote: osiris wrote: A while ago, while zipping around on ebay, I found this very cheesy page with a very cheesy pic of a man claiming to be a 'famous music producer'. He was selling a 'Music Production Bundle' that had everything you needed to make your own music. I think it was like $99.00. It was all listed as very generalized, like compressors, reverbs, but he had a picture, which I enlarged, and saw to my amazement everything was freeware. I think people who bought this and found out it could all be downloaded for free would not be happy.
There are quite a few like that on ebay. I wonder how many people get caught out by them I noticed one a while ago. http://rekkerd.org/vst-platinum-1700-plug-ins-for-just-39/ A quick google on VST Platinum shows it still exists, though I seem to have my scam report as the first result, while the official site is the last link on the page @chokehold: Most developers of freeware plugins do not allow (re)distribution of their work, so both immoral and illegal. That offer is as nearly as tempting as the 2013 Cliff Richard callender I shall be eyeing up for the studio wall come demcember Its a real beauty of BS and the comments even more so (well a few of them Ronnie mate, Not the obviously clued up comments of course). It is kind of priceless for all the wrong reasons! Just like Cliff Richard callenders For freeware/magware audio software and soundware I think I'll just stick with KVR, Rekkerd, BPB and CM/FM/MTM for the covermount disc stuff...Save ebay for second-hand guitar/bass and studio equipment/needs to be honest. Its worked out alright so far, Beat mag if I ever was over in germany does some sweet magware also |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 04 Oct 2007 Member: #162100 Location: Die Dead Enough | ||
|
|||
The guy (or gal) actually has 10 copies of the synth for sale |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 20 Jan 2008 Member: #171378 | ||
|
|||
"If a potential buyer is dumb enough to not look the plugin up first, but instead just buys it, then I think he should be taught a lesson and pay the money."
So the guys who fall for this kind of offer deserve it do they!!! What kind of f*cked up mentality is that? The world is crappy enough without that kind of sh*t... This is a forum where people inform others about exactly that kind of stuff and naivety/innocence/lack of knowledge aren't reasons to penalize those out there who don't have it in there psychological make up to thoroughly check things out like some of the clever clogs here. Just because it's a dog eat dog world doesn't mean it has to stay a dog eat dog world. Hello dystopia... |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 09 Mar 2008 Member: #175658 Location: netherlands | ||
|
|||
I think you'd be mad to buy most software on ebay. Most buyers probably know it's not legit, even if they don't realise it's freeware |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 19 May 2002 Member: #2817 Location: Cambridge, UK | ||
|
|||
No, there's quite a few legit music sellers on ebay. Why so upset kelvyn? I'll give you an example. I bought what I thought was a cheap DVD off of Yahoo Shopping. When it was all said and done, these people had my credit card number and were about to begin charging me $15.00 a month for their 'DVD Discount' club. NONE of this was on the website. If I'd bothered to research this one little bit, I could of found out what kind of company it was. There were literally hundreds of complaints against them. I got off lucky. Some people they charged a YEARS worth of their little club fee to their credit cards.
Caveat emptor - so old it has a latin phrase for it..... |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Member: #10484 | ||
|
|||
chokehold wrote: It's all legal. Immoral, but legal. You sure about that? So if I release a plugin for free, it's legal for someone else to make money on it? Doesn't sound remotely legal to me. |
|||
| ^ | Joined: 18 Oct 2004 Member: #44912 |
| KVR Forum Index » Instruments | All times are GMT - 8 Hours |
|
Printable version |
Disclaimer: All communications made available as part of this forum and any opinions, advice, statements, views or other information expressed in this forum are solely provided by, and the responsibility of, the person posting such communication and not of kvraudio.com (unless kvraudio.com is specifically identified as the author of the communication).
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
















