Page 1 of 1

Fade In/Out multiple clips simultaneously

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:02 pm
by kurtster
I cannot figure out how to create a fade in on all tracks at the same time. It seems to me you would be able to hold down the cntrol button while dragging one Fade in diagonal line so you could do the exact same thing on all tracks at one time. Am I missing something obvious somewhere? i am new to Tracktion, just got a new Mackie FX22 board w/ Tracktion 3 bundled with it. :?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:11 pm
by valley
Slingshotwarrior wrote:I cannot figure out how to create a fade in on all tracks at the same time. It seems to me you would be able to hold down the cntrol button while dragging one Fade in diagonal line so you could do the exact same thing on all tracks at one time. Am I missing something obvious somewhere? i am new to Tracktion, just got a new Mackie FX22 board w/ Tracktion 3 bundled with it. :?


I don't think you can. but you probably don't need to either.

Are you aware of:

a) the master fades? You can set a fade in/out for you entire edit - click the master level and look at the properties panel.

b) if you need to fade a bunch of tracks at a specific point in the song, automation.

c) sub-busses. Route tracks to another track then you can apply a master level control to them again using automation curves.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:15 pm
by kurtster
valley wrote:
Slingshotwarrior wrote:I cannot figure out how to create a fade in on all tracks at the same time. It seems to me you would be able to hold down the cntrol button while dragging one Fade in diagonal line so you could do the exact same thing on all tracks at one time. Am I missing something obvious somewhere? i am new to Tracktion, just got a new Mackie FX22 board w/ Tracktion 3 bundled with it. :?


I don't think you can. but you probably don't need to either.

Are you aware of:

a) the master fades? You can set a fade in/out for you entire edit - click the master level and look at the properties panel.

b) if you need to fade a bunch of tracks at a specific point in the song, automation.

c) sub-busses. Route tracks to another track then you can apply a master level control to them again using automation curves.


Okay, awesome--i will check all that out. I appreciate it greatly! 8)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:41 am
by frankvg
Very good alternatives but improved audio editing should nonetheless go on the FR list.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:38 am
by lou zer
Are you aware of:

a) the master fades? You can set a fade in/out for you entire edit - click the master level and look at the properties panel.

I have been using Tracktion for around 6 years and never noticed that. I just did my fades on the record automation feature.
I tried the master fades and they dont seem to work. Am I missing something silly here?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:40 am
by operandx
Did you set the fade in/out ranges?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:08 am
by lou zer
0 on the fade in
2:27 on the fade out and nothin happening

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:12 am
by operandx
No no no ...

You have to set the fade in value to the number of bars to fade in and the fade out value to the number of bars to fade out. The fade out will end where your last clip ends, if that makes any sense. Try it ;)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:22 pm
by metamorphosis
I think it's in fitting with Tracktion's overall dynamic that if you adjust the fadein/out on one clip while having multiple clips highlighted it should adjust the fadein/out length for those other clips as well- just as it does with in/out points, volume, etc. Makes logical and intuitive sense.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:49 pm
by valley
metamorphosis wrote:I think it's in fitting with Tracktion's overall dynamic that if you adjust the fadein/out on one clip while having multiple clips highlighted it should adjust the fadein/out length for those other clips as well- just as it does with in/out points, volume, etc. Makes logical and intuitive sense.


agreed.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:59 pm
by Integratron
valley wrote:
Slingshotwarrior wrote:I cannot figure out how to create a fade in on all tracks at the same time. It seems to me you would be able to hold down the cntrol button while dragging one Fade in diagonal line so you could do the exact same thing on all tracks at one time. Am I missing something obvious somewhere? i am new to Tracktion, just got a new Mackie FX22 board w/ Tracktion 3 bundled with it. :?


I don't think you can. but you probably don't need to either.

Are you aware of:

a) the master fades? You can set a fade in/out for you entire edit - click the master level and look at the properties panel.

b) if you need to fade a bunch of tracks at a specific point in the song, automation.

c) sub-busses. Route tracks to another track then you can apply a master level control to them again using automation curves.


Reaper can fade multiple clips... just saying.