First attempt at Pop Sounding Song

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi Guys,
Thank you in advanced for taking the time to view this song and I would like to have peoples opinion on how the song sounds on the creative perspective, how the melody sounds (in my opinion it might be a little strange) and if I could get some help on what I should do better eq and mixing wise that would be a huge help since I am relatively new at this.Thanks again for your time and courtesy
https://soundcloud.com/jonathan-rivera0 ... ns-bootleg

Melody/songwriting, sound combination and actual arrangement is great. Length is perfect.
Mix has some sort of slight muddiness preventing the clarity of the instruments and voice coming through.
Is that reverb or some effect on the main keyboard part or on the master channel?
My latest crazy track "The Quick Brown Fox sampled the Lazy Dog": http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic ... 4&t=425647
15 Free DIVA Presets: http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic ... 8#p5892108

Yea Synchanter thnx for the feedback and yea I did put reverb on the main keyboard part and then I added a bit of extra reverb on the master channel cause I thought that might make it sound "better".

Synchanter wrote:Melody/songwriting, sound combination and actual arrangement is great. Length is perfect.
Mix has some sort of slight muddiness preventing the clarity of the instruments and voice coming through.
Is that reverb or some effect on the main keyboard part or on the master channel?
Yea I put some reverb on the piano and on the master cause i tried making it sound "better"

Could dial back the reverb, especially on the muffled drum part at 0:30.
IMHO I guess the reverb is being used to tame the louder parts and to glue the whole thing together.
Instead compression on the louder instruments could work, and EQ adjusted on each channel to enable all the parts to fit together.