Login / Register  0 items | $0.00New @ What is KVR? Submit News Advertise
Discussion: Active


29 October 2013 at 7:25pmariston

Heck, your in-depth, knowledgeable and utterly "pro" review convinced me Jimmie. Off to buy UA 2 now.


30 October 2013 at 2:38pmariston

Hey Jimmie, it's not your English that's the problem, I think your English is fine. A review is supposed to be more than "gosh, it's great, I love it", though. That's merely an opinion; a review is supposed to be informative, which means that you should write about why and how you came to this conclusion. The only information I can glean from your "review" is that you like it - now why the hell would I need to know that? Sorry if this sounds personal, but I think that the KVR review section could be such a treasure trove of information, and yet it gets abused time and again. Maybe you should read the KVR guidelines for submitting reviews.



30 October 2013 at 6:02pmariston

Okay, that's fair enough. Sorry if I was a bit too harsh, I realize there was no bad intent. On the subject of UA2: I really wish it had been more awesome, because all they did was give it a makeover, instead of enhancing it and adding features. It is what it was... a nice synth that's been overtaken by the modern posse (Diva, Synth Squad, Monark, etc.)

29 October 2013 at 8:53pmnoou

IMO, VA-2 sounds exactly the same as VA-1 (except for the new fx), that is not very analog at all.
It's a shame that, after all this time, they only refurbished the GUI and the fx, while leaving the synthesis engine out.

30 October 2013 at 9:25pmdigitalboytn

Yes Sir..They did the same thing with Lounge Lizard too...They gave it a new GUI and a few FX,but it is essentially the same as the previous version...Not really an upgrade at all...Just a coat of paint :)

1 November 2013 at 6:23amplanetearth

Does anyone know for a fact that Ultra Analog VA-2 and Lounge Lizard EP-4 are really just "re-treads"? It was my understanding AAS had been working on them a while, and made some improvements. Now, I'm starting to wonder.

Admittedly, now that I read the Website, it appears the "new" stuff is mostly the effects. The sounds themselves come from a "renewed factory library" for UA VA-2 and a "new" factory library for LL EP-4. Not really sure what that means, other than they got rid of some of the older, cheesier sounds for UA VA-2. LL EP-3 was okay (though not my "go-to" for EP sounds); I'm not sure how many "new" electric piano sounds you can model--or really need to, for that matter.

Ultimately, what's important here is that the two OPs were able to resolve an obvious misunderstanding. I've been guilty of doing a quick "opinion piece" when I should have written a review, too.

23 January 2014 at 9:49pmdigitalboytn

The sound engines are exactly the same...All they did was add a few FX and a new GUI...They didn't gut the building...They just painted it on the outside :)

24 January 2014 at 2:11amplanetearth

Nice analogy.

I downloaded the UA VA-2 demo, and while it doesn't seem that much different from what I had, it's not bad. I would have gotten it on sale, but I doubt I would have paid full price for what amounted to a "new coat of paint"...and some nice effects. ;)

Please log in to join the discussion

Ultra Analog VA-2

Average user rating of 8.75 from 4 reviews

Applied Acoustics Systems
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
170 people have added Ultra Analog VA-2 to 30 My KVR groups 228 times
+25 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 342  248  335

30-Day: 903; 7-Day: 844; Yesterday: 256