What is KVR Audio? | Submit News | Advertise | Developer Account

Options (Affects News & Product results only):

OS:
Format:
Include:
Quick Search KVR

"Quick Search" KVR Audio's Product Database, News Items, Developer Listings, Forum Topics and videos here. For advanced Product Database searching please use the full product search. For the forum you can use the phpBB forum search.

To utilize the power of Google you can use the integrated Google Site Search.

Products 0

Developers 0

News 0

Forum 0

Videos 0

Search  
Discussion: Active

Discussion

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

18 October 2012 at 5:17pmcalande

I think this synth has potential, however, I cannot use it because, although my computer is recent and quite powerful, when I play notes on my keyboard, there is a 2-3 second delay, the sound is crispy and my CPU meter is above 90%...I bought this computer recently and it works well with others plugins...

Although the presets are not very interesting to me, the functions allow you to make some interesting sounds that remind somehow the SH-101, especially with the distortion effect. But of course it's a little weak when you open the filter with the distorsion on, compared to an SH-101. Nice to take some time playing around with it though. It's a nice synth.

20 October 2012 at 2:33pmFreth

I have a PC with a quad core 3.2ghz, 12GB RAM and Windows 7. I also have a Mac Mini with a 2.7ghz quad core, 8GB RAM and Mac OS X Mountain Lion. I downloaded the demo of LuSH-101 for both and decided to give it a try. First on the Mac, I installed it and loaded up Logic Pro 9. I began recording random notes in monophonic, then try some of the polyphonic. Logic Pro began to start to lag, pop and crack and couldn't keep up with the instrument. I then loaded the demo into FL Studio using my 3.2ghz PC. I was able to add two independent LuSH-101 instruments and record polyphonic without any trouble whatsoever. Conclusion: Poor software design on the Mac, not by D16, but by Apple. Logic Pro doesn't appear to be very plug-in friendly and I suspect that the AU wrapper that has to be used could be part of the problem. Keep in mind Logic Pro 9 was loaded in 64-bit mode. Unless you have a high-end Mac or are happy with the limitations you have to impose on the instrument to make it work, you're not going to get much out of this instrument and Logic Pro in my opinion. I was excited about buying it, not for the PC, but for Logic Pro. Now that my hopes are dashed, my only choice is to use it with FL Studio or wait and hope that Logic Pro X will be way more efficient and plug-in friendly. The instrument itself is amazing and has everything you need at your fingertips to create great sounds. LuSH-101 is a winner, but on the Apple side at least, we have to wait for catch-up.

27 October 2012 at 2:54amPUSHA

LAG LAG LAG LAG LAG!!!!!!! PLEASE FIX THE CPU LOAD ISSUE AND MAKE IT MORE EFFICIENT. IM USING FL STUDIO ON PC AND CANT PLAY POLY SOUNDS WITHOUT A FEW SECOND LAG.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

2 November 2012 at 7:29pmSolaris2012

PUSHA the lag might be coming from your audio driver's buffer length being set too long, i'm using fl studio as well and it works fine.

3 November 2012 at 8:01amlagrangeaudio

It makes me laugh all these people complaining about high CPU loads. To put this into perspective my desktop is a 2.8Ghz Core 2 Duo with 2Gb RAM running WinXP SP3. Pretty much at the lower end of D16's recommended spec. LuSH runs brilliantly on my machine. Here's why:

1) Firstly as a computing professional it amazes me just how many people have poor running machines. Too many unnecessary processes, devices, services etc etc If your music is important to you then configure your machine exclusively for music and don't install and run anything you don't need. Perform regular maintenance such as reg cleans, temp file removal, defrag etc you would be amazed what a difference these simple things make.

2) LuSH-101 is actually 8 synths, not 1. Too many people treat it as one single synth but this is not the case. Each layer is a polyphonic synth in its own right with unison, supersaws and effects. Look at it this way, take your favourite poly synth now and put 8 of them into your DAW. I'm pretty sure your CPU usage is going to be as high, if not higher than LuSH. Comparing it's CPU usage with other synths is unfair and invalid.

8 November 2012 at 10:29pmdudek

Well i second your statement in 1). A audio workstation is for audio only. Nothing else ... Even i run a intel 6 core CPU it allways amazed me to see that the CPU has a low load of 15 % whilst ASIO loads spike the 100 % and clip. These are things "too many people" can't change just with shutting down unnecessery processes and the things you stated. They need better soundcards respectively good ASIO Drivers ... Intel should have supported direct ASIO instead of video into their cpu's with direct RAM access.

2) 'bout the shioitor or LuSH: Same exp. with ASIO and CPU loads. I really wonder where that comes from.

Maybe you as a computing pro can answer this ?

15 November 2012 at 3:43amaaron aardvark

I have spent some time with LuSH-101 and it does have a number of good presets. It does put a drain on the computer though. I'm surprised I have not seen this synth reviewed in a magazine (that I recall). I wonder how the magazines will like it.

29 November 2012 at 6:03pmdjsyruz

Running it on a 09 macbook pro. 2.53ghz Dual-Core with 4gb of RAM with mountain lion 10.8 and its runs great, no lag issues at all. This synth sounds amazing, I am very impressed.

3 April 2013 at 12:17pmMarando

LuSH-101 has presets that use multiple layers. Please keep in mind that any layer is in fact a complete synth on it's own. So when you are comparing a 3 layer LuSH preset to a (obviously 1 layer) Diva preset, you are comparing apples and oranges. It's not weird that LuSH uses more CPU in that scenario.

I made some nice sounding presets with both LuSH and DIVA and in my experience, the CPU load of LuSH is not higher than DIVA, when you make comparable sounds.

3 April 2013 at 8:22pmTheoM

Tough review and unfair. the synth sounds stunning, and you rate it purely on CPU usage without even saying what CPU you USE.

Anyway, i voted not helpful as besides the negativity which i can accept as e all have different opinions, you hardly said anything else about the product at all.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

3 April 2013 at 8:38pmliquidsound

Correct.

Actually it's not a review but a complaint.

On the D16 site the requirements are : i7 based 3.7 GHz recommended.

That should give him a hint.

5 April 2013 at 5:49amTheoM

and yet it runs just fine and i have tested the entire preset bank, yes it uses an entire core, but of my 2.2 i7 laptop? that is way under their requirements and works absolutely fine here! so there to the reviewer hehe.

12 April 2013 at 1:50pmAiynzahev

I know they are working on getting this to run faster on all systems. Not just Intel I believe.

4 May 2013 at 7:22amrob_lee

The modulation limitations on this is a complete joke.. Where ARE THEY? It's very very limited in that department.. sure i can program the top sounds in this synth but someone's AVIN A BARF here at D16.. sort it eh? A top synth let down by the lack of modulations routings.. i won't do a review on this yet cause i hear this is gonna be rectified however at this point in time i give it a 10/10 for sound and FX but a 1/10 for the modulations - joke!!.

Rob.

9 August 2013 at 8:58ammuelb

OK Guys, if anyone read my review correct, he will see that I criticize the lack of multicore support. There are multicore cpu's out in the market since 2006 (to be correct for the computing expert above, it's since 2007 the dual core of intel is on the market). As a programmer beginning with a project: If I know, I will program a resource-beast of a vst, I never try to program it for a single core. That was clear already since 2010! If the synth was not planed resource hungry like this... ok this could be a reason. But I bought it in the meaning that at least the presets are playable on my (not so slow) Hardware. And the VST has been released in october 2012, so it's now 10 months and nothing happened since then.

I don' have a problem with resource-killer synth vst's, but if the other 5 core's are sleeping it's annoying. In my review I cannot give a better rating before the programmer has done his homework, sorry.

My dedicated DAW-machine is a Hexacore with 3.2 GHz and 16GB of RAM running with a RME Multiface. So it's not to bad, I don't have any similar problems with my other vst's. That's the only thing I wanted to say with my review.

2 November 2013 at 9:11amKrakatau

Just check it out, i'm blown out by the sound added to the multitimbral possibilities,being on iMac 2.8Ghz i7, sure that multicore support would be highly appreciated : it might definitely unlashed it full potential for me...

31 January 2014 at 11:32pmBudbud

I REALLY regret buying this! I purchased TWO different third party presets packs from two different vendors and in addition to the money that I spent on those, I've literally wasted DAYS, that's right DAY'S trying anything and everything to get Lush to recognize and load them to no avail. I've NEVER had trouble loading third party presets for other synths. This synth is VERY quirky and has me going insane. I don't know how many times I've contacted customer support from d16 and the presets pack vendors and I've done EVERYTHING they've ALL told me to do multiple times as well. I'm sorry, but it's simply IMPOSSIBLE to load third party presets into this synth and that makes it a GIANT loser for me. I'm going to see if I can sell it, as the amount of anger and frustration this synth has caused me has REALLY put me off to the whole thing. I'll also NEVER even consider another product from d16.

1 February 2014 at 11:09amxamido

But does it warrant a 1 out of 10 review rating? That's just knee jerk.

1 February 2014 at 11:21ampaterpeter

I'm sorry that you're experiencing technical issues. But apparently you did something wrong, because LuSH definitively loads 3rd party presets. On Windows, copy the presets to "%APPDATA%\Roaming\D16 Group\LuSH-101\Presets" and you're good. Actually, that's where the factory presets are located. Maybe you're having issues with access rights or user accounts.

Anyway, giving a rating of 1 is completely unjustified and a lame move IMO. The rating feature is not there for you to vent your frustration. Did you ask for help in the forums?

1 February 2014 at 12:43pmKrakatau

+1.

absolutely...

15 May 2014 at 8:04ammig jorn

Hi, let me help here. I spent a night on this .

Access hidden user library files | Mac OS and later In the Finder, choose Go > Go To Folder. In the Go To Folder dialog, type ~/Library Click Go.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Please log in to join the discussion

LuSH-101

Average user rating of 8.75 from 4 reviews

D16 Group
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
135 people have added LuSH-101 to 10 My KVR groups 169 times
+5 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 4  4  4

30-Day: 153; 7-Day: 140; Yesterday: 81

KVR Developer Challenge 2014