Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for Alchemy

Rate & Review Alchemy Now!

Reviewed By XFX [read all by] on 4th November 2014
Version reviewed: 8.1 on Windows
10.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Alchemy is one of the better soft synths out there, Working with waveforms, SFZ, samples. I've got mostly good things to say about this tool.

What I would like to see is some sort of visual on what's happening with the wave form or maybe signal flow, routing pop up screen, that I can call up at a mouse click. For most of the time, it's like visualizing everything in my mind and but the GUI looks rather static. Hey, not complaining but it always good to look forward to something, else it's like working with analogue hardware where the box always looks the same, maybe for a few LEDs blinking. Most common confusion would be the FX/mix knobs found here and there, and how running more that one filter will leave you a little confused at times unless you start switching off a filter or OSC sources.

The thing is that Alchemy is much more than an virtual analogue emulation, there's where all the goodies come flying out of the Alchemy tool box.

Sound is clear, if you have good samples. Whether you need to fatten things up later there's always the FX section with the Phat button and variations of distortions like Mech and Tube. An FX section with reverb, delay, and phase, chorus, flange type of modulation. EQ is useful for reducing honky, boxy, excessive hissing. Compressor runs auto with 2 knobs for light duties, a wise thing at this stage.

Alchemy is able create different types of sounds for the many genres. Going through the audio demos on Camelaudio's website would give an idea of the possibilities of your design efforts.

I mostly use Alchemy to load up my old samples from recordings, SFZ and bring them to life again with new effects and sample manipulation. The ability to load designed waveforms has been useful in changing the behaviour of LFOs and stacking new sounds with interesting harmonic content.

Friends playing synth keys never seem to understand why or what I'm doing with Alchemy and I admit sometimes I don't either, maybe a simpler synth would be suitable for most.

If I just wanted a Rompler or a VA synth, I would have had difficulty upgrading from the Alchemy Player to the full version. After spending quite a bit of time checking out the tutorials and listening to the 3rd party demos from around the internet. I'd just had to get it.

Notice how I didn't want to say anything about the types of synthesis available for use. It's just too much to describe, but I'm glad they're there to provide me with a bigger palette.

Reviewed By SarahBellum [read all by] on 31st October 2013
Version reviewed: 8.1 64Bi on Windows
10.00
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I tried out the demo's of Absynth, Omnisphere, and Alchemy - I bought Alchemy because I felt it has the most scope and was also the best value for money. (Razor isn't in the same league as these three giants).

As a Rompler there are hundreds of presets to tweak, and cheap Soundbanks packs specific to particular genre's. It's a powerful 4-part multi-synth in it's own right with multiple Filters, LFO's, EG's, and Seq's etc so (if you know how to program) making your own sounds from scratch is a dream (a lot easier than Absynth). It's Virtual Analogue engine is brilliant for making classic authentic vintage sounds, and it has a great effects section.

But the winning features for me were being able to morph in real-time between 8 sub-presets with an X-Y pad (I use a nanopad 2), and being able to load Wavs and SFZ's and then resynthesise them (you can't do that in Omnisphere) - i use Chicken System Translator to convert SF2's, Kontakt banks and Sampletank banks to SFZ's, drop them in Alchemy and then take them to weird and wonderful places :)

Alchemy has replaced almost all of my other synths - try the demo for yourself and get the free Alchemy player (it also loads Wavs and SFZ's)

Reviewed By rosko12 [read all by] on 25th October 2013
Version reviewed: 10 on Mac
8.00
2 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Alchemy strikes me as a somewhat better version of Absynth. They're both geared towards huge performable soundcapes. Unlike Abysnth you can load in big wave files (ie field recordings). You can then modulate and morph it all together with a bunch of analog sounds and a heap of effects. It would be really great for "ambient noise" artists. You could play a whole set on pretty much one instance of Alchemy.

As far a synthesizing sounds though this is far from the best on the market. The additive, granular and spectral features all feel a little bit like decoration. They only seem good for crunching up the sound and making it more atonal and ambient. I'd probably look elsewhere for leads and basses etc.

I don't really like the grey old GUI that much but I've definitely seen worse out there.

I think Alchemy does something that no other synth does and that's a good thing.

Reviewed By biomekk [read all by] on 26th August 2013
Version reviewed: win7 on Windows.
Last edited by biomekk on 26th August 2013.
9.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've had Alchemy for about half a year now. I must say, I really got my money's worth.

I found it very stable and reasonably CPU friendly. Often my tracks contains 4-5 instances of Alchemy. It covers almost every sound I need. Especially nowadays when I'm into more "hard to describe" organic sounds. If I'd be looking for the typical "massive unison sawtooth chord stabbing sounds" that are heard on the radio today I'd probably choose a different plugin. But of course It can do that to If needed.

The enormous possibilities and the GUI to handle all this is actually very good. Here the Youtube tutorials helped me a lot. The librarian and the way the patches can be organized is fully adequate. (Spend those extra seconds to name and tag your favorites and you will be rewarded ;).

I won't go through all the possibilities, cause there's so much and nothing is missing. A few highlights though:

You can save the" building blocks" of a sound for later use in other sounds. Oscillator settings. LFO's, envelopes, effects can be saved into their own little libraries. Such a simple thing as copy all settings from one oscillator to another is very useful. With this in mind - a majority of the presets, both the built in and the one you can purchase, are often very complex. There's a lot going on when you press a key. Impressive? Yes. But sometimes i'ts just to much according to my taste. With the ability to save certain parts of a sound It's easy to build your own version.

The "Remix sound" feature - control a bunch of parameters in one go.

It sounds great...and bad in a good way when needed. For example the resynthesis methods can sound almost natural but also like vintage digital gear. (PPG, Emulator etc). Perhaps the VA synthesis lacks some of the really low end but that's not really a problem since it does everything else so well.

The free Alchemy player gives me the possibility to duplicate everything on a laptop used for live use. (without having to force the bands keyboard player to buy the full version).

The support is good. Emails are replied and the product is updated now and then. Wich gives you as a customer a positive impression of the company.

Reviewed By Unfocused [read all by] on 10th June 2011
Version reviewed: 1.20.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Unfocused on 11th June 2011.
9.00
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Alchemy is one of my “go to” instruments. I use it for everything: pop/rock (the bulk of it), film scoring, electronic... everything. In fact I *only* use Alchemy and FM8, with a little bit of Reaktor to fill in the cracks, for "synth" sources.

I started with the demo and fell in love with its sound character. Alchemy's additive engine is great, and in combination with the spectral engine, makes the re-synthesis phenomenal, but there are a few things that need to be capitalized on to take it to a really usable level. I have a Kawai K5000S, which is what attracted me to Alchemy in the first place. Two things the K5k have, and which Alchemy could really use, are: (1) velocity-switching per source--there was a "hard" and "soft" spectrum per additive source with selectable velocity switching curves. That's really useful for creating very expressive keys. (2) The K5k also shipped with Emagic's SoundDiver, which had a really useful GUI for getting into the additive engine. Each spectrum had 4 associated boxes representing the partial level's ADSR envelope. You could easily see and edit what each partial's time evolution was in relation to all partials' evolution at a single glance. Granted the ADSR GUI described wouldn't exactly work in Alchemy because you can have a user defined number of envelope break points, but this is the *kind* of visualization tool that might be helpful in getting the most out of the additive engine. There are also some very interesting handling tools in NI’s new Razor ensemble for Reaktor. A new visualization/interface paradigm is really needed to take these engines to the next level. That being said, Alchemy is still very fun to use in its current incarnation, even if the editor is kind of clunky.

Other than the additive/spectral engines, I’ve been quite surprised by the other sound generating capacities of Alchemy. I absolutely love the VA engine! While the GUI took some getting used to compared to other VA’, the sound is fantastic, and there are some really neat modulation possibilities that are unavailable on other synths—try using the “VA/additive” mode and stack multiple saw waves in the additive editor, with different phases/detuning, then manipulate the symmetry using any number of unique performance-based modulation sources. Very interesting… As a matter of fact I only use Alchemy and Reaktor for VA duties now. Alchemy is a joy to program in VA mode, once you understand the GUI.

Another surprise is the sampler/granular mode. Granular is very powerful, useful, and innovative. A breeze to use. However, sampler mode (and by association granular) disappoints me somewhat. Alchemy is marketed as "the ultimate sample manipulation tool." Part of manipulation is playing the right sample under pre-defined conditions. To this end, it would be extremely helpful if Alchemy included an audio editing tool as well. Also, a graphical sample mapper, even a simple 2D sample map (velocity and key range) is good enough for me just to make it easy to load up your own sample map. I want a graphic representation of the zone, not a difficult to use drop down list. Then I'd have no reason to use anything else! Perhaps my disappointment with sampler/granular engine has more to do with the sample sets that I’ve used in Alchemy. I’d like to see higher quality detailed sample libraries as mangle-fodder. Things like round robin, extreme velocity layers, multisampling, and even keyswitching/scripting would put this over the top for me [edit: I suppoze the sfz format supports much of this, but I don't see a lot of evidence of its use in the Alchemy preset libraries I have]. To show this capability, Alchemy needs more bread and butter presets. I have GPO (which I like a lot), but have been eyeing the ProjectSAM stuff. I'd love to have something along those lines for Alchemy. If Alchemy was truly the "ultimate sample manipulation synthesizer," I might also be able to pare down my straight sample libraries with their multitude of third-party sample players. For me, if Alchemy just had a basic sample editor and decent mapping GUI, it would also become my *sampler* of choice. How hard is it to make a "Kontakt killer?"

The manual is useful and the growing selection of video tutorials (free! Hear that Cakewalk?) are excellent and have helped me grow in the right places! Customer support is some of the best in the business. I love the Camel Audio team—they have always been prompt, polite, and helpful with respect to my questions and requests. You can’t go wrong with Alchemy!
Reviewed By Resonator63 [read all by] on 2nd June 2011
Version reviewed: 1.20.1 on Windows
10.00
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
If you're looking for a vsti that can make the sounds that are there in your imagination,look no further,you've just found it.
The possibilities appear to be endless.I've not had it long so i've barely scratched the surface.It's going to take me sometime to get to grips with,but I know it's going to be worth it.

The interface:
The interface has a nice logical layout that is easy to follow inspite of the complex sounds that Alchemy is capable of.
The default factory skin is nice.But personally I prefer the alternative Nightshade skin.

Sound:
Wow!!! just going through the supplied presets offers a jaw dropping array of epic pads,bass,leads you name it.Being able to import samples and SFZ and resynthesize them offers the chance to create some really unique sounds.

Features:
VA,additive,spectral,granular synthesis on offer.31 different filter types.
Camelphat distortion algorithms.16 effects including those from Camelphat and Camelspace.Amazing modulation possibilites.What more can you ask for.

Documentation:
There is a good manual which i'm using a lot at the moment as I get to grips with Alchemy.There are also some excellent video tutorials available on the Camel Audio website.

Presets:
675 presets from some top sound designers.There are some superb sounds.If you don't want to roll your own then further sound libraries are also available for purchase.Just going through the presets can be inspiring.

Customer support:
Absolutely superb.Great support by email and also on the forum here on KVR.
I had a problem downloading and installing the presets and samples.The guys at Camel soon sorted it out for me.

Value for money:
Alchemy can acheive pretty much any sound you can imagine,so it's great value for money.

Stability:
I've had no stability issues so far.Seems to be rock solid.

If you want to try it out download the demo or to get a taste of the sounds Alchemy player is free.Give it a try.You won't regret it.
Reviewed By mikusan [read all by] on 31st May 2011
Version reviewed: 1.20 on Windows
10.00
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
As a long-time fan of Cameleon5000, I didn’t need much persuasion to buy Alchemy. So I’ve been an Alchemy user since day one, and I still haven’t heard every single remix variation...
For sound design, this is a monster synth with virtual analogue, sample-based (it’s also SFZ-compatible), additive, granular and spectral synthesis types available per Source. Up to four of these Sources using any of these synthesis types can be combined into a single preset. Then you can start morphing between the sources. Then you can start modulating just about everything else. The modulation possibilities are extensive to say the least, making this a very expressive instrument.
Speaking of performance, up to eight performance variations (subtle or not so subtle) of the preset can be associated with remix pads, and the sound can be morphed between remix variations.
FX: the delays, filters, distortion and compression use the famed CamelSpace and CamelPhat engines, plus modulation fx and there’s a very classy, natural-sounding Reverb.
The potential of this synth is, in the proper sense of the word, awesome. Indeed, it can lead to some ‘where-do-I-start’ head scratching when you start tweaking. But help is at hand in the form of a well-written, exhaustive manual. There’s also a growing library of tutorial videos, covering everything from the basics to deeper subjects like granular synthesis.
But you don’t have to be a programming genius to enjoy this synth – check out the sound library where all the hard work has been done for you by an excellent team of sound designers.
Reviewed By rockbottom [read all by] on 31st May 2011
Version reviewed: 1.20.1 on Mac.
Last edited by rockbottom on 31st May 2011.
10.00
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I've been using Alchemy since 2009. Yes, I was first attracted by the plethora of presets it offered: we are talking about more than 650 factory presets, which means about 8 times that number of different sounds, right out of the box, thanks to its famous 'remix pad' that morphs between the performance settings of each of these presets... and not counting the multiple intermediate sounds that can be frozen during morphing transitions. Yet there are so many add-on packs I haven't purchased, I'm not sure I'll ever grasp the potential variety of sounds it can yield solely from its presets... I mean, using the Alchemy player only!

Now for designing sounds you won't hear anywhere else, Alchemy has become my favorite workhorse — that was easy, since no other plug offers five synthesis engines at this level of sophistication...

Admittedly, for pure sound design work, there will always be dedicated synthesizers or samplers that each does a fraction of what Alchemy can do: but even if you definitely know which kind of synthesis method will produce the result you're after, there's always an opportunity to refine the sound with the subtle personality of each of Alchemy's 31 modeled filters; moreover the flexible modulation system is second to none!

Ah, but tell me: this is only synth programming, hence heavily depending on what's inside the synth... Well, you don't have to stop there: for actual sound design, Alchemy is excellent at re-synthesis and additive stuff...

Alright, U&I Software's Metasynth does similar sound processing, but since it's no plug-in, the sound texture proper cannot be manipulated while playing, as can be done with Alchemy; and together with real-time modulation capabilities, this remains one of the keys to musically expressive phrases: as demonstrated by those 'Alchemistry' tapes from Simon Stockhausen on his 'patchpool' web page.

Other products, like Image Line's Morphine, cannot pretend they're able to achieve the same goals, because the quality of additive synthesis depends on two factors: the partials (harmonic or inharmonic) on the one one hand, and the noise component on the other — Morphine, for instance, has predefined 'constant' noises that can be added to the body of partials, but these noises are only good for providing a typical attack to a blowed or bowed instrument sound... not for actually emulating complex spectral evolutions like what's occurring, for example, at the time a bell is hit!
Reviewed By LeVzi [read all by] on 12th November 2009
Version reviewed: 1.11.14 on Windows
10.00
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I've owned Alchemy since the day of it's release, and it's only now i've decided to review it here, mainly due to the fact that it has literally never ceased to amaze me in what it can do. During the early days when i'd fire it up and just try things, you could spend endless hours playing with what seems like unlimited synthesis options. Some people will get this purely for it's VA options, but it does so much more. What amazes me with Alchemy is that you can setup what you may think is a good sound, and then realise there are so many more ways to improve it, just by using some of Alchemy's many modulation options alone. Not to mention the filters, of which there are many. It's sample mangling power is unsurpassed in my honest opinion, it does everything you could throw at it in that area, and then some. The Spectral and additive sections are again very in depth and infinitely tweakable with Alchemy's vast array of modulation options and filters, effects, you name it.

It really is what it says on the tin, a true Hybrid, as it does handle samples, yet you can use it to create your own synth sounds from scratch, it's GUI is very well laid out and very easy to understand. The snapshop/morphing options are something you'll find very interesting, as that allows you to take various snapshots of sounds/synth setups, whatever, and literally morph between them, which can be unreal. Camel Audio have literally piled in everything into this plugin, there is nothing left out. The effects section alone is of an extremely high quality as you'd expect from the creators of Camelspace & Camelphat.

I cannot recommend this plugin enough to any producer/sound creator, or just someone who enjoys doing something different. Alchemy will not only deal with anything from a "Supersaw" to a spectral square.

Each and everytime I open Alchemy, not only is it a pleasure to work with, not only does it allow me to be that little bit different, it allows me to go deeper into synthesis than i've been before, as it really is that good.

Camel have set a new high in plugin quality with this animal, alchemy will be the front runner for plugins for many years to come, maybe by which time, Alchemy 2 will be ready.
Reviewed By dune_rave [read all by] on 12th July 2009
Version reviewed: 1.10 on Windows
10.00
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Alchemy is one of the most powerful "hybrid" synths at the moment: It's a bit Absynth-like, but can load SFZ and has several synthesis methods and a very easy-to-use modulation system. All knowledge of Camel-Audio has been put into this software: It can do everything, that Cameleon5000 did (the previous flagship synth of Camel-Audio), and has much more : several effects from camelphat and camelspace plugins plus some new. However, currently it is not possible to load cameleon5000 presets into Alchemy, but it's on the wish-list, and this feature will be achieved in the future updates. Advertised as "the ultimate sample manipulation synthesizer" I think they made a little mistake: they don't highlight the importance of the different synthesis methods - Alchemy can perform very vell without samples...
The Graphical interface is clear and now exists in different colors (for me the original fits best). Alchemy has a detailed manual that even describes how to program things that worked in cameleon5000. The software comes with 2GB factory sound content - It is really cool that Camel-Audio did keep this "factory size" not too large, I think it's horrible, when you have to install a huge software from several dvds. There's no annoying protection or validation, installing is easy. One last word about the presets: each of them can contain 8 version thanx to the "remix pad". With this 1.10 version come several bonus presets - Camel-Audio listened to the voice of the users saying they need some other presets beyond the existing ones. The product support is professional, I mean C.A. does several things online and users can participate in the development of the software.
Reviewed By muLperi [read all by] on 11th July 2009
Version reviewed: 1.10.6 on Windows
10.00
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Alchemy really is a "synth powerhouse", very deep and you can achieve
for example huge complex pads and drones with ease.
Alchemy features additive, spectral, granular, resynthesis, analog modelling.... Actually I had to do some studying because I wasn't familiar with all of them before. That's also one good thing about Alchemy, you can learn and try many different styles of synthesis.

The interface: CamelAudio really has done great job designing an intuitive interface. Perform controls, X/Y Pads and 8 Morph Pads (like Kore) are just perfect for altering the sound and for live use as well. You can go to "SIMPLE" mode where only the Perform controls are visible.
It's easy to do modulation routings, just right click a knob and that's it.

The sound and features: What can I say, it sounds great. It's very interesting to import your own samples and just resynthesize the crap out of them. It can produce supersaw in a second if you like trance :D
I think Alchemy has everything I need. The sound is built from 1-4 "Sources" that can be an imported audio file or a basic waveform produced by Alchemys analog modelling engine. Alchemy comes with actually a quite good 2 gigabyte sample library that can be mangled in many different ways.

Presets: With the free bonus preset update I think presets are perfect now.
Actually I always try to build my sounds from scratch so they were always good to me.

Support and stability: The CamelAudio crew is almost always online and you can get help from their forum here on KVR or by email.
I've only had one problem and it was with the Alchemy installer. I'm from Finland and I am using Windows in Finnish language and the installer didn't understand that my license key file was in directory called "Työpöytä" and not Desktop :D But that was fixed easily. No crashes or anything.

Value for money: Alchemy really is one of a kind. There's nothing quite like it on the market so in my opinion it's worth the money.

Try the demo!

Latest 11 reviews from a total of 11

Discussion: Disabled

Discussion

26 October 2013 at 8:56amariston

@rosko: Why do I get the feeling that you didn't spend a lot of time with Alchemy (or Absynth)? Almost everything you wrote is dead wrong. "The additive features" only seem good for "crunching up the sound"? That is wrong on so many levels I wouldn't even know where to begin to explain exactly how wrong it is. And as for being geared towards huge soundscapes and not good for leads and basses... again, doh.

There's a saying that a review tells more about the critic than it does about the object being reviewed. This review tells me that you have no idea what you're talking about.

26 October 2013 at 8:57pmCubehog

Rosko12, please be more patient and try to understand what these synths are. Both offer so much more than the regular subtractive synths. Thus they are complex environments. You discourage people to try these synths.

From a music listener's view I'd like to hear more creative sounds. These two synths can surely deliver and in the right hands they can be used for very organized sound design.

Zebra can also be reviewed. If I take it with humor than this can turn out to be quite funny.

Good luck.

29 October 2013 at 2:43amplenz

This is the same "quality" of "review" as he did for Absynth.

29 October 2013 at 11:58amUser3333

Guys leaving aside the merit of the review how good is Alchemy against other VST synths over $200. Is it more similar to Absynth or Razor (or not)? If you had low latency with a MIDI controller keyboard would it compare well to the latest hardware synthesisers?

29 October 2013 at 12:20pmT-CM11

Why don't you try the demo? Isn't there enough written here & elsewhere about it?

Which latest hardware synthesisers? The MS20 Mini? Korg Volca? Pulse2?

4 November 2013 at 2:34pmUser3333

T-CM I was comparing Alchemy with the recent Access Virus and Nord Lead 4.

4 November 2013 at 2:55pmT-CM11

The Virus TI2 is not that recent anymore ;-)

Personally, I wouldn't get Alchemy based on it's VA sound. I would prefer the NL4 for that (not that I can afford one). But it can do so much more that the NL4 can't. I'd compare it more with a Roland V-Synth...

29 October 2013 at 4:03pmsnigelx

@User3333 Watch these nice videos and make an informed buying decision (bonus, if you skim over them manual while demoing the synth). I do not think you will be the least disappointed.

Alchemy Tutorial Videos by Dan Worrall: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DodjQ9UUOmA&list=PL3C6594A994B13A64

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

29 October 2013 at 12:52pmSarahBellum

I tried out the demo's of Absynth, Omnisphere, and Alchemy - I bought Alchemy because it has the most scope and was also the best value for money. (Razor isn't in the same league as these three giants).

As a Rompler there are hundreds of presets to tweak, and cheap Soundbanks packs specific to particular genre's. It's a powerful 4-part multi-synth in it's own right with multiple Filters, LFO's, EG's, and Seq's etc so (if you know how to program) making your own sounds from scratch is a dream (a lot easier than Absynth). It's Virtual Analogue engine is brilliant for making classic authentic vintage sounds, and it has a great effects section.

But the winning features for me were being able to morph in real-time between 8 sub-presets with an X-Y pad (I use a nanopad 2), and being able to load Wavs and SFZ's and then resynthesise them (you can't do that in Omnisphere) - i use Chicken System Translator to convert SF2's, Kontakt banks and Sampletank banks to SFZ's, drop them in Alchemy and then take them to weird and wonderful places :)

Alchemy has replaced almost all of my other synths - try the demo for yourself and get the free Alchemy player (it also loads Wavs and SFZ's)

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

31 October 2013 at 6:52pmslowdazzzle

Where to begin ? :).....I tested Alchemy Demo, which I loved and have been using just the player with Camel Sound Libraries for now and plan to upgrade soon. I can make almost any sound, style, effect with just the player and it's various ways to morph the sound, better than a lot of synths I own. The full synth is a universe of possibilities no other synth can offer. I might add that Alchemy also includes CamelP.hat and CamelSpace..!! Right now Groove3 training tutorials site is offering one on Alchemy by Lawrence Holcomb for $30, ( recently on sale for $10 ) which is fantastic as are all their tutorials. Camel Audio has superb customer service, often directly from the sound designers themselves, within a day or less. I recommend highly Alchemy and Camel Audio to anyone interested in creating fine synhesized sounds.

4 November 2013 at 2:31pmUser3333

Hello I love the look and sound of Alchemy and originally I had it as my first VST synth to purchase and I would build others around it to complement. But the acquisition of Komplete 9 Standard and with Razor I would probably be looking at getting Alchemy later. Razor also has a vocoder which many of the leaders in Ominsphere, Sylenth, nor Synthmaster don't have I'm guessing apart from resynthesis. My lineup is all the ones in Komplete 9 standard, Padshop Pro, Retrologue, and others in Cubase and Sonar LE which is more than enough to keep me going for years without needing to look elsewhere you would reckon? Sarah why did you buy Razor when you have Alchemy?

23 December 2013 at 9:36amSvarg

Hello,.

I'm new to Alchemy, using the demo right now but plan to get the full version.

I was wondering, there are third party presets and samples out there (online) to use in Alchemy and they work fine, but is there a way to incorporate them into the rest of my presets so they will show up in the browser with the others?

Thanks.

23 December 2013 at 10:16amSarahBellum

there are some available in the downloads section of the registered users area on Camels site.

the are some cheap soundbanks out there, eg - http://www.yuroun-sounddesign.com/products/soundbanks/ - click on Alchemy

Alchemy can load any SFZ banks

:)

23 December 2013 at 5:02pmSvarg

Yes, I know. I have that very one as well as some others. My question is, can they be incorporated into the preset DB so that they show in the browser?

I will try to chase down where the "stock" presets reside. Maybe if I move the new ones to there. . .

Thanks for your reply.

23 December 2013 at 5:09pmZenPunkHippy

Presets installed to the proper location will show up in the preset browser after scanning for new presets (on the Alchemy File menu). If you need info about where presets are found, the best thing to do is contact support [at] camelaudio [dot] com with some details about which OS + host you are using.

23 December 2013 at 5:45pmGuy Richardson

If you're on a Mac the path is MacintoshHD>Library>Application Support>Camel Audio>Alchemy - inside this folder is a number of files. Look for one called samples and another called presets. Inside both you will find folders named after various sound designers plus the factory set. Make a folder in each for your own stuff and save your samples and presets in the appropriate folders. Sorry I don't know the windows path but I imagine it's similar. Once done your presets will show up in the browser.

23 December 2013 at 5:56pmT-CM11

it's not similar at all! ;-) (I don't remember where the default was, I installed (or moved) the presets to my own location.)

23 December 2013 at 6:07pmZenPunkHippy

The default location on Windows is:

C:\ProgramData\Camel Audio\Alchemy

(you can access it from the Start Menu under "Camel Audio"

24 December 2013 at 5:11amSvarg

Thanks everyone. I'm running Windows 7 so it's probably where ZPH said. Maybe I'll see about moving them to my own location like T-CM11 but for now I'll be happy just being able to get them into the system.

Thanks again.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

15 February 2014 at 1:27pmsyndicat

Hi,.

does anyone have news about an AAX64 plugin format update for Alchemy (and i.e. other Camelaudio products)? I assume there are many Alchemy / Camelaudio users out hardly awaiting an AAX64 version for Pro Tools 11 as Camelaudio's products are some of the last which are not still ported to AAX64 / Pro Tools 11.

Many thanks for any hint or info.

cheerioh,.

Niels.

9 March 2014 at 1:02pmChamMusic

Definitely my favourite VST sound design environment of the last 12 months, (and I also own Kontakt 5 and Reaktor).

https://soundcloud.com/chameleon-music/clockwork-angels.

All sounds come from Alchemy by Camel Audio - just 2 patches + plenty of modulation using those X / Y pads. (Sounds were designed by Martin Walker and Simon Stockhausen).

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

4 November 2014 at 10:16amdigiteaser

wanted to drop by and say this is my fav synth plug as of now (as quite some people i guess :), asi became a member newly.

also love camel audio, their environmentalist campaigns etc.

Discussions have been disabled for this item.

Alchemy

Average user rating of 9.64 from 11 reviews

Camel Audio
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
482 people have added Alchemy to 26 My KVR groups 626 times
+21 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 33  29  33

30-Day: 47; 7-Day: 56; Yesterday: 49

Advertisements