Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New @ What is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for Bazille

Rate & Review Bazille Now!

10.00
Reviewed By Sycopation on 16th December 2015
OS: Version: 7.
Last edited by Sycopation on 16th December 2015.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

I am not a super experienced synthesist, so I will not try to give a techy review. I'll leave that to the people who know more and care more. This review is way more subjective and opinion-based.

I primarily use presets (with some tweaking to taste), and this synth does not disappoint with the presets. I've spent 3+ hours going through favoriting all the ones I like and I'm still not even halfway through. But that's what we call one of those good problems. Tastes vary, and these things are very subjective, but I like a higher percentage of presets in Bazille than in any other synth.

Simply put, I just love the sound of this synth. It probably has just about the most unique sound of any synth I've used, and I've tried 50+. It just has a "je ne sais quoi" (to use a douchey French word) that I've not heard anywhere else. Just playing it and listening to it makes me feel... I don't know... nostalgic... or maybe pensive is the right word. I have an affinity for sounds that are vaguely retro-ish and analogue, especially patches that sound like e-pianos. Or anything that sounds vaguely like bells, tuned percussion, or any other sound where it's hard to say for sure if it's natural or synth. This synth does all those very convincingly. To me it's more "organic" and analogue than even Diva. Which is really important to me, because I really dislike the extremely digital-sounding synths you hear in a lot of EDM and electronica these days. I definitely like a more retro sound, and Bazille really hit the spot for me. It just sounds nice in a way different from most other synths I've used, including the other u-he synths. At first I was afraid that Bazille would be redundant since I already have ACE, Diva and Zebra, but it most definitely has its own character and unique strengths. In the course of a week or two it shot to the top of my list, above ACE, Diva, Absynth, Zebra, everything. I'll still use those other bad boys lots (I still can't find anything that beats Diva for fat analogue bass), but this is the first thing I'll try for most things, especially chords and leads.

As I said, I don't do much patching myself, but the more I learn about patching, the more I appreciate the visual, modular nature of Bazille (as well as ACE). Much more than any other softsynth I've used, these two synths make it very easy to follow the signal flow, because the patch cords create a visual map. Either of these would be a fine choice for someone that was trying to learn synthesis from the ground up. I will definitely concentrate on these two as I continue to learn more about synthesis.

I really only have two "sort of" complaints about this synth. As with almost all u-he products (especially Diva and ACE), Bazille will do cruel things to your CPU. Bad, unkind things. Just don't even mess with any of them if you don't have a computer less than three years old with a minimum of an i5. And even if your rig can handle it, you still will probably want to render or freeze most instances. It's that bad. One single instance can spike your CPU, and 2-3 will almost for sure take too big of a bite even on a big rig. The other complaint also applies to all u-he products. I really wish they would switch to a preset browser like you see in Massive, Absynth or Synthmaster. This would be especially helpful in a synth with 1,700 presets! But they stuck with the same format for their newest synth, Hive, so I'm not holding my breath that this will change.

Overall, great synth. Try it for yourself. I DLed the demo pretty much out of boredom, not having any real intention of buying it. Then two weeks later I just had to do it. It won me over.

7.00
Reviewed By CLAMM on 5th December 2015
OS: Version: 7.
Last edited by CLAMM on 5th December 2015.
3 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Hi There, I've been programming, recording, building, and messing with patchable synths for over 40 years now, so I was probably doing this before a lot of you DJ dudes were born. So I was really excited to try out a VST synthesizer that was designed to be patched from the ground up--it's not that common I think, at least not in a lot of plug ins I've seen, which either have no patch cords at all (like 99.9% of them) or are "hard wired" with internal architecture that can be overridden by patch cords, like Arturia's 2600V. Or maybe I'm not trying out enough VSTs?

Anyway:

First thing I think anyone has to consider in any synth VST is the sound. Doh! I guess it's not a given that a modular VST should sound analog, but, since patching is analog and very old school, I think it needs to. You might disagree? Anyway, based on that, Bazille sounds analog to me, but not the killer "fat analog sound" of say Electra2 or AAS Ultra Analog. I want a 2600/Moog modular sound for the VCO's and VCF's but I didn't quite get that!! It's the sound you hear Tomita or ELP or Edgar Winter recordings use. That what I want here. So forget all the F/X for a minute. OK for that I give Baz about a 5 out of 10. especially in light of how much CPU it uses I want more fat! But if you're not into emulating old gear, maybe that doesn't matter to you? Anyway, for me that's always the top consideration; we're making sounds after all right?

Second thing onto the ability to make F/X sounds, which I think is what most folks would use this plug in for. For that it's damn good, I give it maybe an 8 out of 10. There are plenty of modules to work with, and a really cool "patch programmable" mult section that would make Don Buchla smile. I have a few gripes though. The biggest one is a lack of a way to go "directly out" of something like a VCO to the audio I/O of your PC. As far as I can tell, you have to go through the "output" module, which seems to function as a dual VCA. OK, fine, but here's the big problem: the VCA output can only be modulated by the ADSR's or a gate.

So I found myself sticking matchsticks into my keyboard to make the F/X "continually fire". How about the ability to plug CV directly into the output module, turning the VCA on all the time? That was the biggest omission I could see to this plug in, and unless I am missing something big here, it's a really big omission. It forces the programmer to think too "conventionally". At least that's my take.

Third how it's laid out. There are two skins here: I liked the default one a lot better. High marks here. It can get very hard to keep things straight when you are up to your knees in patch cords, but I think Bazille does a good job of keeping things sane. Kudos to the deveolopers for that, I figured they worked very hard on the UX for this VST and it shows.

OK some other minor gripes: Modules need to have more modulation inputs (you can mix things of course, and use one output to feed multiple inputs, but I didn't think there were enough mults or mixers either). The VCO's frequency (setting the pitch of the VCO, commonly 1V/octave in the analog world) only has one CV in; the Arp 2600 has more than this and since we want to make complex sounds, more inputs for everything is always better, especially critical things like VCO frequency or VCF cutoff. OK, you don't want to clutter up the modules, fine; so give me a lot more mults and a lot more pots for simple tweaks to the CV.

And, for a big synth that takes a lot of CPU, I would have liked to see more filter options, such as vocal formants, and more effects like a vocoder. How about the ability to patch the effects into a chain vs. only having them at output?

But really the main thing is, fix the output, or at least make it easier to have your sound "always on". But if you check out the preprogrammed sounds, there is some really interesting stuff, and if you screw around with the demo for a couple of hours, you can make killer analog sounding F/X with this synth (again stick a match stick in your keyboard or loop a MIDI whole note on your sequencer, as a workaround). But overall I still think this is a really good plug in. If the VCA section alone was improved I'd give this VST an 8. For now, I give it a 7, and hope the developers keep trying to improve this synth. It's ambitious and it's a whole lot of fun, except for the matchstick thing.

9.00
Reviewed By kcd1961 on 30th September 2014
OS: Version: 7.
Last edited by kcd1961 on 30th September 2014.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

I have been playing with the Beta for about a month, and version 1.0 has just landed. It claims to be a monster from the deep, and it is. It just sounds great. It does two main types of synthesis (classic subtractive and Phase Modulation [FM]). It does not do Hard Sync, but does a similar sounding, and more versatile thing called "Fractal Synthesis". It does PWM but you need to learn how to patch a modular to do it - it is not hard wired. Ring and AM are also possible as is limited wavesequencing and waveshaping, but you'll need to read the manual to figure out how.

While it does not have "unlimited" modules, it has enough to make you smile and bring your CPU to its knees. The most fun are the 8x16 step sequencers and the Mapping Generators that can be used to generate custom modulations or oscillator shapes. All the important MIDI/Controller functions and a few wierd ones can be routed to any module.

The inbuilt effects are a mixed bag. The Delay sounds great with independent Mid/Side controls. The distortion has some interesting flavours but may not do everything you want in the tone mangling department. The Pre and post distortion slope controls and the Low and High shelving mean the Distortion unit actually functions as a quite powerful tone control at low levels. The spring reverb is springy, sometimes useful but more flavours would be nice. However, don't whinge, be a hero and use an external reverb if you need it. That's why I rated it 9, rather than 10.

You can argue about whether it sounds analog or digital, but to me, it just sounds great. It has 1700 presets included as well as extras through the website and forums. But the real fun is dragging those cables yourself and making your own sounds.

While it is CPU intensive, it is not as bad as it could be. It runs OK on an i5 provided you use all the tricks (limited voices, HQ off and multicore on or off according to your computer). Unison (stacked) voices with big chords and long releases will crush your CPU - be ready to bounce/freeze.

Bazille has made sound design fun again. Here's a short sample of some ambient sound effect stuff: https://soundcloud.com/marv_from_dapto/bazilledemo.

Latest 3 reviews from a total of 3

Discussion: Active

Discussion

12 May 2014 at 5:56pmnr1killabee

Finally it's there :)

12 May 2014 at 7:31pmgabrielefx

YEAH.

12 May 2014 at 10:28pmdlandis

But where does one buy it? The U-he Bazille page looks for all the world like it has yet to be released....

Maybe tomorrow?

13 May 2014 at 12:48amdlandis

Gotcha. Thanks much.

28 May 2014 at 8:20pmrobotsound

Does anyone else notice the pitch getting a little weird when using the fractal resonance?

28 May 2014 at 8:31pmUrs

If you post an example in the public beta thread I'm sure it'll be cleared up shortly :)

30 May 2014 at 5:29amcapracan

egal ^^...its useable now and later, and i can load it up again when fullversion is coming...but why it will clear up...

6 November 2014 at 10:58pmsunnypedaal

Any possibility ahead to add stereo external stereo in beyond the effect section ?

for me that'll be the thing to wait for, the thing that'll make him complete and the true. modular.

please.

11 February 2016 at 3:35pmoskin

Hey! i use only Bazille here ;) https://soundcloud.com/alexoskin/oskin-u-he-bazille-only.

Please log in to join the discussion

Bazille

Average user rating of 8.67 from 3 reviews

u-he
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
205 people have added Bazille to 15 My KVR groups 279 times
+9 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 335  239  327

30-Day: 405; 7-Day: 550; Yesterday: 164

Advertisements