Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New

User Reviews by KVR Members for Blue Cat's PatchWork

Rate & Review Blue Cat's PatchWork Now!

Reviewed By mindbeet [read all by] on 9th November 2017
Version reviewed: 2.1 on Mac
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've had this baby for a long time. I've used it as a wrapper in Protools, Logic and Bitwig and lately as a Standalone VST host on my second PC and in live situations. It's the kind of tool that you at first wish you didn't need, that works in the background and that you just set and forget. All these different plugin standards are really annoying and even if this is a solution It's hard to get very excited about it, until now.

The latest version 2.1 is fantastic. Built in effects, metering, undo/redo, M/S, PatchWork within PatchWork!!, scaleable GUI to 200%, lockable GUI and settings between presets. Add to that full MIDI control and that everything, even window states and positions are saved within presets and you've got a winner. The new preset handling especially is what makes this update so exciting.

This has grown into a full fledged creative tool and the core of my setup. Working with several DAWs I can now set it up as a channel strip and move freely between DAWs like never before. It loads every plugin format on Mac and PC, can be loaded as every format and works as Standalone.

From being a bridge between plugin formats Blue Cat has improved on this concept and taken it beyond what I thought it could be. It's stable, easy on the CPU, easy to use and even though it's not perfect I have to give it a 10 just to let you know how incredibly useful it is. There is nothing quite like it at the moment, highly recommended.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Discussion: Active

Discussion

18 January 2014 at 9:20amshadows

This could be a big answer for those who switch between multiple DAWs for clients but want access to complex programming of instruments and effects easily. I use Logic X, Cubase 7.5, Live 9 (all Mac) and Samplitude/Sequoia (PC). I'll get back once I can play with it in my various rigs and see if presets can work well, especially on different OSes.

12 March 2014 at 11:00amTechFlow

No vst3 support= massive fail for me. DDMF Metaplugin DOES offer vst3 support. I bought this software (Blue Cat Patchwork) & I feel ripped off as there was no mention anywhere of vst3 support being excluded. Blue Cat's support team haven't offered a solution pointing me towards the vendor I purchased from to get a refund (who will prob blame Blue Cat). It is an absolute short-fall in the program & omitting one of the most popular plug-in formats makes it virtually unusable for me.

Nameless Blue Cat support, "resources are limited", "you should've used demo", "contact vendor for refund".

12 March 2014 at 11:16amBlue Cat Audio

We are sorry that you feel ripped off. I you had purchased the plug-in from us we could have issued a refund, but we do not have control over the other resellers you may purchase the software from.

26 July 2014 at 4:46pmVisionaudio

Sorry for a nuubi question but I'm a bit confused. I recently saw a post in Pro Tools Expert that claimed the Empirical Labs Dstressor plug-in (RTAS 32) would run in PT 11 inside Patchwork. If that runs, will Auto-Tune_Evo_RTAS also run inside patchwork in PT 11? Thanks! Bill.

26 July 2014 at 6:44pmsyndicat

Yes, it seems you are a bit confused: Blue Cat's patchwork adaptor allows running VST and AU plugin types "as" AAX/AAX64 (PT 10/11) and in other types of hosts / DAWs. It is not a RTAS -> AAX64 adaptor. Means; sou are able to run the VST and/or AU version of Antares AutoTune in Pro Tools 11, but not the RTAS version.

but: The current AutoTune is available as AAX64 too - needs no adaptor to run it in PT 10 and 11 and if you have a AutoTune license afaik you are allowed to download and run each of the plugin variants. If you have an older license you may choose the VST or AU version of your AutoTune version to use it within Patchwork. So it is not clear what's your real problem here ß)

28 July 2014 at 10:03amBlue Cat Audio

Thanks for replying.

7 July 2015 at 11:46ambobbyquine

Sorry for an ignorant question but i wonder whether Patchwork can input audio independent of the host DAW? I'd like to use it as a VST in Synfire, a strange program that has no audio input routing. Many thanks...B.

7 July 2015 at 11:51amBlue Cat Audio

Blue Cat's PatchWork does not have external MIDI or Audio inputs. It is designed to only get the audio and MIDI data from the host application.

7 July 2015 at 11:56ambobbyquine

ok thanks for the quick reply! B.

Please log in to join the discussion

Blue Cat's PatchWork

Average user rating of 10.00 from 1 review

Blue Cat Audio
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
60 people have added Blue Cat's PatchWork to 8 My KVR groups 73 times
+3 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 491  363  480

30-Day: 182; 7-Day: 108; Yesterday: 149

Advertisements