Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Crazy Diamonds

Rate & Review Crazy Diamonds Now!

Reviewed By Funkybot [read all by] on 13th January 2003
Version reviewed: 1.6 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Crazy Diamonds is another one of those very small specialized softsynths that only attempt to do one thing, in this case it's capture the sound and vibe of a Solina String Ensemble. It's not alone in this respect, as Big Tick's Cheese Machine attempts the same thing, and I must say that both of these synths though specialized, do what they do very well, while still sounding unique. Crazy Diamonds sounds a little more vintage than Cheese Machine, and seems better at quickly reproducing those classic String Ensemble sounds as it has the organ-esque sound of the Solina's. Crazy Diamonds also allows for more control over the sound than Cheese Machine which is nice, but doesn't take away from the quality of the latter. If you're looking for some cool simple vintage string/pad sounds, then you owe it to yourself to download both, but don't expect either to do much more than that. Also experiment with layering these sounds with different string sounds, either from other synths, or samples for even more fun. I love simple, and specialized VSTi's, as long as they do that task well, and Crazy Diamonds fits the bill. Of all the freeware that has come and gone from my VST Plug-ins folder Crazy Diamonds has been a constant.
Reviewed By synthgeek [read all by] on 12th November 2002
Version reviewed: 1.7 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Like Mr. Progfusion, I was drawn in by the Pink Floyd reference- and true to it's name, this thing does a beautiful impersonation of that sound. However, the real beauty here is that it can do more than just that. In fact, you can actually get a pretty wide range of sounds from it.

It may not be a "do-it-all" instrument, but what it can do it does very well. It's capable of some incredibly lush sounds, especially when using the "milk & cream" sections.

I've only had one crash when using this VSTi, and I can't be sure that it was to blame. Other than that, no problems here.

So, what it comes down to is this: this is a great free VSTi that just may help you make some nice sounds you might not come across elsewhere. I would definitely recommend it.
Reviewed By progfusion74 [read all by] on 3rd May 2002
Version reviewed: 1.1? on Windows.
Last edited by progfusion74 on 3rd May 2002.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Mr. Taips once again provides an excellent free VSTi. Although I don't use it as much as I used to, it is still a good string ensemble VSTi. Being a Pink Floyd junkie, I was drawn in by the name. Some of the presets are excellent. "Shine on .. " has always been on eof my favorite tunes to play and here I have a canned sound for it.

I still use this occasionally, mostly for harmony parts (splits time with Cheeze Machine). I have had problems with high pitched screeches but it is possible that subsequenct updates have fixed that. I recommend this for anyone into 70's string ensemble sounds.
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 16th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Is it an organ ? or is it a string pad ?
NO ... it is an organ string pad.

This plugin comes with some nice pads
I find them good to use for sinister dark horror like sounds or new wave music

For a free plugin it offers a lot
check out the milk section ... some creamy buttons to make a very smooth pad.

The cpu usage on my PIII 100mhz is not very high

overall a good plugin that is worth the download.

Reviewed By glurgle [read all by] on 19th March 2002
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Seriously this is one of the best organ tones I have heard. Reminds me very much of the organ (pipe organ?) they used in the theme from "Phantom of the Opera" (the exact title escapes me at the moment). It allows for some phasing and delay effects, but the lack can easily be made up for by using the plugins of your choice.
Reviewed By Hypertone [read all by] on 16th February 2002
Version reviewed: 2? on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I cant properly pronounce the developer of this synth, Id rather play this sweet VSTI instead. It sounds exactly like the synth in the song in which it was named after. What a huge sound!! Very nice. People have asked how it compares to Cheezemachine. Thats hard to say because they are really totally different. Crazy Diamonds doesnt really sound like a string ensemble, it has more of an organ tone. I think people will find unique uses for both synths. Both synths together would really compliment each other. This is one excellent free VSTI!!
Reviewed By MarkB [read all by] on 11th February 2002
Version reviewed: 0.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Wow..this instrument is very nice. It has a very organic organ/string sound which sounds like something you find on an old Floyd / JMJ recording. Very playable and inspiring.
Reviewed By paul minot [read all by] on 11th February 2002
Version reviewed: 0.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Another lovely free synth from Rumpelrausch Taips. I personally love "limited" freeware synths, if they sound as good as this one does. I don't know how stringy this synth sounds, more organish to me--but it's very creamy sounding with nice effects, and after playing with it only a few minutes I knew I would be using it soon in a composition, and it would sound terrific. Just a wonderful little pad machine--no more, no less. Yum! Thanks again for sharing this, RT!
Reviewed By [read all by] on 10th February 2002
Version reviewed: 0.3 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Rumpelrausch' VSTi, to me, have always been of high standard. Here we have a VSTi which sounds good - and is FREE!
Like his previous work, the ZR1, I recommend this to anyone. If you like nice sounding pads, or even a Bagpipe sound (!!!), you will like this.

I will take the opportunity now to commend Rumpelrausch, and the many other fine developers designing freebies and cheapies for us music makers of all appreciations, for their time and commitment given in creating these.
And I really don't understand why so much slagging goes on about the functionality of these freebies when every single free instrument i have downloaded has been so good.
Keep up the great work Rumplerausch!
oh..this is a review of version 0.3 and already (after one day) a new version 0.4 is available!
Hows that for commitment! :)
Reviewed By Har [read all by] on 7th February 2002
Version reviewed: - on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
A damn nice-sounding string-ensemble VSTi! :)
Has a very thick, warm feel with plenty of punch in the low-end. And the effects sound great.

No, it certainly doesn't sound anything like a real, orchestral "strings" or string-quartet in the literal sense (nor does Cheeze Machine for that matter)...but then, it's not *SUPPOSED* to: it's supposed to emulate the sound of the vintage "string ensemble" hardware keyboards of the 70's and 80's, like the ARP Solina, ARP Omni, Crumar Performer...etc. They had a different idea of what "strings" on a keyboard were supposed to sound like way back then... :)
Actually, none of these were true oscillator-driven synths in the usual sense, but were actually based on electronic organ/tone-generators pumped through a whole bunch of ensemble/chorus/phaser effects...so the fact that Crazy Diamonds has a sort of "organ-y" sound actually makes it close to the mark of the "real" vintage string ensemble keyboards.

No crashes using this on Orion Pro. I've also noticed the lag-time when changing presets, as well as it changing back to the previous preset if you let go of the mouse-button *outside* of the Program Control box....I sent the developer an email about this, and it's being looked into (BTW: he replied very quickly, so good marks for Customer Support!)

Overall: I REAL nice job. If you also own Cheeze Machine, try combining it with Crazy Diamonds for a really nice HUGE sound!
Reviewed By [read all by] on 7th February 2002
Version reviewed: 0.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Dingo865 on 7th February 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Crazy Diamond is a pleasant surprise of a 'freebie' (though you are expected to pay for it in the long run) that is both more AND less than what it claims to be.

LESS, because its sound (to me at least) is closer to a lush, deep organ than to any string - real or synthesized - I have ever heard. This is not a string quartet - you had better turn to Cheeze Machine if you are looking for that. Hardly surprising, mind you, given the author's history.:^) There is no documentation, and only a handful of presets, nice though they are. The interface is stylish; a bit unusual, but while I miss the traditional knobs, I am also happy to see the digital readouts. In any case, it is better designed than the vast majority of VSTi's out there that are fighting for attention with often outrageous and dysfunctionally funky GUI's. Some people find that categorizing the controls as 'Milk' and 'Cream' and 'Butter' are disconcerting, but I actually LIKE these rather descriptive names.

MORE because, though it is definitely a one-trick pony, that trick is AWESOME. Crazy Diamond is not designed to be a universal VA or some such beast, but a cream machine, the perfect synthesizer for a certain category or class of sounds that Pink Floyd once made their own. And that it does fabulously, offering 27 different controls for fine-tweaking the silky beauties.

OVERALL, I DEFINITELY WANT IT IN MY ARSENAL. It runs OK on a Win2K PIII450 256MBRAM SBLive! machine in Orion Pro 2.75, although changes between presets are a bit slow and buggy (takes a sec or two to visually update). Give it an update or two, and I am certain it will be one of the best niche softsynths on the market! As it is, a must to download.
Reviewed By Link [read all by] on 7th February 2002
Version reviewed: 0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Love it. Sort of sounds like a number of string beasts but has it's own character and will sit in the background with more sonically powerful soundsinstrumentation nicely.

GUI doesn't bother me one way or the other, it's functional and easy enough for tone tweaking. At least the programmer has a sense of humour. Doesn't need a manual as far as I can see really.

Some more presets would have been nice but not a big deal. Being free is customer support enough for me.

Not been any problem in Logic the 3 days it's been running, the patch selection is cranky but I'll live.

I'll drop something into one of the mentioned charity boxes with pleasure for this. A uselful little soundmaker imo.

Reviewed By pquenin [read all by] on 6th February 2002
Version reviewed: 0.1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I really love the sound (it inspires immediatly tons of ideas for new songs), it's exactely what I was expecting from it. I have no crashe for the moment in OrionPro. I just don't like the name of the parameters sections (milk, butter, etc...).
Very good !
Reviewed By pietro [read all by] on 5th February 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
A good VSTi,it has a thick sound,something like a "real machine",with its own character and personality.
No crashes within FruityLoops;(I've not yet tried with
my Cubasis 3).
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 5th February 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by MArmstrong on 16th February 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well for a VSTi in such an early stage of development this looks really promising, especially now the major stability problems have been fixed.

Similarly, it is quite easy to use and really should be considered a most download.

Full marks go to the developer for their request regarding paying for the thing. Now the bugs are gone I will donate to an NGO as requested.

Latest 15 reviews from a total of 15

Discussion: Active


9 June 2017 at 4:58pm

Can anyone reupload the Mac OS X file? Please i need it.

5 July 2017 at 4:16pm

I have never seen it in Mac version, albeit the information here in the KVR Product page.

Here is the last version of the page before it vanished, and the two download links (the one for AZR3 and the one for Crazy Diamond) that it contains work perfect:


But these links are only for Windows. And I had never seen any link for OS X on his website in the past.

5 July 2017 at 5:36am

Can anyone reupload the Windows OS file for Crazy Diamonds, please?

5 July 2017 at 4:09pm

Please log in to join the discussion

Crazy Diamonds

Average user rating of 4.00 from 15 reviews

Rumpelrausch Taips
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
74 people have added Crazy Diamonds to 10 My KVR groups 79 times
+6 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 405  302  398

30-Day: 326; 7-Day: 369; Yesterday: 348