Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Delay Lama

Rate & Review Delay Lama Now!

Reviewed By Hewitt Huntwork [read all by] on 1st August 2004
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Delay Lama is a clever little plug-in. Its elegant simplicity is a joy to experience!

The use of just a few changeable parameters and one built-in effect give this synth its unique quality. Having more than one way to control the parameters is cool, too. You can adjust the knobs or just drag on the X-Y type field.

I consider it to have the best user interface of any VSTi I've ever used. That little monk never fails to make me smile. :)

I'm surprised that AudioNerdz hasn't tried to use this same simple concept with a few different sounding synths. I think that would be very interesting.

Lastly, it may just be me, but I HAVE used this plug in one of my tunes! DL now for a good time!

Features, Presets, and Support are not really big issues. I didn't care about/need them and neither will you.
Reviewed By Rabid [read all by] on 9th December 2003
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
One word to describe this VSTi – Fun. It may not fill musical needs, but it does demonstrate the imagination of some programmers. Considering this was an early VSTi they did an excellent job of blending a simple sound engine with visual feedback. And hey, some people run it few an effects chain and get different, interesting leads. If you don’t have it, download it. I just wish they made a polyphony version, the Delay Lama Choir.

Don't pay attentioin to my ratings on this one. Just rate it "fun".

Robert
Reviewed By ukelele [read all by] on 29th October 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This synth is close to unusable... There are other synths like the Virsyn Cube that can play much better vocal synths, but that's not the point with this one. It's just friggin' funny to play with:)

If you want a novelty between your VSTi's, get this little singing monk right now! You won't regret it and probably spend 2+ hours just fooling around...
Reviewed By paul minot [read all by] on 8th July 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I don't know if I will ever use this in a piece of music, but it is a WONDERFUL toy. When I show off my collection of VSTi's to non-musicians, THIS one is the hit--especially with children. And, truth be known, the child in me loves to play with it when I'm not engaged in more constructive pursuits.
Reviewed By warbug [read all by] on 1st December 2002
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by warbug on 20th June 2003.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
extremely imaginative synth, i love the GUI. it would be great if more synths had a GUI that was animated in some way. this synth is a "one trick pony" all the way BUT it is very good at what it does.....emulates monks singing. i have never used this in a song yet but i still keep it around just becase it is so fun to play with. never had any problems with it crashing.

used in cubase 5.0
p4 @ 1.5GHz 512 rambus
throught a MUTO828
Reviewed By derek [read all by] on 17th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
waaaah ROFL :-)


(i hope KVR forgives me this normally unwanted review type :-)
Reviewed By x_bruce [read all by] on 16th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Delay Lama is a fun plugin, if you want correct pitch a keyboard is necessary although fun can be had mousing around.

Sound wise Delay Lama is a simple formant shifting implementation. In this case the formant, a filter for those unaware, sweeps based on voice characteristics such as the sound of "A" or "O" etc. applied to some kind of waveform.

In Delay Lama that waveform is basic but quite effective.

This is a one trick Lama :) but it's a good trick, giving the impression of a singing style timbre.

Style points for being freeware and asking for donations in a respectable manor towards a cause the authors feel important.

Works well in Cubase VST 5.1 and Orion Pro 3.02, it's easy on resources and has a distinct sound that's perfect for the ocasional lead or counterpoint line. It's also a great toy.

The score may be lower than the value of Delay Lama. I've used it on a track and can find other uses. Try playing with filtered delays and DL, it sounds great.
Reviewed By exponent [read all by] on 13th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by exponent on 13th June 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
It is different. The tone is clean and precise sounding, the legato/glide is very smooth and nice.
No envelope control, but it dosent really need any i guess.

The x/y controller dosent really make sense to me, because grabbing it changes the pitch unless you are very careful, and being careful isnt the idea of performing changes with an x/y controller imo. If it changed two aspects of the formant like the vowel and the brightness knob on the right, it would make sense, but as it is, seems a wasted feature, mainly because there's no knobs to control the vowel or the pitch on their own, which would be better i think.

The interface brings an atmosphere to the plugin, it's cool in a way, but the animation has no practical use, obviously. It would be cool if there was a barebones animation-less interface for those who'd rather have their screen space unwasted. I reverted back to 1.0 because 1.1 hung orion on my system.

It seems it wasnt designed to morph the vowel in realtime, because automating the vowel parameter makes cpu use double and even triple under some situations. I guess maybe that's what a prior reviewer meant about stability.
I've already used it in a couple pieces and it holds its own, being very unique and recognizeable in a mix.

It's a cool instrument, i'd like to see a small compact interface version with dedicated knobs for vowel, delay, brightness, and glide.
Reviewed By yasodanandana [read all by] on 13th June 2002
Version reviewed: 9.2 on unspecified OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
delay lama is extremely nice and, important thing, it is "new", i hope that, from now, we will see the birth of other synts based on vocals and singing.
The only criticism is for user interface: the monk's animation is very funny and, apparently, is not "power consuming", but i find a little confusing the XYmatrix for the parameters, also i do not like so much the use of the pitch bend for the "wovel" control, i would like to "bend" the notes and to have control on the LFO.
i think that the delay is almost useless, we have many delay plugins, commercial or freeware, but how to make the funny joke "delay LAMA" without it?
So add if you want some "randomness" or a modulation option, to imitate some ancient echo machines or to program some chorus/flanger ffxxs......... this would be in line with the "ancient" character of this plugin..

In my wish list there could be also the poliphony, but, perhaps i am asking too much!!
Reviewed By Bonteburg [read all by] on 12th June 2002
Version reviewed: on unspecified OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is undoubtedly the funniest Vsti I ever saw.
And it sounds absolutely greatI´ve heard people in the forum say it sounds "a little thin".
But what is EQing for? And, errmm, does a real singing Llama sound "phatt"?
I don´t like what it does to my RAM when I try to automate the parameters (takes very long to write in the curves), so, guys, I´ll have to mark down on stability, as I wouldn´t dare use it "live" in a track.
But I´ve gotten some really cool results sampling and reloading Delay Llama-sequences.
What with the pudgy, ever grinning monk and the good EEEEAAAAOOOOOMMM-sound, and it being free:
Go get it!
And once my budget looks a bit more rosy-cheeked, I guess I´ll donate as well!
Cheerio,
Marco
Reviewed By Jim M [read all by] on 11th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.01 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This little plug-in may have the BEST user interface in the entire VSTi canon... not for utility, but for novelty. (The little monk dude's eyebrows even go up and down... hee hee.)

It's a pretty straight-forward vocal chant formant synth.
That's it... not realistic, but recognizable.

Definitely a one-trick pony...or yak, as the case may be.

I love it, I'll show it to everyone...I might use it once or twice.

Latest 11 reviews from a total of 11

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
kyromoto
kyromoto
15 February 2013 at 12:26pm

Hey!

I donwoaded this plugin, but it doesnt work on my mac in ableton. Had anyone the same problme and have an problem fix?

MurphyDinklage
MurphyDinklage
17 October 2014 at 2:48am

Hey.

I donwoaded this plugin, but it doesnt work on my mac in ableton. Had anyone the same problme and have an problem fix?

same here...

GoaSkin
GoaSkin
30 March 2016 at 10:48pm

This plugin works on PPC Macs (G4, G5) only.

Please log in to join the discussion

Delay Lama

Average user rating of 3.64 from 11 reviews

AudioNerdz
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
72 people have added Delay Lama to 8 My KVR groups 76 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 76  62  75

30-Day: 54; 7-Day: 50; Yesterday: 47

FEATURED
48% Off
SpeakerSpeaker Modelling
by AudioThing
  $19.00
Add A Review My KVR
Was $19.00; Save $9.25 until 30 Jun 2018!
Advertisements