What is KVR Audio? | Submit News | Advertise | Developer Account

Options (Affects News & Product results only):

OS:
Format:
Include:
Quick Search KVR

"Quick Search" KVR Audio's Product Database, News Items, Developer Listings, Forum Topics and videos here. For advanced Product Database searching please use the full product search. For the forum you can use the phpBB forum search.

To utilize the power of Google you can use the integrated Google Site Search.

Products 0

Developers 0

News 0

Forum 0

Videos 0

Search  

User Reviews by KVR Members for Exciton

Rate & Review Exciton Now!

8.00
Reviewed By No name on 18th April 2005
OS: Version: 98
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo
I never thought I would really review any Synth. But I d/l this only about 10 minutes ago and I have to say it is so lush and is the sound is so "warm". I've been searching over and over for Oberheim type samples, I also tried searching for a VST and happen to come across this. And I have to say it sounds like any Oberheim and even better. I have tried out plenty of Synths but the over all feel to this VST is magnificent.

From the routing, to the osc's, even the way you can just degrade the sound of a patch, and the fatness you can get from this synth. This is a synth you can really make music with! This synth is versatile and I am running on an old Intel Celeron with windows 98 and only 128 megs, and it hasn't skipped or popped or slowed down on me one bit. This is a VST that I honestly feel like I cannot pass by. And do not let anyone tell you this is for a specific Genre. I do Hip hop and this will blend quite well with it, plus it is so inspirational.

Try the demo, see for yourself!!!
9.00
Reviewed By no_signal on 16th August 2003
OS: Version: 1.2.3.
Last edited by tranceinstitute on 16th August 2003.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo
One of the best analog VSTi. If you need trance lead in your gear, if you're tired of so called analog synth with cheap aliased sound, than Exciton is what you need. There is Reaktor too, the monster synth, but I say that Exciton's sound in mouch cleaner, the filter is also great, and there is the saturation too (the saturation is a little cheap, and may need some fixes). There is an fx section too, but if I were in your place, I'd use other VST effects.
There is one problem, using FL Studio 4.12. It looks like FL is sending some reset signals, because Exciton periodically returns to it's default preset.
I used it only as a lead synth, but it has some great presets, including pads, strings, basses and more. Probabily is better than Pro53, but there are some, who will contradict my opinion.
Try the demo, and buy it!
9.00
Reviewed By Revolver on 23rd May 2003
OS: Version: 1.2.3.
Last edited by Revolver on 11th May 2005.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo
Like one of the other reviewers said... *don't* pass this synth up because it looks like an average analog emulation and has the normal features. When I first saw it I almost passed it by cause it seemed like a run of the mill analog emulation. But man does this thing sound incredible!! Download it and try it out. The presets (especially the pads) are excellent and really show off this synth. The effect section, even though it appears deceptively simple, is very nice and lets you achieve regular effects such as delay and chorus as well as some really weird stuff. Above all though thing is VERY stable (not a single glitch yet) and uses a VERY small amount of CPU resources (5-7% on most presets). I purchased this synth and am very happy with it (Note that the demo has a beep tone every few seconds). I gave the "features" a rating of six only because there are synths out there that have plenty more features. But again, the sound is a major factor and this synths got it.

**EDIT - Increased feature rating and User interface to 8 with the new Version 2 of Exciton. Still using this synth after all this time. Pretty much my most used VSTi aside of Battery which I use in every song for drums.


Revolver.
10.00
Reviewed By Exsurdo on 13th January 2003
OS: Version: 1.1
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo
This is a very, very, very good product. Please don't go and compare it with another VSTi based on the list of features. It lacks some features that we might find on other products. BUT, the quality of what is there is of the highest. This is the best atempt to "analog emulation" I've heard yet. I know how it might sound: this is a vague comment since there's all sorts of "analog sounds". Oberheim, Moog, SCI, ARP, etc. They all have different sounds. What I'm saying here is that there is a genuine effort in this product to catch the general character of "analog", not just plain "substractive synthesis".

It shows in the oscillators. Please download the demo and dial for the patch "10 sawtheeth". Appreciate it's warmth, meatiness, fatness, whatever you call it. Appreciate also that all you're hearing on this patch is the oscillators in Unisson mode, no filters. THIS is character.

Great effort has been put in this product to make it fast to use (no switching screens, no vast routing possibilities, etc) with a great quality of sound. Fast, efficient and well thought.

If you can't get a good sound out of this baby, you're in the wrong buisness.

A good candidate for dirrect comparison would be the NI Pro-53 I thing, and compares very well. Personnaly I was about to buy the Pro-53, and I will probably go with Exciton. They are both comparable products (it's not like comparing it with Reaktor or Absynth for instance which are too different), and in my opinion, Exciton is supperior in every points: quality of the oscillators, of the filters, modulation, interface, etc. Two thumbs up.
10.00
Reviewed By zgogor on 12th January 2003
OS: unspecified. Version: 1.1.
Last edited by zgogor on 20th December 2003.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo
I've tried the MacOS under LogicAudio 5.5 ( os9)
Install was very easy and without any problem.
After 1 mn I was able to try the "beast" !
the Sound is really incredible for that CPU use !
all important functions are here:
Filters,LFO etc...
very "PRO" features.
A very good VSTi at that price . For me it is better than the PRO53 or 52 !
the only cons for me is that the Speed LFO are in Hz but it is the V1 :)

Try it, you will be under the Magic of Exciton !

I've just downloaded my Version 2 , it is a very good update with a lot ofnew function ! very good job GrooveCube !
I increase the presets rate and the documentation, user interface too because of the Midi Learn function.

ZgOgOr

Latest 5 reviews from a total of 5

Discussion: Active

Discussion

Please log in to join the discussion

Exciton

Average user rating of 9.20 from 5 reviews

Groovecube Technologies
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
18 people have added Exciton to 3 My KVR groups 18 times

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1101  767  1064

30-Day: 1632; 7-Day: 3047; Yesterday: 2170

Advertisements