Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Fathom Synth

Rate & Review Fathom Synth Now!

Reviewed By Rumdrum [read all by] on 18th May 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by Rumdrum on 19th May 2018.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Do not know how many soft synths I have. I lost count. Numerous and soon forgotten ones. Some stand out from the crowd. I still use the old Powercore Virus, the relatively new Serum and Omnisphere is my all time favorite. Then Fathom came along. The mono version was free, so even if the closet was already full I thought I should give it a try. Free is free right? What first struck me was the unfamiliar interface. Why did they design it like that? I fumbled around with it for some hours and it grew on me. By the end of the day I was in love. I have never really gone into the programming part of a synth. It seemed so cumbersome. I relied on others to make some presets. But now....one after another. It was more like playing an old video game. Moving all the parts around, connecting them to hear dramatic or subtle differences. Fun! Here you are the hero of the game, producing incredible sound with all the impressive features, FX, knobs and curves.

Well, a GUI is important but it does not make a synth. The SOUND makes a synth. And Fathom does not let you down here either. It is extremely seldom a free product sounds like this. It competes with the ocilators of my most expencive top notch synths. So both SOUND and GUI is GREAT, and did I say it was free??? Once again: The Mono version is free!!!! So free that I took 25USD out of my late granmothers wallet and bought the POLY version. 25USD!!!! For a top notch synth - incredible. I have played it forward and got more thanks than chistmas cards! (And I get a lot of christmas cards).

If you are still wondering if this is for you, try out the free (I said it agian) version. I promise - you won't be going to bed the first three nights.

Reviewed By djkybernetik [read all by] on 16th January 2018
Version reviewed: 2.20 on Mac.
Last edited by djkybernetik on 16th January 2018.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I love this Synth. It has cool Features and i thank Everett from Seaweed Audio very much for his great Support to run the Plugin on my (older) Mac.

The Modular Concept is powerful to create fantastic new Sounds. I'am since my Childhood an great Fan of Jean-Michel Jarre so i like many innovative and flexible Synthesizers (old analog and newer).

I can only advice to try the Demo (Free Mono) Version.

Best Regards.

Michael.

Reviewed By ReverendLove [read all by] on 8th January 2018
Version reviewed: 2.1 on Windows.
Last edited by ReverendLove on 8th January 2018.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

It's my first review because I am really amazed by this system.
This one is excellent. The workflow once you read the manual is so logical and beautiful designed that it really stands out in the modular system crowd.
First I thought the modulation matrix is somewhat crowded but after reading I wondered why others don't do it that way. The possibilities are endless.
The automation system is so easy that I really did not get it. Click on rulers label and it's there. Wonderful.
OK, from my personal aesthetics' point of view the graphics' design is not my cup of tea and looks a little bit "toyish".
So no real concern. But the layout itself cannot be better.
The only thing I miss is an input for using it as FX chain.
The sound of the oscillators are stainless and building with the modules is absolutely intuitive. Left in, right out, that's it.
I'd exactly no bad issues with Fathom.
Great work.
I feel a little bit guilty for thievery getting this for 5$ on New Years Day so I wrote this serious review..

Reviewed By jmg8 [read all by] on 7th January 2018
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very powerful and clean sounding OSCs. Nice per voice distortion and detuning options. Good modulation options.

This is a very deep synth with lots and lots of option, however, at the same time, it has quite a clean GUI that is easy to use.

The developer has excellent customer support with very regular updates.

Exceptional value for money.

Reviewed By levendis [read all by] on 20th December 2017
Version reviewed: v.1.0.18 on Windows.
Last edited by levendis on 20th December 2017.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Uncapped modulation options and hybrid functions housed in simplicity. Some exotic interactions between components of its modular architecture too. The oscillators hybridise with other oscillators for AM/FM synthesis, with the phaser (spelled 'Phasor' in Fathom) for unison-like voice generation, and the wavetable oscillator offers a giant pool of possible timbres. Multi-stage envelopes with modifiers that impose gating of variable width and position adds another dimension to articulation. The delay unit is so good it can serve in the reverbs' stead.

For balance, drawbacks of note is its demand on CPU, due to its sample-accurate signal processing. Of course, the sonic potential is compensation. There's some room for improvement to its ergonomics too, but as development continues i have faith these will become more efficient.

Fathom is substantial despite appearances. A deceptively priced softsynth for the sound.

Reviewed By connmach [read all by] on 6th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.12 on Windows
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

A logical, powerful, creative and musical soundcrafter.

Beautifully made. Highly recommended.

Reviewed By RPH [read all by] on 7th August 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.9 on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Awesome VST plugin so far for a VERY very low asking price. The oscillators, filters, effects and modulation options are great already and we can expect more to come.

There is top notch friendly dev support, he is really quick at fixing bugs and adding features / user requests to the plugin.

A no brainer for sure!

Reviewed By ScottAxxe [read all by] on 7th August 2017
Version reviewed: 1.09 on Windows.
Last edited by ScottAxxe on 7th August 2017.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I recently stumbled across one of the best finds I have made on KVR in a quite a while. The modular synth Fathom. Fathom is in it's early stages and is already more polished and capable than many fully-baked synths you'll find on KVR's marketplace.

Why give it an 8? Partly for what it is and partly for where it's going. Fathom is already developing a warm, enveloping character that is tremendously flexible. The intuitive visual module routing allows for biting leads, lush pads and everything in between. The UI reigns in all the flexibility well so the user isn't overwhelmed by the host of options.

The dev is very amiable and welcomes criticism. Those of us who have been here for only a few months have watched Fathom steadily grow and change as the dev responds to user input. The dev is no newb who just started with some synth coding library as a hobby. He worked at Ensoniq previously so he's been in the biz. He knows his DSP and it shows in the design. As a professional coder myself this dev's chops are impressive.

Certainly, Fathom doesn't tick every box at this point, but it covers a lot of ground even at this early stage of development. If development stopped right now it would still be a worthy, unique addition to your stable of plugins. I have no doubt Fathom will be deserving of 9+ reviews in the near future.

Do yourself a favor. Invest what you might spend on a lousy lunch and instead get a great sounding synth that will keep you experimenting into the wee hours of the night.

NOTE: I'm no shill. I paid for Fathom, no special discounts, I'm not related to the dev or anything of the sort.

Latest 8 reviews from a total of 8

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Scrubbing Monkeys
Scrubbing Monkeys
13 August 2017 at 9:26pm

I have been using Fathom for only a few months now. I started on version 1.0.7. At this point it is up to 1.0.11. It has a bucket load of features but a few that really grab me are the extremely powerfull envelopes and the built in delay. You can not only draw your envelopes but can double, triple............ and so on giving you a sequencer type feel. The delay is a three headed monster giving you COMPLETE control over left, right and center. This synth is capable of just about everything out there with alot of stuff we havent seen. I can see this being used alot for evolving soundscapes and one finger rhythmic dances. At this point it has a firm direction, is stable and a pleasure to program. Looking forward to the finer details.

buing
buing
2 January 2018 at 10:29pm

Good blueprint, bad usability.

My score is 6.00.

miketimothy
miketimothy
11 January 2018 at 12:05pm

Trying to buy at discount price of $15 which is supposed to be available until 31st Jan 2018 but when I checkout it goes to full price ? Help please.

Please log in to join the discussion

Fathom Synth

Average user rating of 4.38 from 8 reviews

Seaweed Audio
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
69 people have added Fathom Synth to 9 My KVR groups 92 times
+5 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 105  81  104

30-Day: 158; 7-Day: 195; Yesterday: 175

FEATURED
48% Off
SpeakerSpeaker Modelling
by AudioThing
  $19.00
Add A Review My KVR
Was $19.00; Save $9.25 until 30 Jun 2018!
Advertisements