What is KVR Audio? | Submit News | Advertise | Developer Account

Options (Affects News & Product results only):

OS:
Format:
Include:
Quick Search KVR

"Quick Search" KVR Audio's Product Database, News Items, Developer Listings, Forum Topics and videos here. For advanced Product Database searching please use the full product search. For the forum you can use the phpBB forum search.

To utilize the power of Google you can use the integrated Google Site Search.

Products 0

Developers 0

News 0

Forum 0

Videos 0

Search  

User Reviews by KVR Members for Gater-Pro

Rate & Review Gater-Pro Now!

10.00
Reviewed By tommyzai on 1st January 2014
OS: Version: 3.0.
Last edited by tommyzai on 1st January 2014.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Gater-Pro by SPC Plugins is a useful and inspiring stereo trance gate effect. Each time I launch it and create a gated sequence I discover something unique that sparks my creativity. Naturally, it's perfect for trance, but it can also help drive any other kind of rhythmic-based audio. If you're not looking for a robotic sound simply engage the swing feature and bring some humanity back into the mix. I plan to use it on pads, drones, and eBow'd guitar lines to help create a pulse and shimmer that is in sync with the track. While researching, I found a useful suggestion from a fellow user, "You don't need to have the gate at 100% wet, but a hint of Gater-Pro on an effect return can provide some lift to the mix."

PROS

  • Simple, neat and clean interface.
  • Cool features: swing control, switchable rates, three gate shapes, etc.
  • Bypass switch.
  • CPU friendly.
  • Stable.
  • Inexpensive.
  • Responsive developer (good communication and frequent updates).

CONS

  • I can't think of any, but adding a zillion presets would be nice.

CONCLUSION

I highly recommend Gater-Pro for any eMusician, producer, sound designer, DJ, etc., who is creating rhythmic music. It's an excellent little plugin that can make a BIG difference if used wisely. Tommy Zai gives Gater-Pro two perfectly sync'd thumbs up. Thank you, SPC, for creating such a cool audio tool.

Click here to read all 2 reviews

Discussion: Active

Discussion

30 March 2013 at 9:20pmSendy

Yep, subtractively's a word :) Great review, all reviews should discuss usage tips, there's not enough creativity out there.

2 April 2013 at 7:10amsqigls

Cheers Sendy ;).

31 March 2013 at 6:19pmmurnau

great plugin. the yellow/grey gui is somehow not my taste but the plugin itself is top! i use it to "duck" pads and fake sidechain. it's wonderful for many purposes as sqigls pointed out. dare to create your own presets - you wont regret it, i must say that i dont liked the delivered ones.

2 April 2013 at 1:43amgsilbers

great plugin but keeps crashing logic 64-bit. it loads but when i open the plugin in a channel strip it crashes logic. :(.

its the only plugin that does this. :(.

2 April 2013 at 7:09amsqigls

You should contact support, I have a feeling Logic is the last area of ironing for OS X.
Let them know how to reproduce the crash, at least touch base. They have ironed out my bugs previously, and sent me special pre-release versions to help the development of the plugin. Best of luck.

14 June 2014 at 9:53amSPC Plugins

Thank you for your positive comments :-) I've just discovered this section of KVR and previously had no idea that there were any comments posted. Did you contact me about this problem? If you didn't, I wish you had done. I do my best to fix any problems with my plug-ins ASAP. Please contact me if you're still experiencing any problems.

15 November 2013 at 10:53pmmurnau

still enjoy the plugin. the free upgrade to 3.0 is great. 64-bit for window would be even greater nowdays,.

14 June 2014 at 10:06amSPC Plugins

Glad you like my plug-in. With regards to 64-bit Windows - you're absolutely correct. I've only recently upgraded to a 64-bit machine following the demise of XP (small developer, limited resources) and will have a 64-bit version available soon. It will be a free upgrade for registered customers. You mention in a comment above that you don't like the factory presets - you're welcome to send me any presets you've programmed to include in a future release, either as new presets or as extra banks of presets.

16 November 2013 at 2:55amsqigls

v3.0 is stable on my rig… OS X 10.8.5, Live 9.0.5, Cubase 6.5.5.
:D.

Please log in to join the discussion

Gater-Pro

Average user rating of 10.00 from 2 reviews

SPC Plugins
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
4 people have added Gater-Pro to 3 My KVR groups 4 times

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 2626  1638  2471

30-Day: 3233; 7-Day: 2384; Yesterday: 3096

Advertisements