Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New What is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for jBridge

Rate & Review jBridge Now!

10.00
Reviewed By BlackWinny on 24th January 2017
OS: Version: 1.75.
Last edited by BlackWinny on 24th January 2017.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

The review from EnergyCrush just below is totally unfair as it doesn't reflect at all the reality. If the user doesn't know how to make it work it is not the fault of the product... it is a total misunderstanding from the user himself on how to use it (something which is although extremely simple).

JBridge works perfect, I use it since years and years, and I have never encountered any issue with it. There is absolutely no need to run it as administrator (when someone is constraint to run a musical plugin or a DAW as administrator it is because he has placed it in a folder protected by Windows [since Windows 7 several trees are considered as so important for the security of the system that Microsoft decided to protect them by default so that they should be altered only by installers, and it is also the reason why there is a tree named C:ProgramData to place daten used by the programs in another place than the programs themselves] or because he has not installed it exactly as it was intended to be). Since Windows 7 the best way to run musical plugins (and many programs in general) is to not install them in the tree "C:Program files" nor in the tree "C:Program files (x86)" but to install them elsewhere (where you want as long as it is not at least in these two folders). The best place is in your "Documents" tree or by creating a special tree for your needs. If the installers continue today to propose the tree "C:Program files" or the tree "C:Program files (x86)" by default it is for compatibility with the previous versions of the system (up to XP)... and these installers never forbid someone to change the installation folder/tree suggested by default. All my software stuff for music is installed in a dedicated tree named "C:EM" ("EM stands for Electronic music") and all my software stuff for sciences (a dozen of big applications) is installed in a dedicated tree named 'C:Sciences"' and the same for my dozen of programs of imagery (Paint Shop Pro, Corel Video Studio, etc.).

JBridge works absolutely perfect, it doesn't require anything when you launch it in the purpose to add new 32-bit plugins and it doesn't require anything either to do the job in a totally transparent way when using it in your 64-bit DAW to compose, play, or whatever you want. You don't even remind that it exists and is running in background.

It doesn't require any attention, it doesn't add any latency, it doesn't add any substantial need of CPU, it requires such a small amount of memory (a few Kb, that's all) that it is totally forgotten by the musician even for the use of many simultaneous instances of musical plugins in his work.

And it is not for nothing that it summarizes more than 50 favorites on the KVR community as everyone can clearly see here at the top of the rightmost column of the present page.

This tool is a benediction to run any 32-bit plugin in a 64-bit DAW and with any number of instances you want and without any special authorization... the 64-bit DAW doesn't even know that the plugin you run on it is a 32-bit plugin .

A top notch tool for all the amateurs of instruments and effects developed with Synthedit or Synthmaker/Flowstone.

My note is without any appeal : 10 / 10.

9.00
Reviewed By dazh on 26th August 2016
OS: Version: 7
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

First of all, I can't believe that any of the major music software houses haven't at least tried to write/licence/include such an essential utility in their very expensive products. There are some that include compatibility with jbridge, but for it's very reasonable price tag, it pays for itself many times over if you consider replacing your collection of 32-bit plugins in order to work in a 64-bit host.

In my case I fell in love with Studio One 3 x64 after many years of being a Cubase user. There were just a couple of things bothering me. My Focusrite Liquid Mix and my EWQL Colossus are antique 32-bit abandonware but a regular feature of most of my productions.

So to keep this review short, I can confirm that jbridge can handle both with minimal tweaking on my Win7 x64 machine. Thanks J, you saved my ageing gear from the 32-bit bin for less than €15. Brilliant.

As for the tweaks, the first one is obvious cause it's in the instructions, but I missed it cause I was impatient and the plugins didn't work. You absolutely MUST set "run as administrator" in the file properties for jbridge and it's two auxhost files. I also set Studio One to run in admin mode. Once I had done this Colossus worked.

To get the Liquid Mix to work, I had to enable the "run in existing auxhost" option, otherwise I could only get one instance. Now it's running great even at low latency.

For functionality alone I give it a 10. It has tooltips but could use a proper help file, even in html or text or whatever.

Massive respect *****.

9.00
Reviewed By mkastrup on 31st January 2013
OS: Version: 1.5
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Over the years i have picked up tons of plugins and with every new OS update i fear the worst for my old plugins. Last step up was to Windows 7 64bit and Cubase 6.5 64bit. I was very sad to see that most of my old 32bit plugins have trouble running under 64bit, Ok that was to be expected but does it really have to be like this, nopes not anymore...

I have heard of jBridge but feared that using this app would limit my setup in ways i could not control. Some times you just got to take a chance and see what happens.

I installed the program and a small setup guide took me through the setup. I had various options on how jBridge should transform my system. After some initial trying i ended up with having jBridge take control over all my plugins both 64bit and 32bit. There is an option in jBridge which will rename all plugins and add x64 to the file. That option was best left off because i would not be able to load my old Cubase projects since Cubase would not be able to locate the files with the old names.

After the install i ended up with a new MyVstPlugins directory which held all the bridges to the old VstPlugins folder. In Cubase i would remove the old location of VstPlugins and make the new MyVstPlugins the default folder.

Would this mess up the location of presets on my plugins, nope, presets are still found where they always have been.

First plugin to try on using the new jBridge was Komplexer, that plugin did not work using Cubase own VstBridge. With jBridge Komplexer became alive again and so did the stability of all my older SynthEdit plugs. In fact all my troublesome 32bit plugins ran smooth again. One more thing worth mentioning is that Cubase launch is lightning fast now.

Needless to say i'm excited to see my old plugins up and running again, thanks to jBridge.

/Michael

Latest 3 reviews from a total of 3

Discussion: Active

Discussion

17 March 2013 at 4:39pmcrwxyz

I have just installed cubase 7 on windows 7 64-bit and have bridge several plugins - Atmosphere, Soundtoys, Kick Ass Brass. None of these plugins seem to be able to find their .dat or preset files. I've used the spectramove utility to set the registry location for the .dat file, and confirmed that is where it points to. Soundtoys plugs launch, but show none of the built-in pesets. KAB can't find the soundfile even though the settings point to the right location for that as well. Any ideas?

3 July 2014 at 6:32amrustman

On a plus side, I just installed it, and it did something awesome- I clicked the sluggish GUI hack option as well as the Force whole GUI refresh, and now NastyDLA behaves perfectly! I really liked the plug, but the knobs often weren't responsive, and changing a preset did not change the display of the knob positions. Works great now! Makes using a great older plugin a pleasure now. That is awesome!!.

30 August 2016 at 10:20pmstarflakeprj

Cubase, FL Studio, Reaper, Bitwig and Renoise all have built-in bitbridges, similar to jBridge, and they are all working fine. Without the ugly "banner" below the plugin window that jBridge has. Don't know about Pro Tools, Ableton and Logic thought.

24 January 2017 at 9:13amDrumAddict

i really have no idea which version of jbridge you are using, jbridge does not needs to run the daw as admin anymore since version 1.75. so the review are an little bit incorrect .

Please log in to join the discussion

jBridge

Average user rating of 9.33 from 3 reviews

J's stuff
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
90 people have added jBridge to 14 My KVR groups 116 times
+9 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 157  156

30-Day: 368; 7-Day: 310; Yesterday: 385

Advertisements