Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New What is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for MinimogueVA

Rate & Review MinimogueVA Now!

Reviewed By bobbz [read all by] on 26th April 2015
Version reviewed: xp on Windows
10.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This VST is simply amazing ! Full fat realistic analog sound, and works in mono or polyphonic stereo modes. It does everything from weird FX to superfat basses to screaming distorted leeads to wonky BOCanada type pads and grungy drones. I was seriously thinking about forking out for a new hardwear analogue synth (I know the difference is the hands on factor and warm fat analogue sound), but after playing with this I cannot justify paying out 100s of £s when this does just about everything I want, with more waveshapes, oscillators, arp, gate, polyphony, FX and routing than I could ever afford in a hardwear synth.

No problems with it at all in Cubase SX or thru Cantabile lite.

To my ears, it sounds more analog than the other Minimoogs on sale.

Kudos to the developer, you have made a true VST classic........................ and it's free !!.

Reviewed By abaker2000 [read all by] on 25th October 2013
Version reviewed: 2.3 on Windows
9.00
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I highly recommend that you download this VSTi right now and get your analog groove on! I found it has an excellent sound source, On top of the classic Minimoog sound you have additional options to tweak sounds. Best of all is the playability of the instrument itself. The sound you can get out of this is big, bad, and beautiful. Combine this with a few other plugins like a dedicated gate and be prepared to bring down the house with a big wall of sound. Give it a try and I'm sure you'll be happy.

Reviewed By module_nz [read all by] on 15th January 2007
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows.
Last edited by module_nz on 15th January 2007.
9.00
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I'm going to approach this review from a musical perspective as opposed to a technical opinion.

This VSTi Synth is pretty much up there in terms of freeware plugins and a must have.

I have always found that Virtual plugins trying to
copy analog circuits to be a bit like natural mineral water in plastic bottles... just not right.. but in this case its different.

Its tone and timbre match closely the original Moog synth
although, it has more of a liquid sound, rather than the warm dryness of a real moog.

Being a synthedit plugin, i was not sure of it at first
but now its one of my fav's and restored my faith in using Synthedit plugins again.

Its perfect for lead sounds in the style of funk (Herbie Handcock), Pink Floyd (Shine on you crazy diamond intro)
and for electro basslines, and Sub based Dub styles.

For pads it seems a bit thick and takes alot of the spectrum up but thats more my own preference.

The built in presets are ok, showcasing the bread and butter sounds its more than capable of generating.

The lead sounds are my personal fav. there are 128 which is more than enough to get you started.

It feels like a good synth and has a good performance response with lots of expression and character.

it has a good selection of modulation options.
and built in delay, a basic arp and gate. 3 Oscillators
and good filters (nice filter module's) all the basics of a analog synth.

I have had no problems with it what so ever
and its highly recommended.

download it eh?
Reviewed By dj ray [read all by] on 7th November 2005
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows.
Last edited by dj ray on 7th November 2005.
9.00
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This has got to be one of KVR's best kept secrets, because otherwise there would be a lot more reviews. Either that, or you guys don't like your Moog synths! Anyway, on with the review!

I have been in love with the Moog sound ever since I was a kid (G-Funk anyone?) and had my bleary eye on either the Arturia Minimoog or the G-Media Minimonsta. I decided to save my money when I saw (and heard) this guy! Why? The sound ladies, the sound. It growls, it screams, it bloody Moogues! The interface isn't half bad either, and it works great with MIDI. You have some decent onboard FX, a nifty arpeggiator, a full complement of Moogish controls, as well as a nice gate. All this for nought!

Well done! If you go to the site, you can hear this bad boy in action compared to the Minimonsta and the original Mini. Very, VERY close! I still can't believe it's free. Its very warm, and really adds presence to a mix, whether its called in for bass duties or leads 'n fx, just like its venerable ancestor. If you've gotta have a soft Moog, and even if you've got the cash, try this puppy first! You just might be surprised! I know I was! Kudos to the programmers!
Reviewed By ohm [read all by] on 24th April 2005
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows
8.00
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
It's not minimonsta, but you can get pretty close with this freebie. The factory presets are very good, demonstating a great variety of classic leads / basses and fx. The GUI is very well layd out, and easy to work with. It uses the original minimoog terminology: "filter contour" means "modulation envelope for the filter" and so on. Although a bit confusing it all ads to the moogish charm. A great plus is the low CPU consumption. It uses about 1% on my centrino 1.5 laptop - that's very impressive for a synth edit synth. OK, it's monophonic and sound output is mono, but anyway - there are three oscillators, filter modulation and a delay effect here.
In itself the sound is not quite dirty enough to suit my taste. I've had good results though using the ohmforce frohmage filter and the silverspike rubytube as insert effects to distort the sound a bit and add some warmth. Both are free VST's.
I've only had one problem with this one: modulating the filter with a white noise LFO created insane noisebursts. Be careful with that!
There is no documentation except for a CC list - I didn't miss it though - the GUI is pretty self explanatory.

Latest 5 reviews from a total of 5

Discussion: Active

Discussion

29 February 2012 at 2:15pmprefader 45

Hello... I'm new to both KVR forum and Minimogue va... and am not yet having much luck searching for info about Minimogue va... so one quick question. My impression is that patches for Minimogue can not be created and saved in the traditional sense... but today it appears I've stumbled upon the fact that if I load one of the patches that came with the plug-in... then modify the settings and move to another patch... those settings for the patch I was just in... get "saved" (remembered) by the plug-in.

Please let me know if this is the case and if there's any way to restore the original patches short of deleting and reinstalling the plug.

Thanks in advance

7 May 2013 at 2:23pmmridlen

Try this site to download it: home.no/gunnare/

22 January 2014 at 5:16amcolourman

I loved this synth but I had to get rid of it because it kept crashing my ableton set. Dunnno if its the synth or probably my below par computer. Big love to my forbidden minimogue sweetheart.

12 December 2015 at 12:33ammvrasseli

This old synth is still great! How would I imagine that an free and old VST like this would sound so amazing. I made a demo for those who don't believe me:

https://app.box.com/s/9zr7j9wyvksqy003h8p5lwufdinhrsm5 (wav format)

22 February 2016 at 10:34amMikeRocke

Sorry i cant load it again .Its a good soundgenerator and i'll trie it for my guitar. I have a bill Lawrence Pickup with a fantastic sound. there's no second Good pickup.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

22 February 2016 at 11:13pmBlackWinny

What do you mean by "I can't load it again"?

You can't load it again in a track of your DAW?

Or you have lost it and you can't find where to download it again? Be precise, please, so that we can help you. If it is this thing that you mean (you don't know where to download it again), last year Gunnar allowed me to distribute it on my public cloud area, here: http://dfiles.eu/folders/HOUQN3MVZ

It is available also at PluginBoutique (for Free as well) but with way less files and informations in the zip file.

The one I provide contains absolutely everything, the common and the Luxus versions of the synth, the configuration file for the MIDI controllers assignments, the preset banks which were made for that synth and were distributed freely by Gunnar, the A/B comparison audio files with the famous hardware, the audio demos of the filters in action, the pages of the original website which were dedicated to the synth, etc.

19 June 2016 at 12:49pmblisterpop

@BlackWinny...thanks for that public cloud page.

19 June 2016 at 2:45pmBlackWinny

(^_^)

Please log in to join the discussion

MinimogueVA

Average user rating of 9.00 from 5 reviews

Voltkitchen
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
107 people have added MinimogueVA to 15 My KVR groups 124 times
+10 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 71  71

30-Day: 105; 7-Day: 128; Yesterday: 89

What's New @ KVR Audio
Advertisements