What is KVR Audio? | Submit News | Advertise | Developer Account

Options (Affects News & Product results only):

OS:
Format:
Include:
Quick Search KVR

"Quick Search" KVR Audio's Product Database, News Items, Developer Listings, Forum Topics and videos here. For advanced Product Database searching please use the full product search. For the forum you can use the phpBB forum search.

To utilize the power of Google you can use the integrated Google Site Search.

Products 0

Developers 0

News 0

Forum 0

Videos 0

Search  

User Reviews by KVR Members for Piano One

Rate & Review Piano One Now!

9.00
Reviewed By Sendy on 20th January 2013
OS: Version: 1.3
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

This plugin is the "Zebralette" of the piano market. When companies produce these cut down freebie versions of their products we all win. The company gets goodwill and familiarity with it's products, and we get free stuff!

I've been using Piano One for all my practicing, improv and composition needs for the best part of a year, and the sound is on the whole very satisfying. Now, you can practice and do bare-bones composition on polysynth sounds, but for some reason, you just can't beat the experience of sitting at a piano when it comes to teasing ideas out of your subconscious.

This piano is even good enough to be used on professional tracks semi-naked, with one caveat - the release - as has been pointed out in the other review, is pretty unrealistic. You can fix it a bit by dragging up the release slider, giving a more realistic release length, but the *shape* is still wrong. Mostly you can fix this with reverb (using the reverb that comes in the plugin or an external one), but still, it's the fly in the ointment of an otherwise near-perfect freebie, and the reason I'm giving 9 instead of 10.

The look of the plugin is pretty janky, but the interface has some good controls (velocity curves for example, very useful for extracting different piano styles from your playing). Their paid plugins have much nicer atmospheres to them and it seems fair that they'd cut back on this a bit in the free version.

I'll definitely be checking out their other piano products with the hopes of buying them if they can build on the quality of this one.

Click here to read all 3 reviews

Discussion: Active

Discussion

26 May 2012 at 1:21amRgnKjnVA

Very good review, I've used it on a couple projects and agree with every point made.

6 June 2012 at 4:47pmzincalloy

I can't use the presets neither in Version 1.1 nor 1.2.

What is the prob?

If i try to load them in Cantabile or my Daw I got this Message:

The following error(s) had occured: VST PLugin-Piano One-Failed to load preset - version mismatch.

Who'd like to help - love and need this plug

2 July 2012 at 2:08pmshane1980

You need to download Version 1.3 and Presets for 1.3 to solve this issue

7 May 2013 at 6:21pmMusicMonster007

Do the notes always cut off after about 10 seconds or do I maybe have an old version? I downloaded version 1.3, installed it, then downloaded the patch for v1.32 and substituted the .dll file - is that all I need to do?

Thanks for any help.

22 July 2012 at 4:18pmlstone92

Everytime I try and use this VST it says cannot find any instruments. Help me? :)

23 July 2012 at 3:02pmshane1980

It would be better that you can contact our customer service about your issue :)

27 July 2012 at 2:55amwillard

I downloaded a version that says 1.3 but it will not load the presets on this page.

what I downloaded was from the supreme piano one page http://www.supremepiano.com/product/piano1.html

the file was PianoOne13zip

It works with the default instrument, but I'd like to try the others

27 July 2012 at 5:18pmLAGinz

I think at one point, right after 1.3 came out, there was either a problem with it or the download was actually 1.2., even though it was labelled 1.3---I had the same preset problem. The 1.3 version on the site now though is definitely 1.3 and works for me with all of the presets. I use the 32 bit version bridged in my 64 bit DAW, since for some reason the native 64 bit version (especially on the release) sounds kind of odd.

That being said, this a really good sounding piano --especially for free!! Props to the Dev.!

27 July 2012 at 5:27pmRgnKjnVA
When I download PianoOne13.zip for win32, the file properties says the version is 1.0.0.1. ?! I've sent email to customer service but no response for several days. = /
27 July 2012 at 5:59pmwillard

Mine says the same. A real bummer

27 July 2012 at 5:30pmLAGinz

Hmm...I assumed that once they got the right 1.3 up there it stayed up there....but maybe not :(

27 July 2012 at 6:01pmwillard

Is there another download connection? Maybe that would have the correct version?

27 July 2012 at 6:22pmLAGinz

OK, I just re-checked the labelling on the actual dll file currently in my VST folder (Windows 32 bit version). It also says 1.0.0.1 even though the zip said 1.3. BUT....all the presets load and are working properly for me in Studio One Prof. 2.0.6.

27 July 2012 at 10:01pmwillard

When I load the presets downloaded at:http://www.kvraudio.com/product/piano-one-by-sound-magic/downloads, I get the error "mismatched version"

I also downloaded the new Piano One Version 1.32 Patch - Upgrade Only there.

I'm using Cantabile 2.0

3 September 2012 at 3:57pmchopin4525

I guess it's a Cantabile issue because when I used Piano One in Sonar it worked flawlessly and loaded presets without any issue.

27 July 2012 at 10:15pmLAGinz

If my recollection is right, I think the only preset bank that won't work would be the original "kvrer" one, which was superceded by a newer one on that same page. All the rest of the preset banks should work.

7 August 2012 at 10:44pmmusicfoly

I downloaded all the different Piano sets from KVR here but they don't show in Piano one, version 1,32. I got FXP files from the sets, inserted them in Piano One's Folder, but they do not show as presets in the VSTi, only the Default, which sounds awesomely Great, thank you, and a few included numbered Patches that deliver a strange volume boost noise when I play them (Ok, maybe because it's a demo) that I could silence by moving the Attack slider each time but I see no changes in the parameters and the sound is the same as the Default.

I'm using Acoustica Mixcraft Pro Studio 6 as my DAW and all my VSTis 32 bits load and play perfectly.

My PC is: Intel i7, 870 on Windows 7 64 bits, with 6GB DDR3 RAM.

Am I doing something wrong? Is there a way to install them so that they show and load in Piano One? A special folder (re-) naming, a specific location where to put them?

Thank you so much for any help and for such a great product!

21 August 2012 at 4:15pmshane1980

You have to manually add each preset into the patch #. The Preset always
appears as fxp file which you have to use load instruments option (maybe
it has another name in other DAW)to load them. It will not automatically recognized by the plugin

22 August 2012 at 4:01ammusicfoly

Thanks for answering shane1980 but how can I do that?

Acoustica Mixcraft pro 6 doesn't load fxp files, only fxb and I cannot see the presets in PianoOne as I try to load them, only the default 1 and 2 (apart from the Patches).

I don't know how to manually add each preset into a patch.. Sorry for my ignorance..

23 August 2012 at 7:28amalex_sobolan

Hi,

I've downloaded piano one too but i don't know how to install it.

Do you know how or where i can find some instructions?

Thanks,

Alex

25 August 2012 at 1:32pmmusicfoly

Alex, do you have a VST folder? Yes? The whole PianoOne13 folder has to be copied or moved into that VST folder. I don't know what DAW you use (I use Mixcraft 6, I created mine) but I believe every DAW has a VST plugins Folder, be it installed by default by the program or one that you already created.

Sorry cannot help you with the other DAWs. Help should be on its way soon...

2 September 2012 at 2:00amHooj

This is EXACTLY what happened to me when I first added the patches. So I opened "Piano one" inside my DAW and manually assigned the patches (I downloaded) to the numbered (empty) patch banks under the "presets" drop down menu.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

25 August 2012 at 11:18amNickl

I have downloaded Piano One and installed it in my VST folder. I have tried using it in a couple of different DAWs but can't get any sound. In both cases I can see the keyboard keys move in response to the events sequence but the sound is completely dead. I haven't had this issue with the various other VST instruments I use and I can't work out what I am doing wrong with Piano One.

Can anyone help please?

Thanks

25 August 2012 at 1:15pmmusicfoly

Try both versions (32 and 64 bits, not together though). Sorry, can't remember which one I installed but it plays beautifully in Mixcraft Pro Studio 6.

I guess you installed the whole folder (PianoOne13) in your VST folder, not only the dll.

Musicfoly

25 August 2012 at 1:31pmNickl

I'm still in the world of 32bit but your point about the location of the whole folder may be the problem - I can't remember whether I put the whole folder in the VST folder or just the dll. I'll check it out when I get home later.

Thanks

29 August 2012 at 9:54pmmusicfoly

You're welcome!

Anyway, if you're using Mixcraft, only 32 bits VSTs are usable. I have Windows 7 64bits, but I believe in the VST world, it works accordingly to your DAWs' capacity. Some can use 64 bits, some 32bits only. As for any other DAW, check in the "About ...." section or ask around..

Glad it helped you! :D

29 August 2012 at 2:48pmralphdewu

Hey there the update patch still appears to be version 1.0 so can't use the other presets

2 September 2012 at 6:24amKKram

Hi hope someone can assist with this issue. I have installed the Piano 1 component into library/audio/plugins/Components folder and run SPRuntime.

When I open Mainstage it reports that the plugin failed to load. When I select authenticate I get the following error message:

"VERIFYING CUSTOM UI
Carbon View Components Available: 1
auvw MSP2 Maze - ERROR: View Component specified, but can't be found "

Is there a way to fix this error?

Thanks

Mark

(OSX 10.7.4)

Please log in to join the discussion

Piano One

Average user rating of 8.00 from 3 reviews

Sound Magic
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
55 people have added Piano One to 10 My KVR groups 68 times
+6 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 4  3  4

30-Day: 8; 7-Day: 13; Yesterday: 43

KVR Developer Challenge 2014