Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for PlastiCZ

Rate & Review PlastiCZ Now!

Reviewed By Rabid [read all by] on 10th October 2003
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Once you get your core group of VSTi’s together it is time to look for something different. Just how many different VA synths do you need in software? When you are ready to expand your sonic options there are few choices. One of the available VSTi’s that is a bit different is PlasticZ. The phase-morph oscillators tied to FM give me a sound different than any other FM VSTi I own. Even when using a distortion patch the sound is clean enough to layer well and avoid muddying the mix.

This has to be the coolest looking VSTi on the market. It is deceptively simple and makes programming PlasticZ fun and efficient. When someone wants to see my setup, PlasticZ is one of the first synths I load onto the screen. Too bad more VSTi’s don’t have this combination of good looks and usable interface.

Robert
Reviewed By casio hardcore [read all by] on 25th February 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is by far my favorite VSTi in my arsenal of sounds. I'm not even sure where to begin...For starters I rarely use presets but the ones that ship with it are by far some of the best that I've ever heard. From big, fat, beefy leads to corny plastic sounding flutes...it's all covered.

Secondly, the GUI is just so damn cool looking. That's what really sold me on it to be honest. It's straight forward and easy to program. I would have liked to have seen a multi-pole filter onboard but it's really no biggie.

Lastly (and most importantly) this plugin has performed 100% without failure in multiple hosts. There are some out there that work like a charm in one but totally cause problems in another...not this puppy however.

Usually it takes me a several weeks with a demo (if not longer) to decide if I wanna buy it, but the PlasiCZ took me a mere seven hours. It's well worth it regardless of the type of music you make.
Reviewed By sluggo [read all by] on 3rd December 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
First of all, I'm not very good at reviews. But I'll try to pass on my opinions. I love the sound of this vsti: it is certainly unique while maintaining maximum useability. Some descriptions I would use are clean, clear, full, raw, and deep. But I guess you can figure that out from the demo. It runs perfectly, automation works great in Logic (some plugins don't work so well). Plasticz doesn't seem to be too bad on the cpu, but I don't spend much time measuring these kinds of things. Most importantly, I find this synth to sit well in my tracks (house/electronic/techno). I think that's important to note.

sluggo
Reviewed By RegPhoenix [read all by] on 21st November 2002
Version reviewed: 1.x on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This synth is simply gorgeous for what it is and does.

What can I say - the first time I downloaded the demo I was gob-smacked.

It really sounds different to everything else I have ever heard in the VSTi world. Obviously being a unique product it isn't anything other than what it is.

I was inspired a lot by music in the 80's. This takes the 80's into the year 2003.

For what it does and how much it costs it's superb.

It would be foolish to say that it will be everyone's cup of tea - but I can't fault it in the slightest.

If this was a discontinued hardware unit from 20 years ago it would cost a hell of a lot of money in the second pages of a music magazine.

In fact, there's a thought Mike - lol. I know it would be expensive.

Try the demo and fall in love - but remember with the extra polyphony in the full version (2 notes max in the demo) it really shines in a unique way.

This synth is ALIVE and much under-advertised in it's charms.

Excellent for early Depeche Mode type sequencer lines and basslines and in brand new ways too.

There is so much character in this thing. Cute singing aliens and talkbox effects and thoroughably musical and useable.

Try it and buy it.

I have no gripes at all with this thing. And the unique FX should be sold as seperates if you ask me - especially Talkbox.

Thanks ReFX.

Reg
Reviewed By Huggie [read all by] on 20th November 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Mac.
Last edited by Huggie on 7th February 2004.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This synth sounds as good as it looks. Very 'up front'. Great 4 basses and lead synths not so good on the pad front. However, I may just need 2 sit down and program the little sucker a bit more. Still getting my head around the interface, but the presets r a good place to start.

Looking foward 2 updates. I hear lfo's r on the cards. hint, hint...

Edit: I have just installed the OSX VSTi version. It is wrapped and operating as an AU in Logic 6 without a hitch! I truly love this synth!!!!!

Thanks Mr Kleps!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed By Lanstar Zero [read all by] on 1st October 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Lanstar Zero on 1st October 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
PlasticZ is very nice. It has a taut, edgy sound that is unique. It has a helluva lot of bottom end: it is the only softsynth that makes the woofer's on my Event 2020 bas's to rattle: and this is at a reasonably low volume!

Great for bass. Awesome for bleeps, bloops, blops, and fx. Pads are not typical pad-like but are also very nice.
It is quite good for leads - it can have a sharpness to it that really cuts through the mix.

That's is where PlasticZ shines: it's ability to cut through a mix and not overpower. It has a distinct sound that stands out.

PlasticZ is definitely not the most versatile softsynth - but it has a great sound that left me with no purchasing regret!
Reviewed By CP [read all by] on 23rd September 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by CP on 23rd September 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The first thing you will notice when you fire up PlastiCZ is very original GUI. It is kind of refreshing when you see different face among all these "look at me I`m so retro" synths. But when you press key the real fun starts. This synth sounds so good, so fat! Surprise, or maybe not, if you are used to reFX quality. With PlastiCZ you can make some really good bass lines, leads, organ or FM Piano sounds and that's not all. This VSTi comes with 128 presets and 10 onboard effects. Leslie, Bitcrusher,Phaser..., you get hand full of simple but functional effects with this beast. My favorites are Talkbox and TranceGate. I must mention that PlastiCZ can be dirty or clean as you want it to be, but it always stays fat and realistic. PlastiCZ is a serious tool with it`s own character.

P.S I`m new here. Hello to everybody.

Latest 7 reviews from a total of 7

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Vospi
Vospi
18 December 2016 at 2:59pm

This plugin benefits very much from using VST Oversampler by ArkeCode. It's just so designed that it tends to introduce a lot of aliasing. WIth the oversampler, highs are much more clear and don't tend to overcloud a sound with harsh sibilance. Very recommended.

Please log in to join the discussion

PlastiCZ

Average user rating of 4.43 from 7 reviews

reFX
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
57 people have added PlastiCZ to 7 My KVR groups 63 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 2196  1464  2100

30-Day: 2646; 7-Day: 4710; Yesterday: 6266

FEATURED
48% Off
SpeakerSpeaker Modelling
by AudioThing
  $19.00
Add A Review My KVR
Was $19.00; Save $9.25 until 30 Jun 2018!
Advertisements