Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for polyIblit

Rate & Review polyIblit Now!

Reviewed By vegardyrnes [read all by] on 19th May 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by vegardyrnes on 19th May 2018.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I really like this one.

Reaper is my main choice of DAW (I am making EDM), and this synthesizer absolutely does the job.

There are quite a few freebies at hand now, and a few stand out. This is one of them.

It sounds great and it has an analog feel to it. The presets are good at making a start point for the sounds that I need and maybe there should have been more of them. But the makers seem to have chosen quality over quantity here.

3 oscillators with mixer possibilities do the job, envelopes and LFO's can be tweaked to your liking.

The pulsating tones and noises are my favorites, but hey, -t that's me. Adjusting the levels and tweeting knobs is easy although they could have been a bit bigger. So could the overall GUI.

Anyway, I am excited about this synth and can't wait to explore the sounds and effects properly.

I recommend it, especially for those who are into making EDM and techno.

Reviewed By wikter [read all by] on 28th November 2004
Version reviewed: 1.006 on Windows
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Maybe it's not the best virtual instrument for long convolving pads, but their oscillators and filters has enough thickness to fit it's sound quality among some analog machines.
I use it for basses and leads, and sometimes for a soft analog pad, but it is the king of bass sounds for some electronic styles. The envelopes fast response and also a faster filter than most around the net (free & commercial) will open you a door to get punchy sounds with only one oscillator... but there are two more to thicken the sound. In this point, the resonance may not work as you'd like, in fact doesn't autooscillate easily, but it helps keeping control over the sound... and if autoosc is needed, just push the reso to the top....

To use it you should have some experience with other easier instrument, because it's modulation capabilities are enough complex to get lost when modifying presets to fit a sound within a mix.

And referring to some of the questions about doc, support... I've never needed the documentation, and neither those presets (that are really useful, but just presets), and I've never thought:
"oh, sh** it'd be great to have a thing here to do somthing" or the opposite when I've found a lack.
Maybe its user interface is not the best due to its distribution and because all the knobs are of the same size, but when you get used to it that's not a problem.

It's correct and useful, and like analog machines, you'll have to tweak very fine it's knobs to get the sound that you're looking for (but sure you'll find it).
Reviewed By origami [read all by] on 22nd November 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0.0.6 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Polyblit is one of the synths I've used most frequently. Being based mainly on free synths, this is one of the most important and versatile synths in my humble arsenal.
why?
well, to begin with, this is one of the best substractive synths available. and I'm not only referring to free synths.
The thing has got 3 oscillators, every one with all the possible and usual waveforms, and all enroutable to 4 lfos (!), filters, etc
In that way, you are able to create almost every possible sound: pads, basses, strange effects...
It sounds very analogue, and I would compare it to the Polysix.

It may lack onboard effects, and that may make you think sometimes that some sounds are too plain. Add a reverb and maybe a delay and you'll be blown! you'll see it can compete with many of the best soft synths available.

I like the GUi, it's very clear; it's not completely easy to use, since it has a lot of commands and modulation routes, but it's worth the effort.

The presets are many and good, they cover pads, basses, etc

And the price...well that can be tricky. When we talk about synths that cost ehem... 0 euros, we are usually inclined to make allowances. Well, forget about allowances here. This synth is one of those you're amazed they're free. get it, you won't regret it.
Reviewed By origami [read all by] on 22nd November 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0.0.6 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Polyblit is one of the synths I've used most frequently. Being based mainly on free synths, this is one of the most important and versatile synths in my humble arsenal.
why?
well, to begin with, this is one of the best substractive synths available. and I'm not only referring to free synths.
The thing has got 3 oscillators, every one with all the possible and usual waveforms, and all enroutable to 4 lfos (!), filters, etc
In that way, you are able to create almost every possible sound: pads, basses, strange effects...
It sounds very analogue, and I would compare it to the Polysix.

It may lack onboard effects, and that may make you think sometimes that some sounds are too plain. Add a reverb and maybe a delay and you'll be blown! you'll see it can compete with many of the best soft synths available.

I like the GUi, it's very clear; it's not completely easy to use, since it has a lot of commands and modulation routes, but it's worth the effort.

The presets are many and good, they cover pads, basses, etc

And the price...well that can be tricky. When we talk about synths that cost ehem... 0 euros, we are usually inclined to make allowances. Well, forget about allowances here. This synth is one of those you're amazed they're free. get it, you won't regret it.
Reviewed By lykwydchykyn [read all by] on 13th May 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0.0.3 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is currently one of the best freeware VA's out there. Great sounds and very flexible modulation routing. I do have some minor technical problems with it in Sonar, even with the 1.0.0.3 update, I hope these get worked out. But sonically it does not disappoint. If you haven't tried it out what are you waiting for? It's great for your pads and leads, especially. Kind of hard to figure out offhand how the filter routing works, I've had to hit the manual a few times on that one; what it looks like it does isn't what it sounds like it's doing. Still this thing is great to have in your arsenal.
Reviewed By Enarje [read all by] on 28th November 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is my first review but what better synth is there to do one on that this great polyphonic synth! The fact that it's free is criminal considering some of the wicked sounds you can get out of it. Not that i'm complaining though...I've been using this synth for a while now and i'm glad to see it has been updated and that Andreas Ersson is keeping up the good work. Here are some of the features I like best about it:

a) Wide range of sounds, from deep basses to light string like sounds...

b) Lot's of control (3 Oscillators, pwm, two mixers etc etc) so you can tweak it to the max.

c) A distinctive character. I find it has a distinct feel whereas many synths that get released do not, and I feel that they should.

d) Lots of presets (It has a lot more than Iblit) that are a good starting point.

e) It hasn't crashed me yet (touch wood) so it's solid as a rock (but thats using Orion so I don't know about Cubase/Sonic users etc).

That's the main things and I have few qualms about it other than that I find the skin a bit uninspiring and it's not that well documented as far as I can see ...Also I don't like the direction you move the mouse to change the values (I prefer up/down not side to side). Apart from that It does the biz...spot on from Ers.

Latest 6 reviews from a total of 6

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
BlackWinny
BlackWinny
17 January 2014 at 5:42pm

Now you will find it here in my DepositFiles space where I put some freeware (and exclusively freeware) VSTs that have disappeared from the web, their original website being discontinued :

http://dfiles.eu/folders/HOUQN3MVZ

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
5 April 2014 at 12:14am

The previous link above didn't work. The URL shown is right but the link came back to the KVR page.

So it should work now:

http://dfiles.eu/folders/HOUQN3MVZ

(the version of the VST is the last that has been released: 1.1.3.2)

Qirequiam
Qirequiam
20 May 2015 at 5:12am

Thank you for keeping that up, you have no idea how awesome it is to finally found an archive like this.

sOktay
sOktay
19 May 2018 at 10:56am

If the dfiles link shows no downloads, try this one:

http://vst4free.com/free_vst.php?plugin=PolyIblit&id=241

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
19 May 2018 at 11:46am

Yes, I'm not any more on Dfiles, too many issues. I have bought a real personal domain. Now all is here:

http://hsjp.eu/mao/freeware/

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

sOktay
sOktay
19 May 2018 at 11:51am

Ah, that explains it! :) Nice collection btw.

Please log in to join the discussion

polyIblit

Average user rating of 3.83 from 6 reviews

Andreas Ersson
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
75 people have added polyIblit to 11 My KVR groups 86 times
+6 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1574  1517

30-Day: 1698; 7-Day: 1179; Yesterday: 1594

FEATURED
48% Off
SpeakerSpeaker Modelling
by AudioThing
  $19.00
Add A Review My KVR
Was $19.00; Save $9.25 until 30 Jun 2018!
Advertisements