Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Pro-Q 2

Rate & Review Pro-Q 2 Now!

Reviewed By stardustmedia [read all by] on 20th May 2014
Version reviewed: 1.23 on Mac
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

10/10 for a clean EQ for technical and surgical usage with up to 24 (!!!) bands.

I use that clean, very versatile EQ every day on almost every channel at least as the LPF/HPF. It is my standard channel strip EQ right in the beginning before any other plugin.

Very helpful are the "solo" buttons to listen to the frequency range you're actually tweaking. Also awesome is that you can mark several bands at once and move them together in frequency and/or gain, whether you do it with the mouse or the knobs.

Thanks to the wonderful GUI, I also always use it to reduce resonance frequencies.

Want to work on MS? Easy done. Just change the whole EQ from L/R mode to M/S mode. Every band can be set separately to M, S or both, or respectively L, R or both.

The analyzer can be set to different settings (resolution) and on different signal path points: pre, post and pre&post. Very helpful.

On top of that, you can also choose between non linear phase with zero latency to different linear phase modes with different latency settings.

Although not my first choice for musical Eqing, the possibility to go up to 30kHz and work with a Baxandall bell curve can bring some nice high end shine.

For surgical and correction issues I wished you could switch every band independently to LR or MS. Let's hope that's possible in v2, although I'm not even sure if this is possible within one plugin ;)

And maybe Fabfilter starts to implement different GUI sizes in future versions.

Nevertheless: This is a must-have-workhorse-EQ for every DAW.

Reviewed By xtrax [read all by] on 31st October 2013
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Mac.
Last edited by xtrax on 29th August 2014.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Pro-Q Vers. 1.23 is amazing channel eq, and on zero latecy mode sounds like it is in analogue phase mode. Sounds smooth, clean, transparent, and has nice stereo vibe. For cutting extremely useful, and has GUI one of the kind in the world of plugins. Also linear phase modes are under your command, if you need them. Practical, and flexible eq with unique possibilities of splitting bands between M/S, L/R what is very useful in the painting with sound over the sound picture. When you working with Pro-Q you always want to watch his display like magic is happening that moment. Analyzer is also very good without noticeable latency, and can be assigned to Pre, Post or Pre+Post. Pro-Q can be automated thru MIDI with great precision and flow without any audio artifacts. Highly recommended workhorse eq that sounds very good in the mix. Very focused sound, and in correction cut's keeps source's integrity very well. The most important fact is that is light on your CPU. For the next update V2 we expect to find 18db/oct. low cut slope inside hopefully.

10 out of 10 without any thinking.

Pro-Q V2 is now one of a kind with all possibilities that offers. Fabfilter did it again and released V2 of the well known eq with a lot of improvements in all ways. New mode "Natural Phase" gives extreme transparency and smoothness while retains cleanness and preserves transients even better from V1. Linear phase mode is also improved with quality settings up to the Max. Mastering on this mode is a pure joy. Zero Latency mode is also improved sonically. Full screen mode is so good to go into smallest details, and keyboard with notes that shows frequency of every note with +/- cents if you don't work on 440 tuning (sick) standard is really helpfull. Auto gain compensation, Optional Gain-Q interaction, Filter shapes: Bell, Notch, High/Low Shelf, High/Low Cut, Band Pass, Tilt Shelf, Different interface sizes and additional Full Screen mode, EQ Match feature to automatically match the spectrum of another track via the side-chain input, Phase Invert option to change polarity, Highly improved CPU optimization: Pro-Q 2 uses less memory and is more than twice as efficient as its predecessor! Built-in spectrum analyzer with Pre-EQ, Post-EQ and SC modes, adjustable range, speed, resolution, tilt and freeze, Spectrum Grab: just grab and adjust a peak in the real-time spectrum analyzer right away.

This eq is something that you will like at the first try.

Again 10 out of 10.

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Discussion: Active


28 August 2014 at 9:15amstardustmedia

Is that an update? Since it installs parallel, it should be seen as a product of its own.

29 August 2014 at 10:13amEclectus

Yes and no, I think. They are no longer selling Pro-Q 1 on their website, so according to Fabfilter I would think that it really is an update. I believe that the parallel install is a compatibility measure. It prevents us from having to update our existing projects.

2 March 2015 at 2:56pmmackietron

'Upgrading to Pro-Q 2

Upgrading from Pro-Q version 1 to the new Pro-Q 2 is safe and easy: installing Pro-Q 2 willnot replace or delete the previous Pro-Q 1 plug-in. Both versions will co-exist and can both be used at the same time. This ensures that you can open old songs that use Pro-Q 1 without problems! Of course, FabFilter Pro-Q 2 opens all presets from Pro-Q 1 without problems. See Upgrading to Pro-Q 2 for more information.'


28 August 2014 at 4:29pmaudiosabre

The price is actually £124, not £149.


16 January 2017 at 4:08ammoonchunk

Anyone have both this and Spline EQ by Photosounder, and have an opinion on whether this is better/equal/worse? Both have linear EQ capabilities and I'm curious if anyone feels that one is more transparent than the other, more useable or preferable in some way, etc.

Please log in to join the discussion

Pro-Q 2

Average user rating of 5.00 from 2 reviews

 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
394 people have added Pro-Q 2 to 28 My KVR groups 511 times
+23 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 123  98  123

30-Day: 85; 7-Day: 92; Yesterday: 128