Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New#KVRDeals
Pro-53byNative Instruments

User Reviews by KVR Members for Pro-53

Rate & Review Pro-53 Now!

Reviewed By AnotherBob [read all by] on 28th March 2004
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows
9.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Pro52 was my first VSTi I purchased other than what was included with my DAW. I still remember the excitement of installing it on my screen and looking at the beautiful interface. It gave me a rush of excitement as I thought about the last time I played a real Prophet 5. As a first purchase it set expectations that have not been matched by other instruments and developers. Later Native Instruments provided a free upgrade to Pro53. This early product still has an excellent sound when compared to other, newer products. Maybe the most important feature of Pro53 is the amazingly low CPU load required by such a good sounding instrument.

This product is not going to give you rhythmic pads with 32 step eg’s or any type of synthesis other then subtractive, but what you get is of excellent quality. You can fill a lot of parts with Pro53 before having to consider freezing tracks. The bass is good, pads are smooth and leads can cut. It has a better oscillator sync sound than any VSTi I own. This is the sound that helped to make the real Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 an in demand product 20+ years ago. NI’s Pro53 does not stop with features available only on the original Prophet 5. They have added effects, touch response, and more.

Make no mistake, Pro53 not sound just like a real Prophet 5, and no VSTi has reached the point of sounding truly analog. Pro53 has a sound that is just a bit thinner, cleaner and edgier than the real Prophet. Even so, it sounds good and to most, it is close enough. I truly with other products could match the sound/CPU load ratio of the Pro52.

User Interface - Looks nice and is not too large.
Sound - Very good.
Features - Basic subtractive analog with oscillator sync plus effects.
Documentation - A very nice book. One of the best.
Presets - Plenty of usable sounds.
Customer Support - Good considering how many customers NI must have.
Value For The Money - A bit expensive for a basic subtractive VA but worth it for the sound quality and the low CPU requirement.
Stability - Never crashes my system.

Copy Protection - Occasional CD check.
Frequency Of Use - Most every song.
CPU Load - Very light.
Remote Patch Change - Patch increment and decrement works from my keyboard workstation, but bank change has no effect.
Fun Factor - Medium.

I would buy it again, even with all the new competition.
Reviewed By Mighty_Hero [read all by] on 5th February 2003
Version reviewed: 3.0 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
First off, I tried the 52 demo around 6 months ago, and I was not all that impressed simply for the fact, the old style GUI had switches and the presets were a little above par,but once you understand a little about synth programming, and or, find some of the better patches available: whole different ballgame.
This synth is a pretty good replication of the prophet-5 synth, that was used ALOT back in the day.
the GUI makes sense if you read the manual and have some knowledge of programming, whether it be from other synths, or from reading.
The presets for the most part are great, but some sound weak, thin, and some, just plain weird (bleeps and wind type sounds).......but because of these other oddity sounds, this should show you, this synth is capable of making ALL types of sounds/instruments....from pads, to nasty leads, to a taser gun sound, sounding like it came from a toy gun.
Overall, for all the patches you get, the free update from 52/53, the additional patches around, and for the pretty damn close replication of the prophet type sounds.......it is a great value for the money....espically when considering, this is JUST the type of synth to make your own sounds with.
Not sure about the support, since I have had no problems at all registering this synth, downloading things for it, and or had any crashes. But for this, I would have to say their support is good, because I have not needed it at all.
Pro 53 has other really nice features such as the analog dial, which the more you turn it, makes this synth sound less digital and other nice options like saving patches as all files, or just single banks.......and for the fact you can make great sounds with it very quickly. Worth every penny.
Reviewed By AD80 [read all by] on 26th January 2003
Version reviewed: pro 53 on Windows
9.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is quickly becoming my favorite synth. I have to admit its a little too expensive but its still great. I found it for $139 at zzounds.com. Its very easy to program and It sounds awsome! I dont have a real Prophet so I cant really compare the two but I dont really care, it sounds good period. Its the most versatile synth I've used. Basslines, Pads, Leads, effects, anything sounds good with this thing. As far as features are concerned, I feel that there could be more. I know that its supposed to recreate a classic but I feel it should be a classic with some modern tech built in. The delay/chorus effect is great but I think they could have gone further and added an arpeggiator or an EQ, or made it multi timbral. Maybe pro-54 will add something :)
Reviewed By coldmachine [read all by] on 23rd November 2002
Version reviewed: 53 on Windows
6.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The interface is nice,looks thike the real thing.The sound is the problem.Most people here may not have used the real P5 and this is a long way short.As NI themselves told John Bowen....Its ok for those we aim to sell it to.The"Prophet Plus" by John Bowen however is in a totally different league.The sound is exact.Try it if you have a pulsar.
Reviewed By Rabid [read all by] on 7th June 2002
Version reviewed: 3.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Rabid on 17th May 2003.
9.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Pro52 was the first software synthesizer I purchased after upgrading to Sonar. Native Instruments is a great company and one of the first to support DXi’s. I own most everything they have released. Pro52 is what it is, a software emulation of the SC-P5. As great as it was when it first came out this soft synth has lost much of it luster. The release of the Pro53 update moves this synth back into common usage. It sounds good and looks good, but the sound generation is very simple. The hard sync patches are wonderful, as are the basic pads.

This is one of the most CPU efficient VSTi's available. The great sound and low CPU make for a wonderful combination. It does not have the complex multistage eg's found in many newer synths, but it does not really need them. The pads sit well in the background, and the leads are sweet.

The one thing I don't really like about the Pro53 is the patch system. It had a huge amount of patches but there is no real organization. Any new owner needs to spend some time arranging the patches into logical banks. If will save you time in the long run.

Robert

Latest 5 reviews from a total of 5

Discussion: Active

Discussion

14 October 2013 at 6:56pmSteveBrian

bought the DSI Prophet 08 but the Pro-53 is still massive !! :-D.

6 October 2014 at 4:39pm=dark3zz=

is there still a download ?? for the OS X Mavericks ??

Please log in to join the discussion

Pro-53

Average user rating of 8.40 from 5 reviews

Native Instruments
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
189 people have added Pro-53 to 13 My KVR groups 213 times
+7 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 987  707  964

30-Day: 1140; 7-Day: 784; Yesterday: 2409

Advertisements