What is KVR Audio? | Submit News | Advertise | Developer Account

Options (Affects News & Product results only):

OS:
Format:
Include:
Quick Search KVR

"Quick Search" KVR Audio's Product Database, News Items, Developer Listings, Forum Topics and videos here. For advanced Product Database searching please use the full product search. For the forum you can use the phpBB forum search.

To utilize the power of Google you can use the integrated Google Site Search.

Products 0

Developers 0

News 0

Forum 0

Videos 0

Search  

User Reviews by KVR Members for Razor

Rate & Review Razor Now!

8.00
Reviewed By FarleyCZ on 21st October 2013
OS: Version: 7.
Last edited by FarleyCZ on 21st October 2013.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Razor ... eh ... let me tell you. Untill Razor, I thought I'm a audio geek. But once I've seen what this Errorsmith accomplished in freaking Reaktor. I mean WHAT?!?

Features: 9/10.

So what the hell is it? Let's put it this way. Additive synthesis used to be all about "adding" those harmonics to the fundamental. What Errorsmith realized is, that it's not just about level. You have all sorts of other stuff you can do with bunch of partials. Shifting them, retunning them in milion ways, you can mimic filters, mimic analog behaviour and so on and so on. To be fair, synths like Alchemy had function of altering different parameters of partials before, but the way it's introduced in Razor is amazing. Intuitive, quick, clean.

Sound: 9/10.

It's hard to compare Razor to anything. Hard to judge on any level. If you like any kind of "traditional" sounds, either electronic or acoustic, Razor will dissappoint you, becouse it sounds like no other thing on earth. If you like experimental stuff, you won't believe your ears. It really is that good. It has it's character, so, espcially when used for bass, you can identify it even in other people's work ... which can be said about 303 also and nobody gives a damn about it, so I guess it's a good thing. :)

GUI: 8/10.

Looks nice, well thought. Loving the spectral view. You see what's happening all the time. Nice touch. I don't like how it's big. That's common problem with todays plugins for me. They don't care about 1366x768 pix laptop monitors anymore. :/ (Much worse in Prism though.)

Value: 7/10.

It blows your mind, when you think about this thing being built in Reaktor. I mean it had to take ages, or this Errorsmith is genius on his own. ...having said that, this being Reaktor ensemble drags it down a little. For sure, you can use it to learn Reaktor, but honestly, when just producing, you want it to load instantly, not after opening Reaktor and browsing through your ensemble database. I've seen some ensembles that made it into a real software, kinda hope this happens here also. But aside that, this synth si crazy. It gives whole new meaning to the expression "additive synthesis", I really recomend you to at least try it. :)

Cheers,
Martin.

Click here to read all 5 reviews

Discussion: Active

Discussion

23 March 2012 at 4:49pmSarahBellum

WARNING !!

what Native Instruments don't tell you anywhere is that while Razor will load and play in Reaktor Player you have to buy the full version of Reaktor to use Razor as intended. In Reaktor Player none of it's controls are assignablefull to MIDI (either in a DAW or to a control surface), so no real time 'wub-wub' or 'meow' bases.

If you only have Reaktor Player then don't waste your money on Razor

10 August 2013 at 5:07ammurnau

so you finally find out why it's named "player" do you? :D.

10 August 2013 at 9:46amSarahBellum

maybe you should re-read what I typed or get a grow up to explain it to you before you type anything as your comment makes no sense.
I knew the difference between 'Player' and 'Full', but my comment (posted a year and half ago) was about NI claiming Razor would work with 'Player' - It does not. That is all. - jus' sayin, think before you reply.

10 August 2013 at 10:21ammurnau

everybody know the restrictions of player (like no midi-assign) but you. so you blame a feature player never had on a specific release like razor. lol

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

10 August 2013 at 11:10amSarahBellum

not at all. Razor was sold as being fully compatible with 'player' so it's quite reasonable for anyone to expect it to be 'fully compatible', but it wasn't. You can make a pointless argument if you like, but N.I. agreed with me as they apologised and refunded me in full 18 months ago.

Also, it's naive and childish to assume that 'everybody knows' anything,.. where's your proof. There are soundbanks sold as 'fully compatible with Player' which are fully compatible,.. Razor is not one of them, that is all I was saying 18 months ago.

Also, at no point have I blamed 'player' for anything,.. as I said, re-reading my post may help you understand what I said, but as I posted this 18 months ago it seems a bit late and irrelevant to misunderstand it now.

25 January 2013 at 9:25pmCytem01

On the NI website, they have it listed for $99 now instead of $79. No announcement or anything, they just upped the price. Way to run an honest business Native Instruments.

10 August 2013 at 5:05ammurnau

"Reaktor only causes me frustration, causing projects in Cubase to crash and or become corrupted and not openable.".

LOL.

11 August 2013 at 11:06pmspirit

+I.

I own Razor & Reaktor and fully sympathize about the presets. I've also been using Reaktor for years and still can't understand the preset management system - it's a woeful mess. Likewise I have trouble getting the right version of Razor to open - the player version always seems to want to be the one that loads and I always have to fiddle about trying to get the other version. That alone is a real disincentive to use this synth.

27 August 2013 at 10:11pmJohnny!

KVR reports current version as 1.0, but the synth was updated 3 times now, with current version numer being 1.3.

27 September 2013 at 8:14amGreg Houston

I would pay $300 easy for a standalone Razor that uses a tenth as much CPU. That is my dream synth.

I absolutely love the sound of Razor. I love making presets with it. However Reaktor is a nightmare. Reaktor causes my DAW to crash for out of the blue, it's preset management is stupendously convoluted, and it will often corrupt my projects. It is really really really rare that a Reaktor based instrument will make it to the final mix on one of my projects. So that is a huge strike against Razor. The next one is the obscene amount of CPU it uses.

So my dream synth is a version of Razor that is stable like Massive and low CPU like Massive.

28 October 2013 at 4:51amUser3333

Hello, for a Windows 7 PC with a decent graphics card how good does your CPU need to be approximately - eg, Intel i5 is ok? In other words for those who have issues with running Razor what is your CPU and RAM specification? Thanks in advance.

28 October 2013 at 7:37amGreg Houston

I have an i7 with 16 GB or RAM. I don't think there is a really a set up right now that you will be able to use more than one or two instances of Razor.

28 October 2013 at 4:54amUser3333

Hello, I'd like to confirm if the free version of Reaktor (player) is sufficient to use most or all the options of Razor. Thanks.

28 October 2013 at 10:04amUser3333

I have an Intel i7 860 @ 2.80GHz and require one instrument/instance of Razor played at a time. They say that a dual core notebook may struggle so Quad core should be sufficient. Thanks. Btw, Image line Harmor looks inferior in appearance to Native Instruments.

28 October 2013 at 11:07amWildfunk

"Harmor looks inferior" in comparison with Razor???

Razor...

  • can't import own waveforms.
  • can't import wav/mp3 samples.
  • can't edit timbres.
  • uses too much cpu.
  • only has 2 osc/14 waveforms.
28 October 2013 at 12:19pmjottinger

Yeah, Razor's kinda... expensive. That said, it sounds nice; I haven't really had that much of a problem with the settings management. Most of the criticisms of Razor seem aimed at Reaktor.

28 October 2013 at 11:25amUser3333

Hi I would like to use Razor via my Roland A-500 Pro MIDI keyboard and NI say in the comparison to Reaktor 5 that Reaktor Player allows: Total Recall and full automation in your DAW

..so that should mean in Reaktor Player I can assign the pitch bend and knobs (hardware) to Razor (software) - eg open or close filters via the Roland.

is this true or does Reaktor Player allow only the keys to operate on the screen? sounds strange that NI would disable the sliders, knobs, pitch bend in Reaktor Player but just allow the keys.

I'm interested in Razor and Prism for the moment and don't need a lot of the other items they bundle in Komplete 9 standard.

btw I reckon Harmor does not look as good as Razor in user interface appearance, im not comparing the audio quality or features. Thanks.

28 October 2013 at 11:59amSarahBellum

the answer is in the first post on this page - NO, IT DOES NOT.

28 October 2013 at 12:36pmUser3333

Sarah I read your comments today but maybe your setup is different or a few years ago. I've got a Quad Core i7 supporting Windows 7 Prof, Cubase Artist 7, Roland UA-55 Quad Capture, and the Roland A-500 Pro. That's a fairly good setup for my bedroom DJ'ng & producing and the quality or lack-of might be causing the bottleneck at your end. Could you enlighten me on the setup of your equivalent items or should I just accept that only the full version of Reaktor will enable all the controls. I am about to press the "Submit Payment" button and I don't yet have any NI products except from 1999 which are in the bin. Cheers.

28 October 2013 at 1:09pmjottinger

User3333, I don't know what setup Sarah has either, but I noticed on *my* quadcore i7 that razor had a distinct and measurable impact. I think the synth is worth the investment (I invested!) and GOLLY it's pretty, but it IS CPU-intensive in its normal configurations. (I say that because I can imagine you can turn off things and use less CPU - my PC is in the shop right now or I'd measure and test this.)

28 October 2013 at 12:58pmUser3333

in addition to post 28 October 2013 at 4:36am even though the keyboard and audio interface are midiable I am using USB v2 cables, not MIDI.

28 October 2013 at 1:17pmSarahBellum

the limitations of Reactor Player mean that you cannot assign controllers to Razor. I requested refund for Razor from N.I. on the grounds that they didn't make clear that due to the limitations of Reactor Player it meant that modules (inc Razor) could not be MIDI assigned - they refunded without any fuss :)

It maybe that this has been amended in more recent versions of player.
Instead I use Alchemy, Zeta2, and SynthmasterCM :)

28 October 2013 at 1:40pmUser3333

Great news. Appears that November 2013 versions and the controller links to desktop via USB v2 and audio interface the same enables the knobs & pitch bend (no midi). We could be in a place of quality-increasing VST synths where the traditionals are now questioning why pay top-dollar for an Access music Virus when instead buy Alchemy?

Please log in to join the discussion

Razor

Average user rating of 8.60 from 5 reviews

Native Instruments
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
212 people have added Razor to 10 My KVR groups 253 times
+5 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 150  109  148

30-Day: 194; 7-Day: 143; Yesterday: 228

Advertisements
u-he Synth Bundle Giveaway