What is KVR Audio? | Submit News | Advertise | Developer Account

Options (Affects News & Product results only):

OS:
Format:
Include:
Quick Search KVR

"Quick Search" KVR Audio's Product Database, News Items, Developer Listings, Forum Topics and videos here. For advanced Product Database searching please use the full product search. For the forum you can use the phpBB forum search.

To utilize the power of Google you can use the integrated Google Site Search.

Products 0

Developers 0

News 0

Forum 0

Videos 0

Search  

User Reviews by KVR Members for Reason

Rate & Review Reason Now!

9.00
Reviewed By robojam on 5th December 2013
OS: Version: 8.1
Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Reason seems to be one of those love it or hate it tools for most people and sits in a space that's not quite plugin and not quite DAW. Personally I love it, and have used it since version 4, and have seen quite a few changes in that time.

To me, one of the best decisions that Propellerheads made was to consolidate Reason and Record into one tool, as it made no sense to keep them separate. It certainly extends the range of Reason to give it audio capabilities, and it has a very good mixer.

While third party plugin use has never been a feature of Reason, the Props came to a compromise and brought RE functionality to the table. RE may have failed if third parties had not developed for the platform, but when you look at the respected developers creating RE's, you have to realize that Reason is taken seriously as a platform for them to develop for.

At the core of Reason is a variety of tools that can be routed to a mixer as in any other DAW, but with the advantage that you can easily flip your racks around to patch any device to pretty much any other device. If you have no experience of this on other hardware or software there's a learning curve for sure, but once you master this, you really see the strengths of Reason.

I won't go into the details of each instrument on the racks as it would take up too much space, but Reason certainly has a wide range of instruments, covering various types of percussion, synthesizers, samplers and effects. The Props web site is a good place to start if you want to read further into what is included.

A common complaint that I have heard on KVR is that Reason relies on ReWire to communicate with other software. ReWire is not for everyone, but as it is implemented in most major DAWs and is pretty simple to set up, I'm happy with it and have never really had any issues using Reason and Ableton Live side by side. A recent addition is MIDI out, so that really opens up more opportunities with external instrument triggering, and any other uses for MIDI out.

On the downside, Reason does have a very cluttered GUI if you don't have a large monitor, and gets very fiddly on laptops. I think it is a little difficult to learn coming from other DAWs or hardware, but as with any tool, you can learn it over time.

Solid as a rock as far as stability is concerned and very efficient in terms of processor use. Some of the tools might have a bigger processor hit (Kong comes to mind), but for the most part they are very efficient.

I think it is priced very fairly, and upgrades come in at a reasonable price too.

9.00
Reviewed By TheOfficialValve on 1st December 2013
OS: Version: Any.
Last edited by TheOfficialValve on 1st December 2013.
0 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Propellerhead Reason is probably one of the most versatile tools in the music world you will ever find. This program emulates the classic synthesizer rack, along with a sampler, sequencer and a virtual mixer. Of course, all the standard assets are there, such as MIDI, sampling, blah, blah, blah, and at first glance reason may seem like any other DAW, but look harder and you'll see this is no ordinary software. It includes easy-to-use and professional plug-ins such as Subtractor, Malstrom, NN-19, NN-XT, Thor, Neptune, Sylenth, Alligator, among others. If you have experience with real-world hardware, such as synthesizers, samplers and racks, Reason is probably the most easy to learn for you, considering it is just that, just virtual. And you can connect some real racks and synthesizers in to DAW itself, so you get the same feel you did the first time you took out those real-world tools of the trade, while making it just that much easier. Whether you're a newbie, a professional, or just a guy who wants to make some music like you could with your old sampler, Reason is definitely for you.

Valve.

10.00
Reviewed By jjpscott01 on 8th August 2013
OS: Version: 7.1
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Reason 7 is an update that was clearly designed for the musician. I own or have owned Pro tools 8, Studio one 2, Fl Studio 11, Reaper 4 and now Reason 7. All have amazing feature sets and each Daw will bring something different to the table. The thing that worries me about these workstations growing and expanding more with every update is that while they are a blast to play with, musicians are being trapped into a web i'm sure we all have been familiar with. Its become too easy to "play" or "learn" or "experiment" with different options, choices, plugins, features, etc. Reason 7 is an update that was clearly designed to get out of the way. Making music is just too easy and too much fun with version 7. Its updates like audio time stretching, parallel processing and visual EQ spectrum's that may seem behind in terms of Daw innovation, but they are almost brilliantly integrated to the point where you almost get the sense Propellerhead are one step ahead of the game. Almost like they see that our options for music making in the Daw world have expanded to the point where us musicians will want a Daw that gets out of the way and just lets us do what we should spend our time doing anyway. Writing and producing our songs. I will continue to work with different workstations for different reasons. That is, if i can pull myself away from having too much music music in Reason 7.

10.00
Reviewed By eox08 on 13th February 2012
OS: Version: 7
1 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

I love Propellerhead's Reason! It's what I first started using back in version 3 and still use it to this day with version 6. Highly highly recommend it to anyone that is wanting to do music production. Excellent tool for beginners and the professionals. Reason taught me sound design and what the differences are in different style instruments. I had absolutely no idea what music production really looked like when I first started. In fact, I remember the first time I ran reason and had no idea what I was doing. I didn't have anyone to teach me, only google and youtube, but now I can route my instruments the way I want and my work flow is up to par. Reason is just a great software. Love it.

Latest 4 reviews from a total of 4

Discussion: Active

Discussion

13 February 2012 at 11:08pmliquidsound

Yes. A great workstation. I'm amazed at how easy is to create any kind of music style when sitting in front of that luxurious infinite stack of Synths and effects including the new Mixer. The audio stretching is impeccable! And the new effects are able to transform beyond recognition (if you so desire) any audio going through them.

17 October 2012 at 9:26pmDefaultUserName

Love the new workflow and the rack extensions, and i didn't think i would but it really opens up a new world of sonic capabilities.

3 December 2013 at 3:05pmzeebot

Terrible review, doesn't cover half of the things in reason and a glaring mistake saying that SYLENTH is included in the software??

This is obviously written by someone who doesn't know the software at all.

Please log in to join the discussion

Reason

Average user rating of 9.50 from 4 reviews

Propellerhead Software
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
147 people have added Reason to 8 My KVR groups 204 times
+3 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 255  180  249

30-Day: 227; 7-Day: 216; Yesterday: 163

Advertisements