Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for Spire

Rate & Review Spire Now!

Reviewed By street spirit [read all by] on 22nd February 2017
Version reviewed: 1.19 on Windows
9.00
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Finally after updating my PC from old amd core duo to quad core i5, I have the best VST synth i ever used.

Sounds excellent, but were it shines is the GUI. Cool skins, so easy to tweak, and just sexy as hell on my Dell high res screen.

Also good feeling when you saved a little, 20% and are 100% content with you purchase.

Get a kick out of the "Lets get ready to rock" message on init preset Lol.

If they add some neat like 3d wave table scan latest rage, Spire would be GOAT.

I want to give it 10, but will be reserved and say 9, just because it needs a few more customize sizes, say 130 or 140.

150 is a little big even on my 24 inch.

Reviewed By ssl4000 [read all by] on 27th October 2016
Version reviewed: 1.1.9 on Windows
10.00
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I love this synthesizer, I really do... It has such a modern, "bombastic" sound, so punchy, so clear. That is exactly what modern producers need and use.

Oscillators are amazing, it is very hard to reproduce certain presets in other synthesizers to sound exactly the same, I find Spire always a touch bit better sounding than competing synths, just a little bit better.

Detune and unison section is nice, it sounds very sylenth-like, I find that not too many plugins can make that gritty and clear at the same time, low end saw bass, Spire (and Sylenth) does that perfectly.

Filters. They are good, plenty to choose from. I'm not a filter phreak, but they sound very good to my ear. I especially like "acido".

Effects section is quality as well. Shaper can sound really really mean, and reverb is an effect that could be justified as a standalone plugin, it's that good.

Other things I'm in love with are envelopes (they sound so snappy! I love it) and X-Comp module, which makes your sounds so clicky and modern sounding, helps them to stand out in the mix. It sounds especially good with envelopes set to short decay. I love this compressor.

Presets are top notch, they are "hit-ready" I would say, not like in other synths which may be packed with presets but only 1/5 of them is usable. Here you will find sounds which fit track perfectly and hence this synth is used by so many producers. It has great 3rd party soundbank support as well.

CPU usage... It used to suck, but now all is changed. I recently did a comparison with Dune and Hive. Hive, the so called "CPU efficient" synth was the most hoggy of all 3 and Dune was the most efficient. Spire was in the middle. It was quite surprising as I thought Hive will use the least amount of CPU processing power (as it is marketed) but well... Maybe it is just mine PC that does something in a different way. Spire's CPU usage is fine then.

In practice I didn't find any disadvantages, so I'm giving it a fair 10/10, as it is my fav synth and I can't quite find any other plugin with such features, such remarkable sound and overhelming amount of 3rd party presets.

Reviewed By Dafunque [read all by] on 10th September 2014
Version reviewed: 10.9.4 on Mac
9.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The perfect synth, i haven't found it it yet.

Spire comes pretty darn close though.

I love its user-friendliness and the effect section, which has everything your need, and i mean everything.

I find the layout clear and the knobs big enough and easy to adjust.

Reveal-Sound has added a Matrix section in which one can hook up any LFO / Env / Osc / Arp etc etc to almost any other function of the Spire.

That makes it very versatile, but the way they set it up also makes it easy to get an overview of what is controlling what.

And then the most important thing: the sound.

I know i'm not allowed, so i won't, but i would almost leave it at WOW!.

The sound is simply great. Very deep to very sharp, very analog, but digital if you want it to be.

Once again, versatile. It can sound small or huge and both are easy to make yourself.

It four oscillators allow you to morph easily from one sound to the other. If one uses all 9 available voices x4 oscillators (36 voices!!!!) and turn the "Wide" knob to maximum on all oscillators... the word "wide" doesn't do justice to the amount of width you get.

There is loads more to be said about Spire, most of it good.

If i have one complaint, it would be that the LFO's apparently alway retrigger with every keystroke.

But if that's all that's wrong with it, then I can sure as hell live with it.

Reviewed By SPA_Audio [read all by] on 3rd May 2014
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows
10.00
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This Synth is so powerful clear and bright. Its amazing !! A must have and a new antagonist to Nexus2.

Reviewed By FarleyCZ [read all by] on 24th October 2013
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows.
Last edited by FarleyCZ on 24th October 2013.
9.00
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Spire is interesting. Out of the nowhere, in few days, hype like crazy. It reminds me of what happened with Dune few years back. Anyway, is it worth the hype? ...well ...yes.

Features: 8/10

This is the clever bit. It doesn't seem like, but under the hood, there is quite a lot of features. It starts with cute little oscilators being able to generate it's waveform by morphing, by FM, or by AM synthesis. Then it goes into unisono stage, which aside from classic parameters allows you to control even iregularity of detuning and way how voices are scaled from each other. Filters are cool. Few models to choose from. It ends up with badass effect unit. You see, why to have user choosing between regular distortion modes and bitcrushing, when all it takes is two extra knobs for having it all at once. This is the way of thinking I like. I'd love to see possibility to change order of effect signal chain though. It would take just one more tab at the FX area. The modulation stuff is just cherry on a cake. Whole bunch of LFO's, envelopes and step sequencers with (really) nice collection of destination to route them to.

Sound: 9/10

Really somewhere between Sylenth and Twin. Creamy, warm, but rough enough when you need it. It can lack "concentraion" on high frequencies sometimes, on the other side, when your sound needs to be "softer", Spire is right there for you. Even when you use stuff like FM synthesis that usually tends to be harsh. Effects have great quality to themselfs. Especially reverb is kind of cool for a built-in unit.

GUI 8.5/10

User interface is great. It's all really intuitive, straight nice flow. Where it needs to have some tabs, it has them, but only on small restricted areas, so the whole synth doeasn't dissapear when you need to adjust LFO speed, or something. Olny thing I'm missing is some kind of quick modulation assignment. Either knob related pop-up menus, or some drag'n'drop way. Just so we don't have to browse through the whole selection of destination.

Value 9/10

Price is set reasonably, eventhough I think seeing it permanently on discounted price would suit the synth much more as it is really nice bread & butter instrument. What makes it extremely valuable though is customer support. Developer is not just responsive, but also active, which is really breath of frash air having in mind another bread and butter softsynth of the history. ;) It still takes a bit higher CPU load, but developer is actively optimizing the code, so it got better already and it will continue to get in upcoming months. I strongly recommend you to try this little thing. Nice, fresh, easy, capable. Really appealing combination. :)

Cheers,
Martin.

Reviewed By Blake Arius [read all by] on 8th October 2013
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
8.00
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Believe the Hype about this plugin and get yourself a demo to hear yourself.

This plugin came off as another run of the mill synthesizer at first, but as soon as I listened to the presets, its become my go to plugin for its brilliant balance of simplicity and sound quality.

GUI 8/10

The interface is laid out to be incredible fast to navigate, though it is a bit plain. I could complain about the modulation matrix, Its packed too small and over several tabs, but still does the job well.

CPU Usage 6.5/10

I have the new haswell core i7, sits it at about 6% idle, around 35% on playing complex sounds and caps up to 55% when pushed. This isn't as bad as the Diva when it comes to performance. But takes about twice as much processing as the Sylenth1.

Sound Quality 9/10

The presets are some of the best i've heard come with a plugin. Though not extensive, you'll immediately be wanting to use some of the sounds straight away. While the plugin doesn't do analogue warmth like the Diva or great trance leads like the Synthmaster. What it does do is a brilliant balance between warmth an electro grittiness. It sounds brilliant on mid range frequency heavy hitting lead and base sound. These are sounds that are gonna take charge in your tracks. PADs and soft chorded sounds came out sounding alot more plain and boring.

Price: 6/10

At 140? its not cheap. If you already have an extensive plugin library like me, you wont find anything new or crazy on it that'll tempt you to buy it. If your building your plugin library, Spire is a brilliant place to start, due to its great presets and ease of use compared with other plugins.

Id recommend this plugin to newbies or if your bored of your other plugins. It does sound great, but at performance and cost. If it were priced at half of what it is and used a bit less CPU it'd be a must buy.

Overall 7.5

Review by Blake Arius

Latest 6 reviews from a total of 6

Discussion: Active

Discussion

11 May 2013 at 6:14pmPUSHA

This synth came out of nowhere and after one look I knew I had to try this. After first few minutes I knew this thing had a powerful engine. CPU load is a little high for my CPU, that doesnt mean everybody will have that problem, but still managed to get some very nice Poly sounds. Overall I give this a 7 out of 10. This Synth has tons of potential in my opinion.

14 May 2013 at 8:17pmLunaTech

I agree with PUSHA about the CPU usage but was able to get it down to about 4 - 7 % using the creative asio driver and not ASIO4ALL. The sound is absolutely amazing, very thick and epic. These are the sounds that will keep you awake at night :).

4 June 2013 at 4:28pmPUSHA

Really? I might have to check that out cause that's what I am using, ASIO4ALL, and I get lag. Is Creative ASIO free? Ive never heard of it before.

7 June 2013 at 9:55amqfoxecho

This Motherfucker is hot! I checked tons of VSTi Synths and most of them is garbage. Only a very few Synths comes near a highclass Hardwaresynth and Spire has what its takes.IMHO lots of potential. It plays for me in the Class of Native Instruments Massive when it comes to sound quality.

@pusha.

Its the ASIO Driver for his Soundcard.Dont use ASIO4ALL its shit. Buy an M-Audio Card, its very
cheap and has good sound and driver support.

16 July 2013 at 11:49amPUSHA

I love the fact that Spire is continuously updated. Great support from Reveal Sound. I hope this is just the beginning for this company. They seem to know what people want in a synth so hopefully they dont stop here and keep knocking out new instruments and effects.

9 October 2013 at 7:19pmBiscotto

Pure Pleasure! I have never made presets as fast as with this one.

Hopefully they will work on Spire growth and depth before moving to a new plugin.

21 November 2013 at 5:47pmkrypton_official

brilliant vst, and capable of virus ti hypersaw with only 1 osc.

11 February 2014 at 1:25pmBoe Larsen

I use it with Vienna Emsemble Pro 5 and Protools 11. Sounds great - however I experience a lot of hanging notes. Is this the place to get support… newbie to this forum. Boe.

11 February 2014 at 7:22pmBlackWinny

Hello Boe.

No, the right place is here.

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=248

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

21 February 2015 at 5:17pmoutofspace

nice sound but more CPU usage.

13 October 2016 at 1:06pmW23

Version 1.1.9 works REALLY REALLY WELL. Sounds just incredible! Uses a tiny bit more CPU than Hive and Dune2, maybe. It arguably sounds better (to my ears at least) than those two as well. It goes on sale periodically (more so than Dune2 or Hive) and is well worth the money spent. I don't EDM, so I don't have a much use for most of the presets but, it is super easy to tweak and get some great sounds that sit really well in a mix without a bunch of subsequent EQ or compression necessary. It also has some of the best sounding delay and reverb I've heard built into a synth (where most other synths fall short, though U-he's is just as good). I don't really like to jump on synth band wagons with people who make music I don't really like (not an EDM fan AT ALL) but, the SOUND of this synth is in a league all its own. I don't know if it's really better than what it's often compared to but, it's different, and that's good enough for me.

13 October 2016 at 1:57pmchk071

I totally agree, with everything you wrote. :)

Please log in to join the discussion

Spire

Average user rating of 9.17 from 6 reviews

Reveal Sound
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
251 people have added Spire to 15 My KVR groups 330 times
+10 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 109  82  109

30-Day: 118; 7-Day: 169; Yesterday: 251

Advertisements