What is KVR Audio? | Submit News | Advertise | Developer Account

Options (Affects News & Product results only):

OS:
Format:
Include:
Quick Search KVR

"Quick Search" KVR Audio's Product Database, News Items, Developer Listings, Forum Topics and videos here. For advanced Product Database searching please use the full product search. For the forum you can use the phpBB forum search.

To utilize the power of Google you can use the integrated Google Site Search.

Products 0

Developers 0

News 0

Forum 0

Videos 0

Search  

User Reviews by KVR Members for The Penultimate Trilogy

Rate & Review The Penultimate Trilogy Now!

There aren't any reviews yet!

Discussion: Active

Discussion

11 November 2012 at 5:16pmSarahBellum


http://www.anak-krakatoa.net/~downl/DC2012/tpt_1.0_01.zip - is corrupt

http://www.anak-krakatoa.net/~downl/DC2012/tpt_1.0_02.zip - the link is broken

:(

11 November 2012 at 5:29pmKrakatau

sorry, wait till monday i'll see what i can do...

11 November 2012 at 5:35pmSarahBellum

hi, cool, ok

ps - http://www.anak-krakatoa.net/~downl/DC2012/tpt_1.0_21.zip - is also corrupt and cannot completely unpack

the 10, 11, and 20 unpack okay

12 November 2012 at 12:55pmKrakatau

i just fixed the "1.0_0.2.zip" and checked out the ones that you showed to me as corrupted without noticing any issues after (re)downloading them

The only possible sign to encircle the problem that shines to me could be the that the compilation was made under MacOX (i'm mac-based), perhaps there's something incompatibilities with you unpacker software ?

12 November 2012 at 2:11pmSarahBellum

hi there, thanks, 1.0_0.2 downloaded and unpacked ok.

the zips with the errors are tpt_1.0_20.zip and tpt_1.0_21.zip both of which partially unpack,..

tpt_1.0_20 cannot unpack the contents of one folder - 'A/A others' - giving a 'the system cannot find the specified path' error for each file.

tpt_1.0_21 cannot unpack the contents of four folders - 'A#/A# others, B/B others, C/C others, and C#/C# others' - giving a 'the system cannot find the specified path' error for each file.

I use 'WinRAR' which is prob the best packer on the PC, but i also tried unpacking with 'Universal Extractor' and got similar warnings on the same folders.

hope this helps :) sarah

12 November 2012 at 6:20pmKrakatau

I'm afraid the only truly reliable solution i can give you would would be to ship it on a DVD to your postal address...

...PM me if interested

13 November 2012 at 9:43amchris_l

The problem with tpt_1.0_20.zip, tpt_1.0_21.zip and tpt_1.0_22.zip are that they contain folders that are called

"A others..." "A# others..." "B others..." etc etc.

When the extracting program (WinRAR, Universal Extractor, whatever) tells the Windows filesystem to create those folders, it will not do that, because..:

On Windows, you can not have a folder name that ends with a "." or a ".." or a "..." or a "...." - etc etc.

Instead of having a folder named "A others..." you get a folder named just "A others"

So when the extracting program tries to extract the files into the "A others..." folder, Windows gives an error, saying that "There is no folder named 'A others...' here" - and the extracting program comes up with "The system cannot find the specified path" error.

To solve this, you have to rename the folder names from "A others..." into "A others" etc. and then create new versions of tpt_1.0_20.zip, tpt_1.0_21.zip and tpt_1.0_22.zip

As a temporary workaround, we who have downloaded these versions with "A others..." etc, can use 7-Zip.

(I used 7-Zip 9.20 - this is the latest stable version).

7-Zip is "smart enough" to understand that since this is a Windows system, it has to rename the "A others..." folders into "A others" and tell the Windows filesystem to create folders with these names instead, and finally extract the contents of the archive into those renamed folders.

13 November 2012 at 10:12amchris_l

When using 7-Zip 9.20, I was able to extract all 9 archives perfectly.

741 AIF files in "Subsaharian Ethnotronics" (TPT_1.0_0x)

115 WAV files in "Marred Waters" (TPT_1.0_1x)

1289 WAV files in "Deep Spaces Light" (TPT_1.0_2x)

Btw, may we expect a 4th "Subsaharian Ethnotronics" (TPT_1.0_03) with 31-50 and 61-70?

And also a 4th "Deep Spaces Light" (TPT_1.0_23) with F#, G and G#?

And - this is just a guess - maybe there also exists a 4th "Marred Waters" (TPT_1.0_13) with K-M and U-Z?

13 November 2012 at 10:39amSarahBellum

thanks for the info Chris. I opened the zips in WinRAR, removed the ... from the folder names and they all unpacked fine

:) sarah

13 November 2012 at 1:13pmKrakatau

The "Subsaharian Ethnotronics" are divided into 90 folder, each corresponding on a same "spectrum sequence" itself rendered in the biggest number of octaves as possible, from up to down (spectrum synth room" for metasynth, for the insider)
The "Marred Waters" contains about 140 ambient loops of one minute each divided into 29 folders, each folder corresponding on a samed "image synth" ("image synth room" from metasynth, for the insider again)
the trick was to use different mono-samples of different nature, but following a same sequence or alike (determined by the image)
The "Deep Spaces" as you might figure out by now are divided on 12 folders corresponding on the 12 half-steps. just wait for the one that are lacking i hope to be finished tonight
Thanks for your patience, folks...

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

15 November 2013 at 4:03pmknossos

The website seems to be gone, I am redirected to http://ww2.anak-krakatoa.net/ which is a typical parked domain link page (in better words: useless) :((.

15 November 2013 at 7:56pmKrakatau

It Is défini tels., i need to built another one, please wait patiently,...please .

Please log in to join the discussion

 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
2 people have added The Penultimate Trilogy to 2 My KVR groups 2 times
+1 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 4567  203

30-Day: 5143; 7-Day: 5734; Yesterday: 7223

Advertisements
u-he Synth Bundle Giveaway