Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for Triangle II

Rate & Review Triangle II Now!

Reviewed By mhemnarch [read all by] on 16th September 2007
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Triange II is a solid VA monosynth, with a pretty good featureset. I wouldn't pay a lot for it if it was for sale (not with the amount of good freeware out there), but as a free plugin it's definitely worth your time.

Triangle II's sound comes from two main oscillators and a sub-oscillator. Its filters sound good, very thick and expressive, but they aren't as flexible as I'd like. Even with the delay, chorus, and other effects, this synth doesn't have as much variety as I'd like. You can make a good amount of sounds from it, yes, and they do sound good, but compared to many other synths (Crystal and Ouatmeal, for example) Triangle II isn't nearly as versatile as it could be.

To be fair, Triangle II's flaws don't stop it from being a darn good synth. It can make solid basses, cool (if bland) leads, and even the occasional pad. It has a nice, modern sound, not the earthy sound of a real analog synth but a cool sound in its own right. I'd say this synth is a must-download for synthesizer newbies, thanks to its straightforward interface and sound, and even worth a look for more experienced musicians.
Reviewed By djastroboy [read all by] on 2nd November 2005
Version reviewed: 1.11 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a good synth. If you are just comparing raw capabilities, it has a basic sound and features roughly comparable to synth1, but monophonic. So if you were gonna start all your patch programming efforts from scratch, you should probably just get synth1 and concentrate on that.
However, if you like to have lots of presets to listen to for song inspiration or just starting points to create new sounds, then you have to get Triangle II to mine the huge number of banks that are available here at KVR and other sites.

The basic sound of Triangle II is generic in a good way. It doesn't jump out at you the way that a Crystal or a Protoplasm does. It's 'in a good way` because you need those bread and butter sounds to round out your sonic creations.

Watch out when you hold down keys as you change presets, you will often be greeted by strange sounds that don't seem to come from the preset you started from or the one you ended up at.

Like synth1, CPU usage is tiny. Probably as little as any VST instrument.
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 16th May 2004
Version reviewed: 99999999 on Windows.
Last edited by Daedalus on 21st May 2004.
7.00
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is quite an nice VSTi. It's kind of like the Pentagon, but freeware. You can create some nice lead and bass sounds with this baby, but they aren't as good as the sounds that the Superwave P8 or Crystal can create. The Triange II is very stable and comes with some nice presets, although the presets don't give you a good example of wat the Triangle II is capable of.
Reviewed By Neil Hunter [read all by] on 2nd October 2003
Version reviewed: 1.11 on Windows
9.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is one fabulous FREE bit of kit. The presets are great, the GUI is intelligible and the best bit - it's FREE!!!!!

T2 has to be in every project studio's arsenal of VST synths, especially for those looking for that fat, analogue synth sound.
Although it's only a Mono synth, it can create soune superb lead sounds as well as bass/foundation notes.

Superb. It compares very well with Pentagon 1 which I paid for, but is obviously much less versatile. If you like T2, get P1 as well....Awesome stuff.

Neil, Sussex, UK.
Reviewed By geeseaplenty [read all by] on 16th April 2003
Version reviewed: 1.5? on Windows
9.00
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is one of the best monophonic synths out there. The effects are an added bonus. I love it on it's own, but for really fat complexity, open up two or three instances of this baby in your host and give 'em each a different sound. Whallah! You have an isn't multi-oscilator synth! And it's free!
Reviewed By kevvvvv [read all by] on 14th April 2003
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
10.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Possibly the best mono synth, whether free or otherwise.

Great for programming from scratch.

Great presets too.

Sound quality top notch.

Very versatile.

Ideal for beginner and pro alike. In fact it's a fabulous synth to learn on.

Because it's only mono and not poly, it's almost guaranteed you will want a Pentagon or Square just to get your hands on a poly Triangle II.

The only downside I can think of is that it's not poly.
Reviewed By progfusion74 [read all by] on 11th October 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows.
Last edited by progfusion74 on 11th October 2002.
9.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
When I first got Triangle II, I was a tad disappointed, because straight out of the box (so to speak), I preferred Triangle I (which I also use extensively), but as I started tweaking the knobs on TII, I realized how powerful it was. It is not necessarily "better" than Triangle I, but I find it more pleasing to tweak, especially realtime, while with the T1, I essentially use the presets of slightly modified versions. When it comes to analog-sounding basslines and portamento leads (esp the latter), I don't think there is a better VSTi out there and only the original Triangle matches it in its class and the complement each other perfectly as they have different characters. A must in any studio, esp if you are into Berlin-school electronica and/or into Keith Emerson/Larry Fast.
Reviewed By CoreTrooper [read all by] on 9th October 2002
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Triangle ll has been a main instrument in my arsenal since its first release.

The first time I used it I was going through the presets and lets just say the presets don't do it justice, out of all the presets 4-5 of them show the power of Trinagle ll, trying the synth again one day while bored I started from scratch to make sounds and the sounds I got out of this baby were so phatt its to be one of the best softsynths out there and the fact that its free to me is unbelievable.

The only thing that i found wrong was the lack of squeeky renosance while bringing up the filter cutoff, it has alot more that its older brother but its still a shame.. with a squeekier filter and some better presets it would be alot better, but regardless of that this instrument is a godsend.

Triangle 2 has drive not heard in other softsynth, check it out now or your missing out
Reviewed By Jim M [read all by] on 11th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
8.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a very sweet-sounding VSTi... lots of pretty presets to tweak and build on. Very thick sounding as compared to Triangle I. The filter envelope does not seem quite "deep" enough to my ears, but I've got weird aesthetics.

Good GUI, very beautiful...and contrary to so many other VSTis I been seeing, absolutely stingy with screen space... I could use just a little more space around the knobs and a larger, more set-aside main volume knob.

Looks to be fairly stable.

rgc does it again... quite a good VSTi.
Reviewed By 11011011 [read all by] on 21st May 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Bloody awesome synth. I've been using it regularly since release. I find myself using this more often than its older, bigger brother (Pentagon I) -- the one I paid for! It's monophonic, but the sounds are so damn big that a chord could cause an earthquake.

Excellent presets, though the first dozen are variations on a theme. If you're just getting acquainted, I suggest you randomly pick presets, and listen to them *all*. My philosophy is "presets suck!" -- but this synth proved me wrong. The variety and quality is amazing.

Excellent sound! It performs well in any environment, but tends to run a little hot. It mixes very well, better than the Pentagon I in some respects.

Excellent GUI! Unlike the Pentagon I, this thing fits on my screen. The knobs make sense.

Excellent built-in effects! Chorus, delay -- a decimator? -- stereo spread, distortion -- yadda yadda. Nice addition!

You will *not* get 'natural' sounds out of this thing. It's all space-age, *real* moog-based technology sounds without the clutter of hardware on your table. I use this thing on most of my tracks now -- it's that good.

If rgcAudio keeps making quantum leaps like this they'll be the defacto standard by which all analog-sound synths are measured, hardware or software!

Bottom line: get it, use it, abuse it, love it.
Reviewed By summer [read all by] on 18th May 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
7.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is quite a good synth. The GUI looks good, but after a while I tired of the knobs. I find the sliders of the JX16 to be a bit friendlier. And, the punch of the JX16 seems to be missing, but it still sounds great for leads since the built-in effects really add to the depth of the sound.

Reviewed By Brando [read all by] on 29th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Another tremendous DXI offering from Rene at RGC Audio. The fact that it is Freeware is a bonus, but should not detract from the fact that this is a serious soft synth. Excellent library of preset sounds, great user manual. Amazing, at any price. Completements Pentagon nicely without being just a little brother. Very nice.
Reviewed By Area51 [read all by] on 24th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well all I can say is superb.

I am new to this sort of thing being use to a hardware background. However the sounds are amazing. Plenty of knobs to tweak which I love and a stand alone version also.

The leads and bass that this can produce are amazing though. Presets arnt bad either.

And the best thing is the price. Nothing.

Keep up the good work.
Reviewed By David Abraham [read all by] on 13th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Finally had a chance to really check out some rgcAudio software, and Triangle II really impressed. Loaded up an ACID loop in SONAR, the ran through some Triangle 2 presets till I landed at "Trinitarian" then I proceeded to jam for 45 minutes straight, very usable mono/legato mode "finally"!

Sounded very good, and has a good set of basic presets. now I understand all the the raves about rgcAudio software, looking forward to the Pentagon DXi release.
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 10th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.01 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Hi there

Ok i am being a bit generous in my reviews the last days
But this one deserves all the credits In one one word wow ...

The tuned noice generator can realy do good jobs in making atmospheric by-sounds The Hard drive / bass / and chorus knob can do great jobs ... however i use a different tool voor chorus on bass ... a toby bear plugin but forgot the name. This chorus makes the sound a bit blobby (dunno another word for it :-)) anyway ...adjustable freq. could do miracles but didn`t play with it yet. The hard drive was only clicked on once ...after that i never clicked it out :-)

This synth is very good for making bass sounds ... brasses and other low noises ....
I managed very easy and fast to make absolutely super grazy sounds ... i don`t know who made the presets ... but this thing can do 1000 more then what you hear in the middle of the road presets.

therefore all the features in it get a 10 from me besides the presets :-) Download it ...its free ..after that knock yourself out and never sleep before 2 o clock midnight anymore.

Reviewed By Funkybot [read all by] on 7th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.01 on Windows.
Last edited by Funkybot on 8th April 2002.
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I think I'm alone on this one but I actually like Triangle 1 better than T2, I don't know why maybe it's the less options but T1 definately had that certain something that I just don't get as strongly from T2. I'm also not too big on the new GUI, if I could have a blend between the original Triangle GUI with the functionality of the new one I'd be a happy camper, as the blue/grey isn't doing much for me. The presets are also a bit lackluster but there's also a few gems in there. As far as the sound goes it's your classic RGC sound which is great, the addition of effects was nice (but I doubt how much I'll be using the decimator), and the option to use different filters was just fantastic as was the sub osc. The best thing about this has got to be the microhost, this just makes it so easy to do some major patch tweaking while I'm doing other things without having to worry about having a sequencer open. I was more impressed with this after spending some time tweaking and coming up with my own patches, but aside from the sub osc, filter types, and the chorus I wasn't really using anything that wasn't in T1. Anyway I'm just so used to the old version, the sentimental geek that I am, but this truly is a top notch synth. It's not too far at all from being the mono Pentagon 1, and is capable of some great and diverse lead/bass sounds. If your on a PC it'd be silly not to get this. Oh and did I mention the midi learn features? It's so easy to assign CCs with this thing. The one request I made to Rene regarding this was that I think you should be able to have more than one midi input, that way my knob box on my SBs Midi Port, and my keyboard on my Midisport could be used at once, and Rene said he'd try to get it in. In closing this is another top notch RGC synth. Did I mention that this also the first freeware DXi that I can think of, glad to see some smaller devolpers supporting the format.
Reviewed By Hypertone [read all by] on 5th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
What a sweet free VSTI. Quite possibly the best free analog VSTI out there. Great sound, very programmable. MIDI learn in a free synth? Rene knows what people want. I programmed a ton of useful sounds. I wish you could transpose each oscillator, I had to transpose the midi track to play the lower octaves on my 61 note keyboard. I recommend this synth to anyone looking some good analog sounds.
Reviewed By Drunken Mozart [read all by] on 4th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.00 on Windows
8.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is perhaps the best sounding mono freeware VSTi yet. The dark, low-contrast, small print GUI causes me major eyestrain after long programming sessions. I've never been comfortable with RGC's oscillator controls. Prefer separate settings for each oscillator including range settings. Always considered built-in f/x to be a part of the sound of the instrument, so take that into consideration along with the fact that this sweet little beast is free. Thanks, RGC!
Reviewed By dunk [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.00 on Windows.
Last edited by dunk on 6th April 2002.
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I seriously love this synth and could not give anything but very high marks every category - Even customer support gets a 10 because I once emailed Mr Ceballos with a problem I had with Triangle 1 (which, I hasten to add, was no fault of Triangle - just my badly bloated system) and he replied within 3 hours! Customer support that good for freeware?! Wow.

Same goes for the other categories. Absolutely top class. And free! so just go get it already!
Reviewed By alex1206 [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Blimey...how can Triangle II be free?

[+] Loads of control (loads-a-knobs)
[+] Wicked sounds (phat as you like)
[+] Plenty of great factory presets (128 presets)
[+] Excellent midi control capabilities
[+] Nice GUI :)
[+] Good manual - yes, I actually read it :)
[+] Higher spec than alot of pay VSTi's
[+] Very low CPU usage
[+] Very Stable (has never crashed on me yet)
[+] Standalone version
[+] Great customer support (usually the developer will reply to your posts at KVR, or emails, within a few hours)

[-] ...Errmm, let me see...none :)

My advice, buy it....Ooops, I meant download it (I forgot it was free)....it will give you a nice taster of what its big brother is capable of!
Reviewed By bluey [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This synth has a unique ability, the sound pallete can appeal to those seeking that punch to add to their dance arsenel or those wishing a powerfull electronic sound.

The fact that it is similar yet different to big brother pentagon means it can be used along side quite well (I figure the intention though is a showcase for Pentagon technology. It's hard to believe it was given out for free. Well done !!!

The GUI is clear and arranged with the signal path, left to right top to bottom.

However its real power is when you start to play with the multiple midi learn functions. Leads just rip while twisting a knob and altering multiple parameters at the same time with a single knob.

The presets are great, though a bit dancey at times.

Wicked !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(who says I like to give bad reviews)
Reviewed By Har [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I was also one of the beta-testers for the T2. Thanks to the fact that Rene truly *cares* about just how good his synths are, and takes all feedback seriously: the Triangle II has turned out to be one of my favorites, and truly can now be considered the Pentagon I's "little brother".

But it also has a unique flavor all it's own, making it different from both the P1 and the original Triangle I (which has a wonderful sound of it's own IMHO....owners of the T1 should make a point of holding on to it as well!). The oscillators and filters are punchy and thick, with what's rapidly becoming known as "that RGC sound". The onboard effects are excellent as well. It's fairly easy on CPU usage as well: I can get quite a few instances of the T1 running on my pokey little PIII 450 with no problems.

It comes with a nice big bank of Rene's excellent presets (not sure why someone here said there weren't any presets...there a whole huge bank of them!!). The presets stick mostly to sounds that are musically useful, such as punchy, thick basses, leads and even sounds that could be used as pads in a monophonic sense. The manual specifically mentions that "sound effect" presets were avoided...but the T2 great for sound-design as well.

Speaking of the manual: it's wonderfully detailed, just as the P1's is. I wish all music software developers spent as much time on good doco like this.

And on top of all of this....it's freeware, so how can you go wrong? Check it out: you won't be dissapointed.
:-)
Reviewed By x_bruce [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by x_bruce on 4th April 2002.
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Triangle II is one of if not the best monosynths available. In terms of programability, intuitive user interface and great sound there is nothing out there that beats it.

Best of all it is free.

As stated below, Triange II is vastly expanded from Triangle I. Try this synthesizer out for basses and some incredible leads. Even though it's a monosynth there are FX and pad type sounds as demonstrated by the presets which make this synth far more than a one trick pony.

rgcAudio has set the bar for this type of synth let alone value. Once you hear what Triangle II can do you'll appreciate why Pentagon users have been so happy with their purchases....and Pentagon expands capability beyond T2.

A great synth that does more than you'd expect.
Reviewed By nirsul [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I was one of the beta testers and could tell Rene what I liked and what I didn't.
Rene is a generous person in giving many people a professional synth in a hard to beat price. Triangle 2 is definetly NOT Triangle 1 - only the name is common.
It has some patches which are already known form the flagship synth Pentagon but, many are not such as the truely amazing Harmonica patch and some of the OBx-like patches.
We should strive to keep Rene out of the hands of big synth companies - so that he continues creating more of those screaming beasts.

So: Rene - will we have a skinnable version ? :-)
Reviewed By Scot Solida [read all by] on 2nd April 2002
Version reviewed: current on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Holy criminy, what a beautiful synth! This thing looks and sounds amazing! I already credit RGC with producing the best sounding analog emulations around, but this thing surpasses them all. The improvements to the interface are thoughtful and appreciated. I particularly like the method by which waveforms are selected. And the MIDI "learn" mode is totally unexpected in a free synth! Makes working with the breath controller, well, a breeze. The manual is better than those included in some very expensive plug-ins, and does a fine job making the features of this little wonder clear. Built in reverb, chorus (a delicious chorus, by the way), and a DDL ensure that you'll be encouraged to add your own patches to the brilliant presets that are included. Lots of good basses, and some BIG sweeps are included. It says "RGC Audio" on the front, so you know that the customer support is beyond reproach. And free! It's fer-crying-out-loud-free! It gets one tiny, insignificant black mark for that last booby-trapped preset. Don't touch that one! This thing is a pure joy. And, I'll tell you, Rene is a real Artist with a capital "A"...
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 2nd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by MArmstrong on 7th April 2002.
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a brilliant product, everyone should download the thing as it really is excellent. It is very flexible and is definitely worth the download. It is a vast improvement over TraingleI (which was alrady good)

Pro - Quality of sounds, particularly the presets are excellent, the GUI

Cons - There really are none I can think of.

This is the best freeware VSTi I have used since ninja!

Latest 26 reviews from a total of 26

Discussion: Active

Discussion

20 March 2015 at 3:36amaceinyaface3

Anyone else having trouble downloading this?

17 April 2015 at 1:09amBlackWinny

It seems to be definitively abandoned by Cakewalk. The question has been asked a few months ago in the Cakewalk forum and Cakewalk never answered.

But you can download it here (legally) in the web history (use the link "Download it today" at the top of the rightmost column of the page):

http://web.archive.org/web/20140327103800/http://cakewalk.com/products/triangle/default.aspx

The link works perfect, I've just tried it again for you a minute ago.

It can also be downloaded passing by Pluginboutique (an excellent website, I like it a lot):

http://www.pluginboutique.com/product/4-Synth/661-Triangle-II

For their other freeware (Square I) it is the same punishment: too old for the taste of Gibson (the new owner of Cakewalk), so it went to the dustbin as well. But the problem is that the download file for "Square I" has never been kept by the history (the Wayback Machine). And it is not available at Pluginboutique either. Conclusion: this one is lost for the eternity...

Please log in to join the discussion

Triangle II

Average user rating of 9.31 from 26 reviews

Cakewalk
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
183 people have added Triangle II to 17 My KVR groups 204 times
+13 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 165  165

30-Day: 169; 7-Day: 129; Yesterday: 190

Advertisements