What is KVR Audio? | Submit News | Advertise | Developer Account

Options (Affects News & Product results only):

OS:
Format:
Include:
Quick Search KVR

"Quick Search" KVR Audio's Product Database, News Items, Developer Listings, Forum Topics and videos here. For advanced Product Database searching please use the full product search. For the forum you can use the phpBB forum search.

To utilize the power of Google you can use the integrated Google Site Search.

Products 0

Developers 0

News 0

Forum 0

Videos 0

Search  

User Reviews by KVR Members for ValhallaVintageVerb

Rate & Review ValhallaVintageVerb Now!

9.00
Reviewed By APZX on 3rd April 2013
OS: Version: 1.0.1
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

So, I kept hearing about Valhalla DSP and how awesome their reverbs were. Never actually got around to trying them though. That is until a couple of days ago with a bit of an impulse purchase.

Now, I must admit that at first I was kind of skeptical about the overall concept of this reverb in particular. How can that many different algorithms be packed into a reverb and to top it off color modes. . ., needless to say I had my doubts at first. But like all good pieces of kit this thing delivers.

I'm not going to come in and say that I love amazingly realistic reverbs because frankly I don't. So, VintageVerb having a lot of algorithms inspired by older digital reverbs had me interested right there. I don't know how accurate or faithful they are to any of those in particular, but needless to say this reverb has character. But it is a character that is so "subtle" and "deep". It doesn't get in the way, unless you want it too. Another really handy feature is the color selection. It can go from a pretty darn pristine reverb to quite a dark one in just a couple of clicks.

The only complaint I have is, I wish it had an option to control the amount of aliasing in the reverb. The reverb is incredibly smooth and has a great response, but sometimes I want something a little harsher sounding.

Click here to read all 2 reviews

Discussion: Active

Discussion

19 December 2012 at 9:54pmliquid_noise

Yes really, it's a great plugin - I have it one day now, but I can day it's one of my best reverbs!

20 December 2012 at 8:52amsolidtrax

Day one purchase without even trying the demo. That's how much faith I have in ValhallaDSP. This reverb is awesome and the price is insane. Waves would have asked 4 times as much, Softube probably 5 times as much and Universal Audio at least 6 times as much, but probably 7! ;-)

20 December 2012 at 1:29pmQuietinthedark

I've spent a long time looking for reverbs that accurately simulate nice sounding real spaces. V3 sounds better than the real world.

10 April 2013 at 4:30pmChasingAndromeda

I wasn't going to purchase this because I thought UberMod and Valhalla Room covered all my needs. But, one day a few weeks ago, I downloaded this on a whim and decided to play around with it. It didn't take long to decide that this was a totally different beast that had a place in my plugins folder.

I am completely enamored with how it sounds on guitars, both electric and acoustics. The 70s mode adds this wonderful warmth that I have not been able to replicate with this kind of smoothness using any other reverb. It is just a lush sound that really makes the guitars shine. It is also wonderful on electric piano. The 80s mode sounds work well with synths. The presets are very usable. I don't think you can go wrong with any of the Valhalla products.

29 May 2013 at 1:43pmFraggle

I bought valhalla shimmer a few years back and although i felt it was a bit of a 1 trick pony, it did that trick very very nicely.

I bought valhalla vintage verb a month or so ago. For the price it is absolutely phenomenal. I love its flexibility and range of uses. Before i got this verb i used Reaktor's space verb 2 for big gushy spaces and long decay tails for moody atmospheric musical ideas, but i found i had to use other verbs for smaller spaces. Its great now to have one reverb that can do everything.

However, A week ago i found an error on this verb that caused it to crash. I wrote to the developer, who replied saying that between 1 and 2% of customers reported this crash. He gave no promises to find the glitch and produce a patch or updated version. I was disappointed by that but i understand that he is not a big company and given the pricing he puts on his products i an forgive him this slackness because he really does make lovely gear for those with not much cash to spend.

So i can't give it a 10/10 but its fair to say its a 8.5-9/10 product.

20 June 2013 at 11:24pmMadeInMachines

I'm currently demoing this plugin and really like it but it's causing consistent crashes in live 9 using the vst. The developers response was to blame live even though his others work fine in live 9 and so do all of my other plugins. I had to write twice to get a reply and wait 3 days and it wasn't particularly helpful saying 'use the au version'. This really isn't the customer support that I expect so I'm glad I tested it and haven't bought it as it's pretty useless to me until it's fixed and it doesn't sound like the developer has much will to fix it. Annoying because it sounds excellent.

21 June 2013 at 8:25amFraggle

Hi.

just for your interest, the software this was bugging out in was also Ableton 9. I agree with you: its not an Ableton issue either.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

21 June 2013 at 3:32pmKlemperer

I just can say that I never had any issue with the Valhalla plugins, and I own all of the payware ones. Reaper, Orion, Audiomulch and more daws run perfectly with it. Awesome, indeed, as these plugins are not only affordable and come without the ugly types of copy protection, they sound incredibly beautiful.

So I just hope you'll get your Live issues sorted. I had a very old live lite version, but deleted it, otherwise I could have done a little testing just to find out if there was something crashing here too :(.

12 November 2014 at 2:29pmdjkey

copy the Preset bank to C:\ProgramData\Valhalla DSP, LLC\ValhallaVintageVerb\Presets\User and it works :-)

Please log in to join the discussion

ValhallaVintageVerb

Average user rating of 9.50 from 2 reviews

Valhalla DSP
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
159 people have added ValhallaVintageVerb to 9 My KVR groups 207 times
+4 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 115  79  113

30-Day: 113; 7-Day: 149; Yesterday: 139

Advertisements