Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for Wusik EVE - Electronic Vintage Ensemble

Rate & Review Wusik EVE - Electronic Vintage Ensemble Now!

Reviewed By mikebeck [read all by] on 13th June 2006
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Mac
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
As I went to write this review, I saw that funkychickendance had just written one, and pretty much wrote what I was going to write!
One of the major things I like about this synth is that you can start from one of the many presets or easily load from one to three "analog" sounds but if you want to go crazy, the layering and effects routing allow you to make sounds as weird or obnoxious as you want in seconds. Very flexible.
The included samples are of very good quality, and the GUI is easy to learn and use. It's very easy to get from bank to bank and find a preset without much digging in menus.
I have emailed support a few times with questions and was answered quickly and my questions were thoroughly resolved. To be clear, I have not had trouble with the performance of the synth, I simply had questions about how some things worked.
I like how there are a lot of supplied sounds and presets, but it's a bonus feature that you can add on if you want. Again, see funkychickendance's review, which lists some specifics.
Very good value for money. I'm in the process of still learning it, and am now experimenting with doing a song completely with EVE 2, drums and all.
Reviewed By funkychickendance [read all by] on 13th June 2006
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows.
Last edited by funkychickendance on 13th June 2006.
10.00
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Now in v.2 and with a flashier interface than before, EVE is a great 'go to' synth. Not to be confused with EVE ONE (soon to be retailed as ManyOne), this is a rompler-esque synth that does great credit to its built-in good-quality samples, allowing up to three layers of different voices to be created and manipulated individually (or collectively) in interesting ways. Built-in effects are workmanlike, and you can split the keyboard to build never-before-heard ensembles.

The synth ships with a solid collection of vintage synth voices (in v.2, the selection is slightly larger than in v1.8, where I joined the train). But users will no doubt be tempted to pick up the other soundset/preset collections available at fairly reasonable cost. These include HQS1, a high quality Yamaha FS1r; HQS2, an exceptional MiniMoog collection; HQS3, the Evalon collection of yet more synths from BITR; and HQS4, Mellotronix, which has a fair number of Mellotron voices. I bought #4 even though I have M-Tron, simply because of layering possibilities. Quite a few star sound designers were involved in creating presets for these collections. Some are jaw-droppingly great.

EVE's sound is of very high quality, to my ears, and it does an excellent job of bringing the old synths back into currency. If you find yourself working in 70s and 80s genres, this is a good place to begin creating rich, swirling voices that don't sound very digital at all.

As with all DASH/Nusofting products, the support is excellent. A further bonus is that intercompatibility between Wusiksnd and DASHsnd offers yet more fresh choices for those of us who (sensibly) own both synths. It's very intuitive to use: I've never looked at the documentation! It's extremely good value-for-money, and it's rare to see anyone part with one in the secondhand market. Oh, and it has never crashed or 'acted up' on me in either FL Studio, ACID Pro 6, or in hosts like Chainer or eXT.
Reviewed By x_bruce [read all by] on 6th December 2004
Version reviewed: 1.4a on Windows
10.00
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Nusofting/Dash have created a wonderfully simple yet powerful sample playback synth that acts more like an analog synth in EVE. EVE is short for Electronic Vintage Ensemble. It is priced at $90 which is quite attractive considering it's capabilities and additional libraries, one of which we will discuss in this review. That library is an additional cost but in my case one of my favorite reasons for using EVE.

The included samples are exceptional sounding, my favorite being the Yamaha CP-70 electric grand piano. It is a favorite not only because of the sample quality, which is excellent, but because of the the synth design itself. With all the EQ, filter, LFO and modulation capabilities it's easy to tweak a preset to work with a mix or get serious with EVE and program something vastly different within seconds. This means that after following the synth engine, which is a bit different in design than some synths you may have worked with but quite powerful. It is also a quick read of the excellent manual.

Secondly, I was able to get the incredible HQS1 FS1R sample module which is in essence a greatest hits multisample package of the famed Yamaha FS1R. Briefly, the FS1R introduced a new way of looking at FM synthesis. It was as capable as reveered synths like the Kawai K5000 etc. The HQS1 and EVE bring back a synthesizer I miss even to this day.

Looking at the synth interface, mixing and controlling samples are the abilities of turning on or off, free, sync and invert to the LFO section. whatever controls are used. This makes for a very small CPU footprint and runs well on less powerful computers.

EVE uses up to three samples per patch. And so we are clear, a sample can be anything from a loop to a highly functional multisample. Per oscillator you have all the typical synth capabilities with a few interesting choices for how the interface is designed. Besides an envelope section there are also 3 band EQs with on/off buttons which can be instrumental in developing well designed patches. Besides this is a individual mod-matrix using send/returns to the LFO similar to a mixing console. This may be confusing to some but the manual will explain what you need to know.

Furtheremore, the large readout offers information as to what section of the interface you are at. The way the synth works it doesn't seem to have a modulation matrix. I suspect some people are so turned off or afraid of messing with the mod matrix that they never bother. In EVE it is like fooling a person into manipulation of the sound engine with it's very different modulation matrix explained above. But there are more excellent touches such as drawn or knob controlled sample start and end points. This makes it easy to create traditional layers, or more complex configurations as you'd expect from a digital synth, set up to behave like a analog synth. It's somewhat hard to explain without pictures but have a look at the one at the top of this page, you'll see what I'm talkingabout quickly. I know I appreciate how quick this interface is. When I am working and have the basic sound I'll end up with, I just want to work, not spend time trying to zip around multiple menus or screens. There is only a single screen on the synt which is wonderful but there are a number of helpful right clicked menus.

There are modulation type effects including chorus, flange, phazer and rotary. The detail is admiriable and similar to most studio quality setups. The other effect is echo although it can produce anything for modest reverbs to long delays which are perfect for pianos, that CS-80P or the Rhodes and other EPs. There are several traditional synths and a lot of useful multisampled waveforms that allow the user to create excellent pads, leads and meat and potato sounds like organs and pianos.

Now a bit about the HQS1 FS1R module. While a bit short on voice (something that was incredible about the FS1R) the samples are well designed and near perfect replicas of the FS1R which was doomed from it's 1 unit rack and massive 8 operator, and format filter. The synth was a DX7 cubed and with lots of great features, most covered in this wonderful sample set. I use EVE frequently, besides the HQS1 library there are half a dozen others available by 3rd parties and Nusofting/Dash. Because of the types of useful samples and strong synthesis capabilities EVE is the kind of synth that becomes the artist's secret weapon. In some ways it doesn't get the respect it deserves as EVE is capable of stunning sounds.

I would recommend EVE and a few soundsets to any electronic, rock, blues or pop producer or end user. It has a beefy low end without being tubby and loose with a nicely balanced overall sound that will almost certainly cut through a mix effortlessly and with minimum post production issues. Not only that, but EVE is unique in similar ways to some of the EMU hardware synths. EMU had a great engine and some kick ass sample libraries. EVE is similar at a fifth the price!
Reviewed By Jeremy_NSL [read all by] on 22nd July 2004
Version reviewed: latest on Windows
8.00
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
EVE is a simple rompler, originally designed for retro-keys type sounds, but it has evolved into a larger general-purpose rompler module.

Its very easy to edit, and the GUI is quite functional, even if its maybe not the prettiest. By combining 3 different soundsets, and spicing things up with some filter env and pan lfo etc. you can quickly and easily create some nice sounds.

On the topic of the sounds themselves, they are well done. The original bank is complimented nicely by the Wusik sets as well as the AOS set. The Wusik sets bring a more 80s digital feel to the proceedings, which broadens EVEs aural range considerably.

EVE does fall a little short in terms of features. The main knock on it is the poor filter section. EVE allows you to use one LP filter per soundset, but it doesn't allow you to do much with the filter. You can't modulate it by lfo - which, as a sidenote, has no tempo sync - and it shares its ADSR and velo-sens settings with the amp. The lack of any other filter types is also disappointing.

EVE also gives you an effects section to play with. The chorus is nice and fat, useful for beefing up mono sounds; the delay is simple but good enough for me; the rotary and phaser effects aren't as good - I find myself reaching for external effects if I want these types of modulations. A recent update also added a toggleable limiter on the master output - its works as advertised and is a solid addition.

Under the hood, EVE is totally stable in my use, and is very economical in its CPU usage. I've written entire tracks with EVE, using over a dozen instances on my p4 2.1ghz.

For the price, EVE is a very good buy. The range of sounds its capable of is great, and its very easy to tweak new ones yourself. Its lack of features is a hindrance, but hopefully EVE2 will address these shortcomings.
Reviewed By SyntheticAurality [read all by] on 8th April 2004
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows
9.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I got EVE as part of the Dash Easter Bundle deal.. and while I didn't have great expectations, I was in for quite a suprise!

I received EVE with Famous Keys 1 and 2.. the initial bank of factory presets is nice and quite adequate for most things, but the availability of additional libraries (and more on the way) is VERY important to me as I'm a composer/performer and not much of a sound designer.

The GUI is well laid out and is easy to navigate. The only gripe I have is having to right-click and pick "load bank" from a menu, but that's a minor complaint.

Sound quality is excellent, most presets fit well in a mix and there are no obvious (to me) audio issues. I find the pads and leads good, they fit the kind of music I do well.

EVE is stable in both hosts I've tried it in (Orion Platinum and Tracktion).

This is not a "kitchen sink" instrument, it does a few things - but it does those very well. I have sample libraries of vintage keys that I've deleted off my HD since I got EVE (lol)!

If you need vintage keys in your tunes, I'd highly recommend giving EVE a try!
Reviewed By LlunaSol [read all by] on 25th March 2004
Version reviewed: 1.24 on Windows
10.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Despite having tested (even beta-tested) many, many synths (hard and soft) I only usually only write reviews here at KVR for the ones that have impressed me a lot. EVE is one them.

For me the most important issue on EVE would be "instant usability", something arguably to other romplers but with a "charmful personality, almost with a romantic edge". The concept is superb, wonderful list of ready-to-play patches of vintage keyboards. No more
investing time on creating patches, it offers all I expected from a real vintage collection, classic vintage (almost mithicals) machines, perfectly sampled, but clothed with an intelligent and perfectly layout synth engine. The vangelis-feeling is everywhere, but also the funk pioners or great symphonic and progressive rock feeling.

The engine parameters are cleverly arranged to get fast access to 3 layers. 3 layers allowing different keyboard maps and different velocity ranges means a keyboard players heaven. It all works easy and smooth. Being a rompler its really easy to any owner used to substractive synthesis to create lots of new patches, rich sounding and ready to great performance usage thanks to an easy way to assign keyboard sensibility to different parameters.

The list of sounds is great (many of them simply superb) and widely assorted (considering that I got the second bank, which means a total 256 patches). Many are just intents to create basses or weird fx sounds that could be interesting as fx layers on more imaginative pads sounds, and on that sense useless slots. This is a synth specialized on clear and dense vintage sounds, those coming from machine that made early Tangerine Dreams, Vangelis, Tomita, JMJarre or Klaus Schulze what they are: fathers of the pure electronica.

On my opinion CPU usage is not so low, but pretty fair considering the crips sound and fast reponding (with my low latency 24 bits card) sound.

Manual is clear and complete, easy to read, with an excellent addedum referencing all the vintage hardware that has been used. A good point both for novices and nostalgics. The support is premium from Dash, something that has been said many, many times. Stability with no question thanks to great betatesting and long experience on the development team. Great product, excellent sound, clear documentation, fast support: so 10 on value for money. One of the best addition to a well choosen soft synths arsenals. Among my more used 6.
Reviewed By Rabid [read all by] on 28th January 2004
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
9.00
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I will start off saying that I never expected to like EVE. Why get a limited ROMpler when I already have GigaStudio and Kontakt/SonicStation? After getting the full bundle I played around with other synths for a while, then gave EVE a try. Wow! After 10 minutes I realized I had this long lost feeling in my heart and stomach. The feeling I used to get when I would walk into a music store and play around on all the keyboards that I would love to have but could not afford.

Eve also does something else that I had been asking for here on KvR. Layers. This is a VSTi that layers sounds without having to use multiple instances. Even more important, it does so without killing the CPU. I read a few threads about missing features and the developer’s reply was always that some features are missing in an effort to conserve CPU. When reading those threads I was disappointed and dismissed EVE as “not quite professional”. After using EVE I am grateful for these choices. This VSTi sounds smooth and warm and nice and full, and it does so without draining too much power.

After using EVE for a while I could say it is my favorite Dash product. But what I will say is that EVE is one of my favorite VSTi’s period. This instrument is now on my short list. One of my first call modules.

Pro’s:
Nice, warm sound.
CPU efficient.
Useful sounds.
Great customer support.

Con’s:
None to speak of.

Robert
Reviewed By MickGael [read all by] on 9th January 2004
Version reviewed: 2.3 on Windows
9.00
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I have to echo most of what I have read in the other reviews, so I will limits my comments to what has lead me to consider EVE one of the best values in non-Synth Edit VSTs.

I work on a laptop, so CPU usage is always a concern, and EVE provides very low CPU drain. Woo hoo!

I am a prog rock fan, so imagine my joy when I found first rate CP-70, Melloton, and several other very good vintage synth sounds. In fact, the CP-70 is the best emulation I have heard outside of a sampler, and this is at a fraction of the cpu overhead.

In genral terms, EVE is very warm sounding - even the bright sounds lack that "buzzy" and "fuzzy" sound of lesser synths. Most of my music features lots of vocals and guitars, and EVE seems to sit in a mix better than most. The scientific term for this is what we call " a good thing." ;)

Customer support has been EXEMPLARY. William has responded to my e-mail within hours, and within a month or so of the release of EVE, DashSignature has already bundled a 2nd soundset for free. Additonal soundsets are expected to be available for a reasonable price.

Given the special KVR pricing, you should consider this a no brainer.
Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 9th January 2004
Version reviewed: ? on Windows
10.00
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
As has been said below, this is a great Vsti. I will try to add some helpful info here without repeating the other reviews. First thing I noticed was teh sound of it. All of the sounds sound very polished and clean. They fit nicely into just about any mix. There is a huge sound pallette available to you. The sounds themselves have a character to them. The rhodes and wurly sounds don't sound *exactly* like the real instrument, but are very clean sounding, actually they sound similar to the eps in the Triton.(which is a good thing) The organ and solina sounds are very welcome here, and do sound very authentic. What really makes this instrument shine is the ability to layer different sounds with velocity points. This allows for unique morphing efx as you play.

The UI is clean and logical, as is typical of Dash. Stability for me has been outstanding and have not had any hiccups or crashes with any version of this synth. CPU usage is usually less than 3% on my Athlon 2000+ system for 8-12 voices. The onboard efx are good, though they do not have extreme sound mangling capabilities.

Presets on this are excellent and its obvious that some serious time was put into programming them. Its very easy to feel inspired with this synth right out of the box. Documentation is good, and you can always expect top notch support from William and Liqih. These guys are truely enthusiastic about their work.

I purchased this synth for the holiday price of 79.95 so value for the money here is superb, up from very good at the normal price. I highly recommend this as a great virtual vintage keyboard museum, all the sounds none of the maintenance.
Reviewed By SaviorNeeded [read all by] on 9th January 2004
Version reviewed: 1.18 on Windows.
Last edited by SaviorNeeded on 30th January 2004.
9.00
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I play EVE on stage and love it. In this review I'll just add some things that haven't been emphasized by others...

There are a few little "extras" in the presets such as accoustic drums and other types of percussions. Nice!

Hooking up midi (I use a knob box) is super easy; I consider that a very helpful feature.

CPU is very low on my 1.2 gig laptop.

But I do wish that installing and switching to new soundsets was a bit more intuitive--could be easier. [EDIT: This has already been changed, an example of how responsive DASH is.] Also, if you want to create your own presets, remember to use the multi-out version, otherwise your presets won't work in it (I am told; haven't checked that out for myself).

The fact that I find myself eagerly awaiting future soundsets tells me that I've found a truly great tool for my needs.

Tom
Reviewed By thenumber23 [read all by] on 8th January 2004
Version reviewed: 1.18b on Windows.
Last edited by thenumber23 on 8th January 2004.
9.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I have lots of software synths from lots of companies, so I typically only buy a new one when it stands out in some way. In the case of Eve, it was usability of the sounds.

I tried their complete demo, which was about 58 megs. This is what sold me. The demo contained a large variety of sounds from the full version (if not all). I love it when a demo really lets me feel what it's like to own the product.

Buying the product was a straightforward process. I ordered via PayPal, and received the download code within 24 hours. I was up and running within another hour.

Eve works great in Sonar 3 using the Cakewalk VST wrapper. Operation is intuitive. There were no crashes or issues that impeded my work.

When I write music, the first thing I choose a soft synth is for its patches, and I usually associate a soft synth to a certain type of use. In the case of Eve, if I want a pleasing pad sound, this is what I go for. The layering of multiple vintage instruments seems to work very well in my music (electronica and instrumentals).

I recently took two of my older songs, and used Eve to replace existing synth parts. It fit right in.

In one case, I wanted to add a third layer to an Eve patch, and it was relatively easy, but I was slightly confused by how to make the third layer make sound. After a minute, I was fine - the problem was due to a volume slider being further away from the "oscillator" section than I was expecting. I could have looked in the help (Eve does contain a complete HTML help file), but I hate reading manuals, and I never read the one for Eve. So, this was user error on my part.

Overall, if I had to, I would buy Eve again. As such, if you try the demo and like what you hear, I recommend you do too.
Reviewed By DevonB [read all by] on 8th January 2004
Version reviewed: 1.18 on Windows
9.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Dash Signature has really done it this time, and what a lady they have on their hands. Eve is such a lovely vintage synth that just sings to you with many classic sounds of vintage strings, rhodes, and my favorite, waveforms captured from vintage synths. While I'll admit that most vintage gear isn't necessarily by bag, Eve has really grown on me. The presets have grown from 128 to 256 since its release, and the new set of AoS patches really made a nice improvement to the already nice sounds that came with the VSTi. According to the developer, there's much more to come for our lady Eve in the way of sounds too. What I did find so nice is even though I found some of the pads took too long to evolve up to full volume, it is just so simple to grab the attack fader and adjust it to suit your own needs. The gui, while not exactly my taste, still exudes that 'vintage' feel, and is simply laid out and easy to assess. You'll find yourself modifying patches very quickly to accomodate your indiviudal taste and needs. This is one synth that's worthy to take a moment to check out, even if you think it might not be your cup of tea. You might be surprised.
Reviewed By DJJ [read all by] on 7th December 2003
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
8.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well dashsignature have really pulled another one out of the hat !!!

This instrument brings quality and innovation at an affordable price. The instrument which is based around ensemble instruments utilizies the best of both the sample and synth worlds, to amazing effect.

I found myself getting anything from great E-piano or Organ sounds to Pads and wierd synth leads / fx in just a matter of minutes.

The is an element of nostalgia attached to this instrument and fans of early instruments will find this one irresitable. All the sounds are authentic too, the guys really need a LOT of tweaking to get the samples just right - and it shows.

As for usuability the interface is logical enough and you can find your way around the program easily enough, but personally I didn't like the overall look (but it was designed to look like a vintage instrument) as I am a futuristic look freak :-D

You will find yourself constantly playing with this instrument and it will surprise you pleasently with the sheer quality and flexibility of this instrument. And it is gentle on the CPU, which is good for the low end users.

I probably have more to say, but I can't think of what to write !!!

Just have fun with it and it will reward you :-D

Cheers,
DJJ

Latest 13 reviews from a total of 13

Discussion: Active

Discussion

Please log in to join the discussion

Wusik EVE - Electronic Vintage Ensemble

Average user rating of 9.23 from 13 reviews

Wusik
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
94 people have added Wusik EVE - Electronic Vintage Ensemble to 9 My KVR groups 108 times
+5 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1820  1167  1749

30-Day: 1331; 7-Day: 620; Yesterday: 730

What's New @ KVR Audio
FS: eaReckon TransReckon, Ircam Verb Session, Mathew Lane Stereo Deltaby Selfik @ 13:33 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)unnks 0.2.6by Maadfoo @ 13:31 in InstrumentsHow much CPU would take 10 Envelopes per voice? It seems a lot...by MadBrain @ 13:31 in DSP and Plug-in DevelopmentWARNING before updating Maschine...by SHall1000 @ 13:30 in InstrumentsMTurboReverb preset making action, let's make the ultimate reverb! ;)by MeldaProduction @ 13:29 in EffectsGetting Hive?by fluffy_little_something @ 13:28 in InstrumentsFeedback Threadby softska @ 13:26 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)[FS] Maschine Expansions, NI The Mouth, Vegas Pro 13by artificial @ 13:24 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Is plugin market going down?by camsr @ 13:19 in DSP and Plug-in DevelopmentFS/FT: Fluffy Audio Aurora Kontakt Sample Libraryby Musical Gym @ 13:19 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Very Basic Live Rigby JCJR @ 13:18 in Hardware (Instruments and Effects)Cubase - loading one instrument considered surround out make full project surround, kind of?by lfm @ 13:09 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)FS/T: Eventide Blackhole (€70) PositiveGrid BIAS FX LE / BIAS AMP LE (€5/€10)by cocoazenith @ 13:08 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)FS: AIR Instrument Pack, Creative FXby pcodigital @ 13:04 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)FS/FT: STUDIO SALE! Loads of Plugins, DAW Software, Recording Gear & RARE Accessories!by VerbatimProductions @ 13:03 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)View All Latest Posts
Advertisements