Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
AutoTonic - Modal MIDI Transposer [read all reviews]
Reviewed By AndreaZanini [read all by] on 29th April 2017
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Mac.
Last edited by AutoTonic on 3rd May 2017.
10.00
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Autotonic is an invaluable tool for creating, composing and finding ideas you would otherwise never think of. As a non-pianist with some pretty fast fingers, it helps me play things that even pro pianist would struggle with thanks to its scale mapping technology but, more importantly as a composer and producer, it helps me experiment with ideas and scale/chord sounds that I might find too daunting or not interesting enough as well as come up with the results I aim for. Autotonic has given me the means to write in-key musical solos without the hassle of learning all fingering, especially when I am not going to be the one to record that solo in the studio. So I would definitely recommend this tool to anyone serious in theory and composition because it definitely grows up on you.

So is Autotonic worth it? Yes.

Is it perfect? Still no, but there is no other program that has the potential to take things further than Autotonic at the moment.

Infected Mushroom: Manipulator [read all reviews]
Reviewed By WhamyDodger [read all by] on 28th April 2017
Version reviewed: 1.01 on Windows
1.00
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Being a new to vocal processing software and being an impulsive person, I bought Manipulator. I wasted 118 GBP. There is nothing Manipulator can do that could not have been achieved by many examples of freeware vst. That's not to say there is lots of free software similar to Manipulator but in combination, free software can make a pig's breakfast out of an audio signal just as Manipulator does all by itself.

If you like your vocal tracks to be clear, Manipulator will be of no use to you at all as it seems to add many extraneous random sounds. Weird wandering sine waves, little whistles, drones and pops abound.

Amid a plethora of 99 cent shop Sci Fi audio FX presets, are perhaps as much as 3 (ish) usable settings. All the other presets, and there are lots and lots, are of use only if you work on low budget Sci Fi and must edit audio so that the 'alien' actors sound like frogs with sore throats or pigs inhaling helium... with sore throats. Or Darth Vader... with a sore throat.

Seriously, it's really very difficult to think of any work, any vocal where Manipulator would not completely screw up the audio signal and render the output literally painfully uncomfortable to listen to. I challenge anyone who is not engaged producing poop noises and silly voices for cartoons to say they are happy with this example of vst.

The makers of this plugin mention 'algorithms' and there's a whiff of the disingenuous about that. Mathematics is not the tool needed to create Manipulator's sounds. It can be done with mathematics but there's no need to go to such trouble. All that is required is plenty of electrical interference and lots of old worn cables and loose fittings on ancient, knackered obsolete and incompatible equipment. That has the exact same effect on audio signals and is far, far cheaper.

You'd have to be as daft and inexperienced and impulsive as me to buy Manipulator, or 'Audio Signal Shredder' as I have more accurately renamed it.

Manipulator certainly manipulates. The same way a man wearing a metal gauntlet manipulates an egg.

It could have been just as accurately named, 'The Emperor's New Clothes.'

ocenaudio [read all reviews]
Reviewed By jimmydeer [read all by] on 26th April 2017
Version reviewed: 3.2.7 on Mac
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I use the mac version of this and like it a lot. I usually open it for small edits–fades, cutting space off, etc. when I don't want to open a full daw. It is also useful and.

quick for editing metadata in mp3s. I find controls and features intuitive and easy to figure out. It loads/quits very quickly and has all of the features/formats I need.

Highly recommended piece of donationware! I also love that it comes up automatically in the "open with..." dialogue when right-clicking a file.

Maize Sampler [read all reviews]
Reviewed By larslentz [read all by] on 24th April 2017
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This sampler works very well. The documentation could be improved, but overall a user can find their way through it and learn how to use it. I like that the sampler can layer different sounds, then be converted to a standalone VST instrument, The standalone VST instrument can have the panel graphics of your choosing. The knobs and controls are also this way. There is LFO support internal to it and this helps with creating various sound effects.

B-5 Organ [read all reviews]
Reviewed By woocaash [read all by] on 23rd April 2017
Version reviewed: 1.2.2 on Windows
3.00
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Save your time with this product. Not working properly.

There are a lot of low noises. Notes gets sustained from nowhere which make this VST not playable live or at home even.

Emulation of the Leslie is terrible.

Sound is just OK.

No updates whatsoever from this company.

Hard to believe that in 2016 nobody can come up closer (more realistic) to real Hammond organ.

There is much better alternative from GSi - VB3.

Gold [read all reviews]
Reviewed By YISH313 [read all by] on 22nd April 2017
Version reviewed: A on Windows
10.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Check out my review of Gold By Acustica Audio on the link below...

My reView

Royale Filter [read all reviews]
Reviewed By deryhck [read all by] on 21st April 2017
Version reviewed: v1.1 on Mac.
Last edited by deryhck on 21st April 2017.
10.00
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

In my short period of usage i got really amazed on the possibilities that the software presented to me.

Really nice rythmic sounds, Trance gates and sidechains simulations.

The plugin sounds great with a low CPU usage and was very easy to install. No regrets.

I got some crazy dubstep wobble style effects with the tempo automation in some tracks. Pristine work.

Hope more incoming. Best regards to the Royale crew.

Objeq Delay [read all reviews]
Reviewed By tommyzai [read all by] on 17th April 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Mac.
Last edited by tommyzai on 18th April 2017.
10.00
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

INTRO
Objeq Delay is everything a virtual delay effects plugin should be — PLUS unique features that only Applied Acoustics Systems could deliver — combining a filter and acoustic resonators (objects) with a delay unit. This provides users with a wider palette of effects, timbres, and tones with crisp clarity. Repeats (from a tight slap-back to infinite) are free of the exponential mud that drag many units down. The interface is inviting and reveals a simple, yet effective signal/work-flow.

SIGNAL FLOW (Chapter 2 of the user manual provides a clear illustration)
The input signal travels through a low-pass/high-pass filter and acoustic resonators (the Object module), which makes the object resonate. The signal then enters a two stage delay (Pre and Echo). The resonances and delay are processed to the primary signal in real time. The signal balance is determined at the output via the Mixer module. There is also an LFO to help shape the pre-filtered tone — Types include: Sine, Triangle, Square, Random, and RdmRamp.

MODULES
1. LFO: This can be automated or tweaked manually. The modulation destinations include the usual suspects, i.e., chorus, flanger, tremolo, vibrato, as well as auto-filter modulation effects.
2. Filter: Filtered echoes for added fullness and movement. Sounds especially cool on rhythm guitar and other chordal things. The filter module provides flexibility by shaping the resonance of one of the objects selected.
3. Physical Object: Shapes the tone prior to delay (Beam, Drumhead, Plate, String)
4. Delay: There are two delay lines. The first is a pre-delay. It is used to create a delay between the dry signal and the filtered signal from the Object. This stage allows users to tweak the low and high frequencies and add acoustic object resonances. The second is a feedback loop that can create Echoes, hence the name.
5. Mixer: Balance, Output, Out/In.

Note: Each module may be activated or inactivated.

METER
The meter is located on the far right with numerical Db values and color-coding (green, yellow, orange, and red).

PRESET MANAGEMENT
The preset management system is conveniently located across the top bar. The presets themselves are very useful straight-up or serve as a great start-point for custom control — and they load super fast. I really dig the preset management — banks and programs can be accessed either by up one/down one or a drop-down menu. There is also a History arrow to help users. Auditioning sounds is fast and simple. I created a basic vocal loop and easily scrolled through the seven banks of programs (presets). In total, there are 226. ECHOES contain standard and creative delays, many of which have some filtering. MODULATORS contain wet and wild motion. On the subtle end there are chorus', flangers and tremolos; on the not-so-subtle end there are waves of sweeps and swells along with pounding pulses and bubbling flutters. RHYTHMIC LOOP MANGLERS contains alternation, wideners and other effects that are perfect for mutating incoming percussive loops into a newfound pulse of gyration. KICK TRACK ENHANCERS deliver extra pow, puff, punch, and wobble. SNARE TRACK ENHANCERS bring resonance and snap with overtones that range from plastic to wood. DRONES can be swirling and surreal. The combination of the resonator and LFO create otherworldly, evolving modulation for atmospheric, mysterious ambient textures. RICHARD DEVINE SIGNATURE designed a bank of presets that are geared (pun intended) toward cool, crisp metallic industrial, EDM, and soundtrack. There are several glitches and dreamscapes.

FAV THINGS
• Easy purchase, install, and authorization
• Clear, concise, well-written .pdf user manual for reference, but probably not needed.
• Neat, clean interface
• Intuitive preset management system
• Small digital footprint (about 10MB) with super low CPU hit (meter barely moves)
• Inspiring
• Musical
• Simple, yet powerful
• Cool developers
• Unique features that justify the purchase.

OTHER THOUGHTS
• The Objects provided are sensational, but I'm greedy and want more!
• Scalable interface?

SUMMARY
In addition to the pristine quality and all the things an electronic musical wizard would desire, this unit boasts features that set it apart. Nowadays, it's easy to find virtual delay that will sync to tempo, ping pong, slap-back, etc.; however, this plugin shines is in it's ability to combine a filter and acoustic objects with a delay. Even if another company released a plugin with this combination, it's unlikely they would do a better job at the modeling segment than AAS. How many electric piano plugins compare with Lounge Lizard? Objeq is perfect for anyone looking for a distinctive delay that is musical, inspiring, and sui generis (I recently learned this word and this is a perfect place to use it). I give this fine effect an affectionate double thumbs up — Love it! Thank you, Applied Acoustics Systems, for developing this effects gem.

ocenaudio [read all reviews]
Reviewed By pthelo [read all by] on 16th April 2017
Version reviewed: 3.2.6 on Mac.
Last edited by pthelo on 18th April 2017.
8.00
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

If you're looking for a full featured and free audio editing application, OCENAUDIO has it all, including; an uncluttered user interface (GUI), intuitive workflow, clean vector graphics with sample level zooming and editing, and more.

I was looking for a simple audio editing app- with functionality like Audacity, at a reasonable price point- considering I can use Ableton Live for any sort of intense audio processing,

I found Rogue Amoeba's FISSION and after reading the product page, I purchased it ($29). At this point I want to make a comparison.

FISSION is lacking what I would consider some essential basic DSP functionality - even for an audio editing app at the $29 price point.
Now I like Rogue Amoeba, and their Audio Hijack app is nothing but excellence in software. I use it almost daily, and it has saved me more frustration and inconvenience than I can remember! Audio Hijack rocks. Unfortunately, FISSION left me wanting for standard or essential DSP and editing features I expected (e.g. reverse, ability to individually process the L and R channels, EQ, invert, etc.) I could go on, but I digress.

In all, I am totally thrilled to have found OCENAUDIO. In my limited use so far, It's everything I need for quick audio editing and processing work, and even hosts most AU and (after a lengthy scan) VST effects. If you need essential editing and DSP functionality, access to a set of more advanced features, and the ability to expand in the future by using AU and VST effects, OCENAUDIO lets you get the job done, quickly and easily. Did I mention its free? Yup- Now get on it!

Pro-R [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Den* [read all by] on 16th April 2017
Version reviewed: 1.03 on Mac.
Last edited by Den* on 16th April 2017.
10.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Amazing very flexible very good sounding reverb. it can sound however you want.

Very impressive Fabfilter.

Highly recommended.