Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Presswerk [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Augren [read all by] on 16th June 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1.1 on Mac.
Last edited by Augren on 16th June 2017.
10.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Beautifully musical sounding, highly (yet sensibly) configurable dynamics processor with moderate CPU load.

I was comparing several reputable compressor plugins and was reluctant to try Presswerk. I'm really glad I ended up taking it for a spin.

For my personal priorities (don't need spectrum analysis in a compressor plugin), and for my personal taste Presswerk is by far the best sounding compressor plugin currently on the market, with just enough configuration flexibility to cover all my tracking mixing and mastering needs.

Highly recommended.

Abstrung [read all reviews]
Reviewed By tatanka [read all by] on 14th June 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Any OS
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hi, .

I like to give you some very first impressions of Abstrung the new library by (in my opinion) much underrated Audiofier:

http://www.kvraudio.com/product/abstrung-by-audiofier.

I already have Sequi2R and the follow up Sequi2R EX (with a lot of expansions included) but skipped over the first version of their new series vesper cause "bells and whistles" just not my sounds.

Now I could not resist the new Abstrung, same concept then Vesper but with "strungs" (Abstrung :lol:) and plucks (my sounds :D).

Took some time with nearly 20 GB download to get evrything working but then I was just overwhelmed :o .

Me, the preset addicted and NO nki-instruments, no snapshots ????

NO, you really dont need. After this I will open my pc an look for this bunch of mini composers where they have been hidden.

NO, thats NOT random, not at all. Evry click brings a new (whatever magic does that trick) well designed preset :o :o :o.

AND: you can choose a sound category from the browser for the random sound generation.

And if you do this it is far more then just a plucks and strings thing.

Choose "spacey" and in no time you have a texture, soundcape, pad, athmophere whatever you like.

Have not come further now, four other categorys waiting to be explored.....

And magic goes on. If you have the sound you like in general there are two alternative ways to go on: use the crystal engine (no, I wont try to explain, you must have a look on yourself) it just adds kind of magic to your sound or use a very polished and feature rich double step sequencer following the root note and scale you choose.

I must admit ad this point as a hobby musician with more enthusiasm then knowledge I never really managed to master Sequi2r in all its possibilities, just to much for me so I am really fine with using the presets and just playing a little bit with the sequencer on first level.

But was makes this series so outstanding is the ease of use:

- choose a soundcategory you like
- use the sound composer (no, I wont call it random cause it just isnt :lol:)
- and then add the magic with crystal or a double sequencer.

Of couse there are a bunch of special fx, I dont think I will need them much but of course they are there and as easy to use as the rest.

So I will go back to magic :party:

Have a look at it if you like, it is really marvellous.

Free Clip [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Johnny Blade [read all by] on 14th June 2017
Version reviewed: 0.9.1 on Windows
10.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

There are a lot of clippers out there. Some paid, some free.

StandarDCLIP and KClip Pro are excellent paid plugins; Clipmax and Free Clip are excellent free plugins.

However, the amazing quality of the free ones has not justified the demand for the paid ones, and I can quote Free Clip as a major responsible for this.

After a few weeks of exhaustive testing, at least on the personal criteria of my own audition, I feel comfortable and secure in stating here that Free Clip is top.

Using it for mastering purposes in "Hard" mode, 1x Oversampling and -0.1dB Clip Ceiling, I got the most transparent result I could expect. No other plugin, paid or free, hit Free Clip.

A single lack I felt - the parameter "Gain" could be able to handle negative values. But this absence does not stain the surprising quality of this plugin, since I use the alternative features of my DAW.

Free Clip, with due respect, makes it unnecessary to use commercial alternatives.

TB Reverb v4 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By ATN69 [read all by] on 13th June 2017
Version reviewed: v4 on Windows
9.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I been looking for a reverb with a graphical EQ and then I found this new TB Reverb v4 from Toneboosters. It is very Clean and it can produce a long tail as well. It is simple but nice and easy to understand. Best of all it's cheap and a lot of reverb for the Money.

ASIO Link Pro [read all reviews]
Reviewed By mrlucmorin [read all by] on 12th June 2017
Version reviewed: 2.4.4 on Windows
1.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm giving this rating not for the product, but for the support from O Deus.

Many people are complaining that they don't answer their emails anymore.

The online purchasing service is also down, and so is their online license registering process. Users with a valid license code can't register their product, and people on other forums are starting to complain.

If the company is dead, the least they could do is be clear about it on their website, and I'm of the opinion that they should consider releasing the source code to the open source community.

I just want to be clear. I've had a few years of good usage of the product, but now that my DAW laptop died on me, and of course, I want to build a new DAW computer, I can't re-install the Asio Link Pro driver.

energyXT [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bmertelj [read all by] on 10th June 2017
Version reviewed: 2.7, 3.0 on Windows
9.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

EnergyXT is a great piece of DAW.

And I say that after working with it for 7 years and having tried many others and watched yt videos of almost every other DAW widely used. The functionality in terms of number of features can be discussed, there are definitely some missing that some consider essential and are common with most leading DAWs, but there are also some that eXT users use very much but are really unique to eXT, so unknown to others.

Probably the worst thing about eXT is its (public) reputation, or better, lack of it. Like, for example, this thread, the list of evaluations. The last eval here was written 10yrs+ ago. This is terrible! Not that it just seems nobody is using it, I know there are several users, but the last eval is about a dissapointment because the V2 is not an upgrade of V1. That could be called a marketing mistake from the designer but somebody should explain that here, or at least the author could call it for what it is. And unfortunately it seems that people loved V1 (I haven't tried it) and somehow got discontinued. However, the V2 evolved over time to V3 and now we have a decent and in some aspects a uniqely special DAW - IDEAL FOR AMATEURS with low budget - and not in any negative aspect of the word.

The GUI and usabilty are in most areas unmatchingly good. Of course this is felt only after you have used for a while. And then if for some reason you want to go somewhere else you just realize how valuable its usabilty is:

  • Very clean interface ("less is more" logic) with all the functionality very easily accessible.
  • Extremely low CPU usage - it literally works on any laptop or PC.
  • Powerful and simple modular pane where you can combine more plugins in a visually clear manner.
  • Small GUI elements (unfortunately not resizable) allow for very good use of monitor space (medium resolution monitors, laptops).
  • Very simple, intuitive audio parts management (stretch, volume, tune, transpose, cut, split, glue, fade in-out, x-fade).
  • powerful integrated drum sample player with:
    • unlimited sample pads (with inserts per each pad).
    • huge collection (30+) of sampled rhythm machines (Roland, Korg, Akai, Alesis ...) - from small to huge w. up to 180 drum sounds.
    • inserts and sends on each pad.
    • sampler playback functions (transp., filter, chop).
  • strong PM synthesizer w. good sample player.
  • quite some quality presets, samples and loops available on the product website.
  • simple automation interface and support for automation recording from VST GUI.
  • each track with integrated EQ.
  • User friendly built-in theme editor, for nice colors and quite some custom themes available online.
  • Complete set of customizable keyboard shortcuts.
  • ...

I just tried to list some special features that are really well implemented and distinguish EnergyXT in the huge DAW world.

Konkrete 3 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By dune_rave [read all by] on 10th June 2017
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is a great drummachine. I like the euclidean beats sequencer the most. Plus there are many sections to tweak, many special drum sounds to use. You can drag MIDI out to the daw also. The beat shifter is also interesting conception, some may call this generative music... There's a freeze button in the beat shifter that stops patterns from changing/shifting. I also like the focus map feature on the starting page. So there are many cool functions to create the rhythms you like. I don't write more bout it, this have to be heard.

EGDR808 - 808 Drum Machine [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MisterHunt [read all by] on 6th June 2017
Version reviewed: 2.13 on iOS
1.00
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This app is really disappointing and frustrating. It looks like an 80's drummatix but that's where the Similarities end. Its not programmable and doesn't work as promised. These developers have given apps a bad name.

This is how they work. They bombard you with promises to unlock features with purchase but it's a trick - a trap - a fraud. It doesn't unlock the features and the app doesn't work as advertised.

There are so many better free apps than this for drums. And the best paid drum one is garage band.

The best part of this experience was learnt a lesson. There are crooks in the app business. And to be more careful when I part with my hard earned.

'This app is crap - spread the word.

MIDI Shape Shifter [read all reviews]
Reviewed By arturmeinild [read all by] on 6th June 2017
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
9.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very powerful tool for generating and transforming MIDI signals. A superb and flexible alternative to traditional host automation.

Reaktor [read all reviews]
Reviewed By arturmeinild [read all by] on 6th June 2017
Version reviewed: 6 on Windows
9.00
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Complete modular studio, endless possibilities (especially with the new "blocks" format), tons of user content and continuous support. It's really a no-brainer as part of the Komplete bundle, which is very reasonably priced with it's upgrade path.