Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Efektor Distortion Bundle [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 2nd November 2017
Version reviewed: 10.12 on Mac
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This bundle contains 3 pedals : Distortion, overdrive and fuzz.

i've purchased the bundle during a promo wich was a low price and i have downloaded the free gate from the same dev.

the first thing who came to my mind was : " HOOOOOO ! amazing ! "

Yep, insert a the distortion pedal and load vermillon, it rock!!!

I try it with a 7 strings ibanez and it is heavy !!!

I think these pedals are the best on the market at this moment.

They proudly deserve a 10 .

LoudMax [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Skaven [read all by] on 1st November 2017
Version reviewed: 1.15 on Windows.
Last edited by Skaven on 1st November 2017.
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This the most reliable and the most transparent master limiter I've encountered, I think it's actually better than the FabFilter or iZotope master limiters. And it's free! Absolutely recommended for anyone working with sound or music.

Temper [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Carl_saved [read all by] on 30th October 2017
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Although AFAIK Temper hasn't been under development for a couple of years now, it is still a decent DAW, and one of the best for free. For people who want to start off without paying a lot for a professional DAW, this is worth trying.

It has all the important features like loading VSTs, MIDI, automation, routing, etc, and is relatively simple in layout. More advanced stuff like send tracks, sidechaining, tempo change etc. can become very tedious though.

Needs ASIO4ALL audio driver.

Groove Drums [read all reviews]
Reviewed By robcder2 [read all by] on 30th October 2017
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows
9.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I have been looking for a Drum sequencer for some time that had certain essential features. I looked at both free products and commercial ones. What I wanted was the ability to quickly set up and experiment with rhythms and grooves with different samples and patterns, and easily export these to my DAW (FL Studio). I have found the Piano Roll in FL not particularly intuitive for Drums, and wanted to create patterns and loops internally with a VST, but have an easy option to transfer to FL's Samplers. I finally decided that IMEA Groove Drums was the best option for my needs. The most important of these were:

  • Drag and Drop Samples.
  • Scroll through Samples.
  • Alter Velocity on Individual Drums.
  • Create Numerous Patterns with Trigger Keys.
  • Easy Export of Patterns.

When I tried Groove Drums, I found it could do all this....and more!.....in particular:

  • Random Hits in Patterns which can be Changed, Saved or Deleted.
  • Internal Effects for individual Samples.
  • Export to MIDI File......and much more.

Most importantly it is really easy to Drag and Drop your patterns into FL's Piano Roll for further editing if required. (You can even drop the patterns onto the Piano Roll of a non-playing copy of Groove Drums!!). But it remains easy to use with a straightforward interface.

NONE of the commercial options (Some costing £250) could achieve all of this, and I would really recommend Groove Drums to anyone who wants to use a similar workflow to mine. There is a demo version, so it is easy to test it. I had one question for Dan about the MIDI Export and he was very helpful. (For FL users on Windows, I found that you had to run FL as an Administrator for the Drag and Drop export to work.)

Thorn [read all reviews]
Reviewed By ZaBong69 [read all by] on 30th October 2017
Version reviewed: 1.03 on Windows.
Last edited by ZaBong69 on 3rd November 2017.
9.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Dmitry Schaes new synthesizer came as a surprise to me, as I was expecting a Diversion 2 rather than a completely new concept. However, having had an intensive test while producing a new track mostly with this new synth, I can say that I am very happy with Dmitrys approach here, none the least with the extremely fast and intiutitive user interface.

But let's start with the sound: Gorgeously digital on stage one. The three spectral OSCs provide a rich sound source, from analog waveforms to totally digital, yet harmonic stuff only digital synthesis can provide. On top of that comes a selection of spectral and real time effects, and a wavetable-like movement between up to 16 different waveforms. In combination with the excellent FM and RM implementation, you already have a very wide selections of sounds to play with. Next comes a harmonic filter, that, while less smooth than the spectral effects when in movement, can also do a lot for sound shapers like me. If you need noise, or want to add a sample, there is a specialised noise oscilator that can provide that very well. Oh, did I mention that there is unison with up to 8 voices per oscilator? But why mention that, as if anybody would dare to publish a synth in this century without the capability to sound like a Hoover in distress.

I would like to highlight that the FM implementation allows you to use the next oscilator as an input, and use the phase of the modulator osc to shape the sound. Great, this is not found on all synths with FM. OSC 3 is modulated by noise, opening up some classic tricks for percussion sound design.

If you are looking for a more warm and anlog sound than what you have seen/heard up to now, look at the filters. There are two of them, and the filter design (zero delay feedback) is state of the art, with one of the best filter distortion/overdrive sections ever found on a software synth. There is a variety of filters found here, all truly different, and all very much useful. Filters can work in parallel or serial, and sound sources can be routed freely, although not in a way to bypass them completely, which would be nice for sub bass oscilators. I would like to see a peak filter in the future, as this is a good alternative to an eq in a two filter design.

The modulators are a basic set of three ADSR envelopes, two LFOs and two flexible multi stage envelopes. As is always the case, I have my reservations about limiting the number of LFOs to two, as I use them freely running in my sound design for adding subtle movement, but there is a vibrato LFO that can be used as a third LFO if needed - but this has no selection of a waveform like the full LFOs. Modulation can be set up quickly by drag&drop, and fine tuned in the accessible modulation matrix - there are 27 slots, so more than enough for even the most advanced sound design journeys. A thing I haven's seen in any other synths is that the modulation targets do include individual steps of the arpegiator and the glitch sequencer. The doors to some serious generative music experiences is open. For sound designers who appreciate the insanity of recursive modulation: each modulation slot can be modulated itself from the matrix.

Apropos Glitch sequencer: This is a new effect, a sequencer that allows you to apply glitch effects of each step of a running sequence. As this sequencer can run with a different step count (up to 16) than the well endowed arpeggiator, this opens a whole world of strange sequences. The arpeggiator can also handle up to 16 steps and does its job very well.

The FX section is implemented as a series of up to nine different effects of good quality that can be ordered freely. It includes a compressor, and the effect parameters can be modulated from the matrix, as is to be expected for an 2017 virtual synth. Apart from the arpeggiator, glitch sequencer, effects and modulation matrix, all this can be controlled from one screen, with the exception of the waveform editors that you can access if you want to draw some sounds in the OSCs wavetables. You can even import waves as part of the spectral wavetables of as the basis of a whole table. The distortion unit is a little bit too heavy handed for many tasks, but if you are looking for raw poert, that is there.

If you have read so far, you probably have the feeling that some of this sounds very familiar. A synth with mostly one screen user interface, nine effects freely orderable, two LFOs and one vibrato - yes, Thorn seems to be Dmitry's interpretation of the One-Screen-Simple-But-Fast idea followed by the dance-and-trance school of synths such as Hive and Synthmaster One. But where Hive only provides basic virtual analog waveforms, Thorn hits home with editable spectral waveforms. And where Synthmaster One leaves us with a sometimes clunky GUI, the workflow of Thorn feels quite speedy and mature. Thorn punches well above its price point with regards to features and sound quality, and may be a good alternative to some producers for using power wavetable synths such as Serum. Thorn is not that light on CPU as I had hoped at first, especially if you use a lot of polyphony, but it is a synth where you can dial in good sounds very fast.

So what am I missing? Not much honesty, as it is clear that the user interface is designed for high speed, some features such as Zebra 2s or VPS Avenger's insane flexibility can be safely ruled out as impossible to square with this particular design approach. Some design decisions may seem to be needlessly restricting, such for instance only two MSEGs when there clearly is enough space in the GUI for two more. A third LFO would have been nice. But then, should I not rather embrace the limitations as given for now and use these restrictions creatively? Well, I always should, but with Thorn I may have found the synth that sits exactly where I need my set of features to be - not too much, but certainly not too few features either.

There currently some very minor bugs, such as the LFOs retriggering when notes do not overlap, but Dmitry is known as a very dedicated developer who polishes his synths such that you will not have for a fix for a year. Considering the current entry price offer of 69$, I can hardly find any reason not to jump into this offer, even if you, like me, already own more than enough synths. Even at full price, this is a bargain. Yes, Thorn is that special synth that may become your to-go-synth, at least up to the time when Dmitry finds some time for a Diversion 2.

Xhip Effects [read all reviews]
Reviewed By mekkanix [read all by] on 29th October 2017
Version reviewed: alpha on Mac.
Last edited by mekkanix on 30th October 2017.
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I just tried the mac alpha version of Xhip effects. These fx are great for unique lofi mangling fsu experiments, as well as making things sound better. Such character and ear-pleasing, useful results. Neat stuff. I look forward to these plugins being guied, along with the xhip synth, which is also very cool-sounding and full of character. I'll be using these a lot. I'm rarely moved to review things, but this collection stood out so much that I wanted to make sure it got the attention it deserved.

Clipper: gives absolutely flat peak to clipped sound, except when OS (oversampling?) turned on, which includes peaks in a somewhat simplified version.

Follower: Filter cutoff follows input very nicely, easy to get settings that produce something cool, like dj scratching fx or transient shaping.

Gate: I was able to get a crispy staccatto sound on a hihat loop, which I was unable to duplicate using ableton's gate without losing some of the hits.

Compressor: Very clean sounding, was not able to get any of the horrible artifacts I can get with a lot of compressors when pushed to their extremes.

Limiter. Sounds cleaner, warmer and more musical than the 20 or so other dynamics plugins I compared it to. I can get some cool volume modulation with the attack and hold controls. I was able to bring out the reverb in a drum loop in a way that sounded smooth and pleasing, as if I had put reverb on a dry drum loop. Not able to duplicate this with other plugins. Amazing.

mDelay: Millisecond delay, up to 1 second. Just about anything you do with the parameters gives really fun results.

Multiplier: Not sure what this does, sounds a little like a cross between frequency modulation and distorting something through a small speaker. The mod control can make it sound a bit like a rotary speaker too.

Phaser: Easy to get sounds that don't hurt your ears with this one, unlike a lot of phasers. You can even create a pleasing pitch warbling effect with it set to 128 stages, rate to about 7hz, and frequency and depth fairly high.

Quantizer: This provides many more possible usable interesting bitcrush/sample redux results than I can get from ableton's redux.

RC filter: LP and HP Multimode filter with different slopes, no resonance. Clean.

Rectifier: Brings amplitude of negative or positive polarity of audio closer to 0. Anything over 50% starts to make the sound thinner, leaving you with harmonics an octave above. At mid settings, I found it helps tame midrange resonances in serum dubstep basses and gives them a flatter sound as if they were somehow produced by another type of synthesis, and they sit in the mix better with noisy drums.

Reverb: Plenty of options, includes delay, rate mod for swirling nightmarish fx, and can also put things in nice spaces from small rooms to the universe.

Ringmod: The depth and sidechain options and ease of use give this an edge over the ringmod in ableton's frequency shifter, although ableton's ringmod has some additional interesting options.

Tremolo: Includes width for autopanning. Very simple. No tempo sync.

Vocal: vocal filter. Sweeping the frequency sounds like a phaser, and sweeping the phoneme around creates some very sweet ohyeahaiyu kinds of sounds.

Backmask [read all reviews]
Reviewed By krankyone [read all by] on 29th October 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Mac
9.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Strange and interesting. This is not your bread and butter delay. Just try it. I'm eager to see what else Freakshow Industries comes up with.

Outer Space [read all reviews]
Reviewed By pause6969 [read all by] on 27th October 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1.0 on Mac
10.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Beats every Space Echo sim I have tried (including UAD Galaxy Echo).

Throw it on anything and it will make it better.

It's a must buy. Especially at that price.

Dark Mass [read all reviews]
Reviewed By ellarah [read all by] on 24th October 2017
Version reviewed: 0.0 on Windows
1.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I could not access the download even, but was directed to a tricksy "I'm human" check to install some "security" Chrome extension instead. This has probably been hijacked and clearly should be removed or dealt with. Dangerous "download" link from this site that is inaccurate. I wanted to report it but only saw a review option.

SAWStudio [read all reviews]
Reviewed By mr-es335 [read all by] on 22nd October 2017
Version reviewed: 5.6 on Windows
10.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hello, .

I own both SAWStudio and Software Audio Console and both applications are "second-to-none".

Pricing has been reduced significantly on SAWStudio. Check out the Web site: RML Studios

PS: Though some consider it significant, I am really not at all concerned with the apps being 32-bit. If you truly understand how great the quality is of SAWStudio's internal processing - then the type of app is really of no concern.

Mr. Lentini, the developer, does have a very specific manner in which he works with his applications. But once you get a feel for his methodology - in the end, this methodology really does make sense.

Checkout the demos for yourself. Also, check out the Demonstration Videos