Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by hivkorn

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Outer Space [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 18th May 2017
Version reviewed: latest on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 18th May 2017.
9.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

AudioThing: Outer Space

PROS::

  • Very very good sound .
  • The GUI have a good size.
  • CPU usage.
  • Easy to use.
  • The price.
  • very stable.
  • Very good preset (ready to be used !).
  • Mono or Stereo (Very usefull !!!).

CONS:

....nothing to say .

GOOD TO KNOW:

Piracy protection : key file.

Easter egg : click on the wood and enjoys :)

Audiothing have done a master piece with this FX, i tested it on synth it sound good every time !
The price is low compared to the quality of this FX.

A must have.

Audiothing : WELL DONE !

Blue Cat's Destructor [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 6th April 2017
Version reviewed: latest on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 6th April 2017.
10.00
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Blue Cat's Destructor

PROS::

  • the sound ! it is very good.
  • CPU usage !! Very light.
  • Easy to use.
  • No bug found.
  • The price.
  • Stable under OS X 10.12.4 (VST version).

CONS::

  • ...nothing found yet .

GOOD TO KNOW:

Piracy protection : serial.

This amp/distortion emulation is 1 of the best emulation at this time if you consider the price, the quality and the stability.
Don't miss a sale, this is an excellent plugin, a must have

OSL Chorus [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 25th March 2017
Version reviewed: lastest on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 25th March 2017.
10.00
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sometimes, free plugins are not good or they just do the work, but this plugins is really good and free !
This is the kind of plugin you must download and keep a backup on external HD to be sure to never lose it !
It proudly deserve a 10 .

VPS Avenger [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 23rd March 2017
Version reviewed: latest on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 23rd March 2017.
9.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

VPS AVENGER

PROS::

  • Friendly GUI (but i still want the old Vengeance color style from FX!!!).
  • A lot of the excellent Essential FX Bundle fx include in the synth (especially the V-Verb!!).
  • VST version Pretty stable under OS X 10.12.3.
  • Drum machines included.
  • The sound : Very nervous / agressive sound (in your face sound !).

CONS::

  • CPU Spike sometime.
  • The price of expansions.
  • I don't like the colour of GUI...
  • ......nothing else.

GOOD TO KNOW:

Vengeance dev is here @KVR .

The autorisation is made with a keyfile.

The plugin is updated frequently, and the dev are open to news features.

The FX from vengeance are excellents.


I own this plugin since 2 or 3 months (don't remember), i was first disappointed because it sound like nothing I own in the past and now.
This is the first time i consider to buy expansions.
It deserve a 10 but for the CPU spike i give it a 9... but it deserve a 10.

Tassman [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 21st March 2017
Version reviewed: lastest on Mac
7.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

AAS Tassman 4

PROS::

  • Endless possibility .
  • Pretty simple to patch.
  • Simple to understand and tutorial to explain for beginer...
  • Pretty stable (VST version OS X 10.12.3).
  • You can chain sequencer.
  • Boost your creativity.

CONS::

  • The bridge for 64-bits version !!!! I want a real 64-bit version .
  • I want a GUI resize.
  • A few bug (but it don't crash the daw).
  • The reverb & delay algos are not amazing.
  • Warning using the filter, it scream very loud very quickly.
  • The price !.

GOOD TO KNOW:

AAS staff is reactive .

You need internet to autorise your copy.

I hope a V5 in the futur, this plugin is a real gem.
AAS GIVE US A NEW VERSION !!!.

One [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 17th March 2017
Version reviewed: last on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 18th March 2017.
8.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Fabfilter One

PROS:

  • One have a really good filter.
  • The oscillator are good and fabfilter don't forget to add noise.
  • The polyphony : mono or poly (output a mono signal in every case).
  • All the basic functions for a synth are here (filter kbd tracking).

CONS:

  • I want more flexibility to assign the LFO (modulation generator).
  • The GUI is clear but i'm not really fine with the stacked 'module', i want a space for each module.
  • A sequencer attached to the modulation generator function would have been great .

GOOD TO KNOW:

Fabfilter have a good support.

Protection copy is serial.

Use with Bitwig 2 (with the modulator) will drive you nuts and it will give a new life to this synth.

Fabfilter one was the first synth i have buy. I have never sold it and i never regret my purchase.
Okay, today you have better emulation, better everything.... But one do the job.
Give it a try before purchasing or if you are curious, you could be surprised by the characters of this synth.

Softube Modular [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 11th March 2017
Version reviewed: 10.12.3 on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 12th March 2017.
10.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Softube Modular

PROS:

  • Plugin very stable under OS X 10.12.3 / Cubase Pro 9 / Bitwig 2.
  • The size of the GUI is scalable : small / medium / large.
  • Simple to understand.
  • If you don't know 'modular' synth you can learn with it.
  • I love to have existing module : you can find hardware patch by using google ;).
  • Time to talk about the most important thing : the sound
    Softube modular come with Doepfer module, they just sound very very good,
    i can feel the same excitation i had when i use my hardware synth.
    The doepfer modules are very good but the Intellijel are INSANE,
    they are propably the best analog emulation of all the 'emulation' plugins ATM.
  • If you already have HeartBeat, so you will have every HB modules available in modular.
  • I love the differents sequencers available : 1 especially for drums, with the other
    you can output CV / Gate.
  • You can chain sequencer in order to have more than 16 step.
  • If you 're a beginner, modular come with a lot of explained patch.
  • Softube post every week on the facebook page a : ' Tips of the week ' for modular.
  • The price !
    You have a fully functional modular synth for 99 $ (basic package : every doepfer module).

CONS:

  • CPU usage !
    Suicide for your CPU.
    Don't expect to run it with an old configuration.
  • We want more modules .
  • ......nothing else.......

GOOD TO KNOW:

  • Softube have a great support for customers.
  • Modular use Ilok (at least ilok V2).
  • Softube provide legacy installers, but now you have to use gobbler.
  • If you're stuck with something, ask them via facebook, they always reply when something is wrong.

Softube Modular is the best 'analog modular synth' emulation to this day.

Zebra [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 5th December 2016
Version reviewed: VST on Mac
10.00
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I think everything has been said.This is just the best synth of all the time.
Light for the CPU and powerful if you understand modular synth.
I think it deserve a better GUI, but i can pass on that...
you want powerfull synth ? it does it well !
An insane dark synth ? it does it well .

if you have the luck to have the DARK version...You don't need another synth.

Sunrizer [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 19th November 2016
Version reviewed: VST on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 21st November 2016.
10.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This synth is really good !
I do not consider it like a 'vintage synth emu ' (like diva, bazille, ace ....) but like a creative synth.
It is really easy to have the sound you want by the fact the GUI is just perfect .The filters sound good and the way to assign LFO is just perfect.The build in FX are good enough to be used during the sound design.
Read the manual (they made it very simple to be understand) and enjoys !
If you don't own this synth so you don't know you need it, but if you try it, you will love it.
I own a lot of really good synth : Rob Papen, U-he, Arturia, Softube Modular, NI, Retrologue .... And now i got this little stuff i was looking since so long
.

Ronin [read all reviews]
Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 20th October 2016
Version reviewed: 10.10.5 on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 20th October 2016.
8.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I finally found a second hand licence, i own it in the past, but in these days i was beginning and i was not really right with the 'modular' stuff.
10 years later, I really enjoys it now.
The matrix modulation, the filter, the saturation, the delays ...everything is perfect but a noise gate is missing.

this plugin is not something you could enjoys if you're not okay with modular stuff, as said in the manual, you can damage your ears and your gear if you don't know what you're doing.

I'd wish Audio Damage to adjust the size of the GUI in the futur update.
As always, Audio Damage is good and not expensive.